We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun atmosphere, good food & drink”
Review of Black Horse Tavern

Black Horse Tavern
Ranked #62 of 83 Restaurants in Newtown
Price range: $18 - $31
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Black Horse operates in a 1747 old world thick walled stone building. Situated on the corner of State and Centre St. in the heart of beautiful Newtown PA. We offer amazing entrees to tasty appetizers. Gorgeous Piano Bar open Wednesday thru Saturday. Classic rock on the Main floor every Friday. Come dance with us on Thursdays and Saturdays with DJ Born. Something for everyone Happy hour Monday - Friday 4;30-6:30pm
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun atmosphere, good food & drink”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Love the happy hour, especially with trivia on Friday. Food is excellent, and the old building makes the atmosphere more fun.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelly j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    14
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sampled several items. All outstanding!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We sampled about five different items off the appetizer menu. My expectation is usually that maybe three of five items would be good. In this case, I was delighted to find all were exceptional. The service was equally exceptionally. This was our first visit and we look forward to our next.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYC7ERB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise. A little gem in a charmer of a town.”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Really interesting menu with a French twist. Sat in the back room and had very pleasant service from the (lady) bartender(tress). Great drinks. Lively atmosphere. Imagine it could get crazy when overcrowded because it is a really small space,

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“poor service, good drinks”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Black Horse Tavern has great drink specials and good food. However, we had a TERRIBLE experience with the bartender. If you go to the front bar (enter the side door and turn right) stay away from the short female bartender with a short brown ponytail and blonde highlights... she is NOT pleasant. It was 10:30 p.m. and she was acting like it was 2 a.m. and wanted to get out of there. Very nasty and unpleasant and actually cleared off/dumped out one of my friend's $13 martinis when she went to the bathroom...it was still half-full. When confronted, she denied it. All in all, this female bartender single-handedly ruined our experience at the Black Horse, but I think that's what she was aiming for.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank judybug5202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Happy Hour & Steaks”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Amazing Happy Hour (Mon-Sat. 5-7 pm) with half price menu items and free bar food to pick on. Great specialty martinis and AWESOME steak and truffle fries

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmpanadaMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Horse Tavern also viewed

Newtown, Bucks County
 
Newtown, Bucks County
Newtown, Bucks County
 

Been to Black Horse Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing