We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable accommodations with quite the night life” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Temperance House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Temperance House Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newtown
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodations with quite the night life”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Reviewers have mentioned the noise levels on weekend nights, and that is, my friends, a reality. The beds and other furnishings are lovely and comfortable, prices are reasonable, and the location is just fantastic. But, if you're staying in the middle of the second floor and expect to fall asleep before midnight, you'll need to pull out all the white noise stops (ear plugs, a/c, etc.). Having said that, we stayed on the third floor and were perfectly happy to take the "if you can't beat 'em, join 'em" approach and hang out in the bar until after the band finished. The breakfast was seriously minimal (packaged cereals and muffins) and I was kind of annoyed at the lack of garbage bins in our room, but we were pleased and would most definitely stay again. One note about the service is that we never actually saw or spoke with someone who was responsible for accommodations; we were checked in by bar staff on day one and didn't see another staff soul outside of the bar before we left on day three.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKubiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temphouse, Owner at The Temperance House Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are a unique venue that offers a nightlife scene on premise. We are an Inn, not a full scale hotel. This is what makes us an unique hot spot in town. We do hope to see you again ~ be sure to check out our website for our entertainment listing ~ www.temperancehouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
25
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bensalem, PA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Had another Groupon so I took my mom back to the Temperance House for dinner. The decor is classic and older as the place has a rich history. The fireplace in the dining room is cozy and there are real roses and candles on each table. Our server, Maria, was top notch. We found her polite, helpful, and attentive. We had the onion soup and loved it! We also had the brie appetizer and it was delicious! I ordered scallops and shrimp and found it delightful. My mother had the pork tenderloin and was raving about how amazing and tasty it was. We were too full to order dessert but the tray of options on display was tempting-looking. Parking is no problem if you turn left outside the restaurant and park in the municipal lot which is a short (1 block) walk to the eatery. We loved the meal and the service. This is a classy and classic place to dine. Good for couples, solo people, and families. I'd call ahead for a table as they are a small venue and reservations are recommended. There is a bar there too but it is seperate. We found the whole experience refreshing and fabulous. This is a charming place to have a meal. A+

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msspungen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temphouse, General Manager at The Temperance House Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We are so happy to hear about your wonderful experience. We work hard to offer delicious food and friendly, efficient service, and I'm so glad your visit was enjoyable.
I will pass your feedback on to the team, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We actually had NO problem parking about 30 ft from the restaurant on both occassions that we went to the Temperance House this month, but i figured I would acknowledge the other reviews that at times there are parking issues as you would expect in any "quaint town" setting. The food is REALLY delicious and at first the prices seem a bit higher than average UNTIL you actually get your plates!! The appetizer plates (seafood bruschetta and spinach artichoke) are individually enough to share with FOUR. I ordered the stuffed pork tenderloin and was expecting a couple of nice slices---it was an entire pork loin (again, enough for four!!)
The service was attentive and the atmosphere was clean--what more could you ask for?! Highly recommend going during the week to really enjoy everything!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temphouse, Owner at The Temperance House Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for posting about your experience. We are pleased that you were happy with our large portions and delicious food. We pride ourselves in offering the best food at reasonable
prices. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very quaint, nicely done rooms above the taveren / resturant. You get the feel of the old style inn, but rooms are up to date. Good WiFi, not your nosey B&B. Very accommodating and moved their cars for parking. Nice dining area for complimentary snacks an continental breakfast. A very nice respit fron the hassle of a road warrior's life. Looking for an opportunity to go back.

Room Tip: Not second floor over the bar area on band nights....well that is okay if you be closing the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temphouse, Owner at The Temperance House Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Cheryl,
Thank you for your great review! We work very hard to offer a friendly, clean, comfortable Inn. I will pass your feedback on to the team, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Went to the Temperance and had a quiet evening. Smoke is kind of a factor, but if you eat in the adjacent room it's nice. Our server Maria was so patient with us and friendly. Nice girl.

We ordered, the pork was not over cooked. Drinks came fast. The bar was filled with many types of special drinks. Vegetables were not soggy or dripping with grease. Oh, try the clams. The sauce was amazing!

Overall, just a release and relaxing evening. I will try the groupon next.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temphouse, Owner at The Temperance House Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comments. We work hard to offer delicious food and friendly, efficient service, and I'm so glad your visit was enjoyable. I will pass your feedback on to the team, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Strongly adivse not staying at this hotel on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday as they have a live band that lierally rocks the rooms until 1am then the cleaning crew blast the juke box until 4:30am! Could here every word in the bar/tavern in the vent system. Miserably night after traveling a long way and no place to have breakfast in the morning. The tavern seems to be the focus of this businees so if you want to sleep you better stay next door at The Brick House.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMurphy1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temphouse, General Manager at The Temperance House Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We have read comments and are disappointed and bewildered with your review. Upon check-in on your 3 night stay, I'm sure you were aware of the restaurant, entertainment, and tavern that are attached to the hotel. We strive to make every customer happy and would have moved you that night or one of the other 2 nights you were there to a room that would have been more secluded. Our staff takes pride on resolving any issue when it occurs and this could certainly have been remedied while you were with us. We do not hide the fact that we are a cigar-friendly tavern with live entertainment with a NON-smoking restaurant and inn. We do encourage you to stay with us again, in one of our 3rd floor suites. We would also suggest that most business people appreciate ANY type of feedback and would like to respond immediately-not after the fact over the Internet .Please call me directly to make arrangements so I can accommodate our requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, PA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I had A Groupon so I decided to take my mother to visit the Temperance House for dinner. We tried it once before for lunch with dissapointing results. WOW. Dinner was head and shoulders above the past experience. SO yummy, delicious, a varied menu, good service, etc. We had the edamame appatizer, french onion soup, and spicy shrimp soup. All OUT OF THIS WORLD., My filet with mushrooms and french fries was done perfectly and melted in my mouth. My mother loved her coconut margarita and her stuffed chicken breasts. The place is great for celebrations, a date, or a family meal. Quiet, clean, and with attentive staff. We give this place all 5 stars for a dinner meal!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msspungen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtown
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Newtown
9.6 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newtown - Langhorne, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
9.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Bucks County Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Temperance House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Temperance House Inn

Property: The Temperance House Inn
Address: 5 S State St, Newtown, PA 18940-3534
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > Newtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Temperance House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW OWNERSHIP 2015!!! Uncover a destination of historic charm at the Temperance House Hotel in downtown Newtown, Pennsylvania. With its beautiful 250-year-old stonework and wooden shutters, this intimate boutique hotel is reminiscent of the finest colonial era inns. Step beyond the façade to find a beautifully renovated hotel that seamlessly blends timeless 18th century ambiance with contemporary sophistication. Each of the Temperance House's 11 guest rooms and two suites is appointed with classic furnishings, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet and a flatscreen television with cable channels. According to Newtown legend, our haunted Porter Room may or may not come with its very own ghost. Memorable weddings and impressive corporate events, of up to 130 guests, are flawlessly hosted in our Temperance House Room, while the cozy Tavern and Restaurant offer delightful settings for gathering and socializing over exceptional American cuisine. From the moment you arrive at the Temperance House, you will be invited to step back from the bustle and distractions of the modern day world and enjoy the genuine warmth and hospitality of a bygone age. FB: The Temperance House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Temperance House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temperance House Hotel Newtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing