We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, bar atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sycamore Grill

Sycamore Grill
Ranked #11 of 84 Restaurants in Newtown
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: American Cuisine~Prime and Choice Steaks, Chops, Seafood , Saute', Pasta, Salads, Casual Fare Menu, Bar Menu & Children's Menu. Clams Casino is house speciality! Great Bar area, in addition a separate dining room. Perfect for meeting business associates, friends, or celebrating a special occasion. Weekly lunch and dinner specials. We have an ever changing, and well-priced wine list, with great choices by the glass or bottle,Tap and bottle beer & drink specials. Ample parking along with seasonal patio dining. Free Wi~Fi Newtown's newest truly outstanding restaurant, located in historic Newtown Borough.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food, bar atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Food is great. Fun atmosphere- it is a bar also and not much separates the restaurant from the bar. In other words, it can get loud. I didn't mind much since my kids are loud as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jasonbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    49
    13
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
195 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fun Happy Hours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

A great place for Happy Hour, especially when the weather is nice and the outside patio is open. The patio is also a nice, relaxing spot to dine. Staff is very warm and friendly. It's tops on our list!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barblepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, US
Level Contributor
511 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Delicious food and drinks - nice atmosphere and bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

On a recent Friday evening visit, every table was full of happy diners. I had the special Grill Margarita with a great amaretto flavor. The Buffalo wings were quickly consumed. My husband had the fish special and was really happy with the quality of the fish, its preparation and the sides. I had the crabcake sandwich with sweet potato fries - both were excellent! The bar was also full. It's great to see a restaurant thriving in this building after some recent turnover. Ample parking may be found in the back parking lot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nylady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Great Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We happened upon the Sycamore Grill - lucky for us! The food was absolutely delicious. We are lovers of New England clam chowder and "taste test" it wherever we go. The clam chowder here tied with the absolute best we've ever had, maybe even exceeded it - so flavorful, packed with clams and the perfect consistency. What a great start to the meal! One of my sons got the rigatoni w/vodka sauce - really tasty, with bits of bacon and plump peas. Two of us got the onion soup/caesar salad combo. Both were wonderful. The onion soup was made with a rich, onion-filled broth and crouton, served traditionally in a crock with lots of melty, browned cheese on top. The caesar salad (one of my favorite things) was garlic-y, creamy heaven.

Service is not quick here, but that's because everything is made to order, not sitting under a hot light drying out. I can tell you, it's worth the wait. Our waitress was wonderful - personable and informative and funny - as were the other staff.

We will definitely be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank slnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place, must try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have eaten at this restaurant a few times now, and I will continue to go back because I have had only good experiences. It is very clean. The food is really yummy {the rib-eye sandwich is just awesome} and the service is quite good.
We were even greeted by the owner personally the last time me and my friend were there. That is a nice touch.
For new patrons, its best to park behind the building as it is a bit misleading from Sycamore St.; there is a full lot in the back and that is where the main entrance actually is.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sycamore Grill also viewed

 
Newtown, Bucks County
 

Been to Sycamore Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing