We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good...Getting Better”

The Saloon - Newtown
Reserve with OpenTable
The Saloon - Newtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 85 Restaurants in Newtown
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good...Getting Better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We visit The Saloon several time a year ever since the change over from the Township House. This evening we had fried artichokes as the chef special appetizer. They were lightly breaded, flash fried and drizzled with an aioli sauce that was light and tasty and garnished with arugula and roasted bell peppers. The veal sorrentino was fresh and flavorful. The Rigatoni Bolognese was excellent, well prepared and obviously cooked for hours to accomplish the appropriate melding of flavors.

The wine list has improved substantially. Price per the glass or bottle have increased, but I feel that the end result is a better value.

Something has changed at The Saloon...it is on the up tick.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    41
    19
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Nice Dine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed an evening at the Saloon in Newtown PA. Locate in the business district of town, there is plenty of parking behind the restaurant and is easy to access. The menu has good variety and reasonably priced, atmosphere is casual but not shorts and tee shirts, I would say "comfortably nice". The clam chowder and seared ahi tuna was excellent, especially the tuna. The deserts are dangerously good. The cheese cake is made in house and is outstanding. A really nice dine and comfortable evening to be out with friends or for business.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Road_warriorXTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
170 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not such a great experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I met a friend at The Saloon on a Wednesday evening. There were not a lot of customers there, but that could be typical of a mid-week suburban situation. We ordered a bottle of wine which was very nice and the server had a very good attitude as well.

I asked if the oysters on the half shell were fresh and was assured that they were. They were very disappointing. Being that the cost as $13 for 6 I expected fresh oysters. These were not. There was no brine and they did not taste great.

We also ordered the clams casino which I heard was good a this place. It was good! However, they had an arugula and tomato salad on the dish. This could have been a great accompaniment. Instead it lacked dressing and seasoning and was very tasteless and disappointing. All the cook had to do was taste it and pay a tiny bit of attention instead of simply putting it on the plate!

Finally, we had the anti-pesto plate. This was decent but way salty. They did bring out some grilled bread but the amount of salt on the anti-pesto wiped out the palate.

The cook/chef needs to pay attention. There is too much competition within a very close range and unless this place does something to improve the food I will not be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Visions of Gordon Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

No draft beer selections, and there was a cloudy, aged, nearly empty container of beverage (maybe Sangria?) that looked more scary than appetizing. The glass surfaces were dirty, and the ambiance was dusty. The food was ok, tried buffalo wings and clams casino. After the initial experience, we decided to dine elsewhere. The people were friendly, but I kept picturing Gordon Ramsey coming in, and giving his unique perspective on the experience. Tough love.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueLynxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I just love this restaurant. Ate there many times. Service is great. Food fantastic. Abience superb. Can't wait to go back to celebrate my birthday this month (Jan.). Even though I live in New Jersey, it is worth the trip to go to Newtown, PA.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pattishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saloon - Newtown also viewed

Newtown, Bucks County
Newtown, Bucks County
 
Newtown, Bucks County
Newtown, Bucks County
 

Been to The Saloon - Newtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing