We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great special occasion dinner.”
Review of Temperance House

Temperance House
Ranked #24 of 83 Restaurants in Newtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Washington
Description: "Simply The Best in Bucks", The Temperance House located in historic Newtown, Pennsylvania offers the finest in quality, service & accommodations. Our simple, yet elegant menu specializes in steaks & seafood. From intimate gatherings to gala affairs our banquet facilities provide a perfect venue for any event. Please contact our banquet coordinator regarding your next affair. Journey through our historic chambers & discover why our Inn is one of Bucks County's best kept secrets. Plush accommodations with an at home feel, we cater to corporate clientele, bridal parties & couples looking to get away. Please contact our Innkeeper for more information.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I went for our anniversary. We had a groupon, which really helped. We shared the spring roll sampler. The duck spring roll was fantastic, the cheesesteak was surprisingly good. The 3rd was okay. He had the stuffed pork tenderloin. It was really wonderful. The leftovers of it were even better the next day. It was served with a squash and apple saute, which was acceptable, but not great. I had the shrimp and scallops, they were a little overcooked, and two of the scallops were sandy. The risotto served with it was phenominal! If they just served the risotto as an entree I would get that! Their house salad was a generous portion of very fresh, clean, crisp veggies. We were very pleased overall, and will look for another groupon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 120,491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temphouse, Owner at Temperance House, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your meal on
12/11/12. We are a little disappointed to hear you were not 100%
satisfied with some of your selections. In the future, please let us
know at the time of service so we can rectify any issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 81 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

I love the restaurant atmosphere and food. Easter brunch here was especially good. We would come here more frequently if it weren't for all the smoking in the bar area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kelly j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temphouse, Owner at Temperance House, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

We are happy to let you know we have made our Tavern and Entertainment Lounge Smoke-Free when we have entertainment (Tuesday through Saturday). We invite you to try us out again. We
have continued to offer outstanding local entertainment for your enjoyment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a coupon for this place so we thought we would try it out. There were pluses and minuses to the meal which leads me to giving it an average rating. My husband really enjoyed his crab-cakes but I felt my scallops were undercooked and swimming in too much butter. Service was responsive but nothing spectacular. Bread service was ridiculous (old school dinner rolls with new school olive oil - it just did not work) but our appetizer was delicious. So it was just one of those meals. Diners are stuffed into one charming little dining room (except one table which was in the adjoining room) which although pretty, is very noisy, hot, and stuffy. I would not return to this restaurant - coupon or no coupon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ManyMilesStill2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temphouse, Owner at Temperance House, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

We are a little disappointed to hear you were not
pleased with your dining experience. In the future, please let us
know at the time of service so we can rectify any issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We ate here last Tuesday, it was a terrible experience for the money. We had a party of 5, which they considered a party of 6. We had 5 adults and one toddler, who did not eat or drink, just took up a spot at the table. Our waitress looked at my mother, asked if she wanted a beverage. She said the water was fine for now, so she left. She never offered anyone else a drink. We started out with appetizers. I ordered the tempura shrimp. It was tasteless. My sister and her husband had the spinach dip, which was so runny, it would not stay on the chips. It had more of a soup consistency. My mother had the crab cocktail, which she enjoyed. My father had French onion soup, which he thought was delicious. We tried ordering beverages three times during the meal. We made it through the appetizers with only our water. My sister and I got Caesar salads, which were not edible. Yuck. They were overly seasoned with anchovies. Still no beverage. We ask again for our beverages. Nothing. Finally, we ask the manager to bring us beverages. This begins an onslaught of beverages. Not only did the manager bring them, the busboy and then finally the waitress. All you could do was laugh. Our dinner arrived. I had the Delmonico steak, ordered medium. It was medium rare at best and so filled with fat, that I found it to be inedible. My father had crab cakes which were over-cooked. My mother had the Shrimp and Scallops. Both the scallops and risotto were not edible. I had ordered my husband an order of crab cakes to go. They were packed in such an unsightly manner, I was embarrassed to give it to him. It was awful. My sister had the strip steak which was okay, cooked well and edible. The pork tenderloin my brother in law had was fabulous.

To top it off, our waitress was awful and since there were technically six of us, we were charged 18% tip. There was no way that she was worth that tip. I would have preferred the busboy to receive the bulk of that tip. Although she was nice, she left much to be desired as a waitress.

There is no way that we will be venturing back to the Temperance House anytime soon. It is beautiful and romantic, but that is where it ended for us!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tjk676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temphouse, Owner at Temperance House, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

It is very disappointing to receive a review like yours. We work hard to offer delicious food and friendly service and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. We would suggest to you, that most business people appreciate ANY type of feedback, but more importantly, the opportunity to immediately rectify the situation as it occurs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

What a wonderful dining experience! Our server, Maria, was wonderful and gave us some great suggestions for appetizers and entrees. The seafood appetizer was delicious as was the sea bass and shrimp and scallop entrees. The sea bass was the best I've ever had! Wish we had room for dessert because they looked delicious also. The dining area is small and cozy with a fireplace. A great place for a romantic dinner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KaMar4486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temphouse, Owner at Temperance House, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

We appreciate your kind words! We will pass your feedback along to our team, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temperance House also viewed

Newtown, Bucks County
Newtown, Bucks County
 
Newtown, Bucks County
Newtown, Bucks County
 

Been to Temperance House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing