We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Party”

Zebra Striped Whale
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Newtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Seating, Takeout
Newtown Grant, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

My daughter had her birthday party here....and she loved it....All the kids loved the ice cream and the adults loved the coffee...this is a must visit for anyone who loves ice cream!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Komal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    20
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great little ice cream parlor, open late, in Newtown Borough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

ZSW is a local favorite for sweets, especially ice cream. With many unique flavors to accompany the staples it never fails to deliver. The staff has always been more than willing to allow me to sample their flavors prior to making my decision. That said, I usually end up with chocolate. There are other goodies available, too, but I stick with the ice cream.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CruiseCriticMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, PA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good but very expensive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I love the variety but it's just so expensive. For example they offer crepes which you don't usually find but for two people it's not hard to drop $15 on just ice cream. I'd save it for a "special occasion" ice cream stop!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank flyerschik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County - PA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Favorite Ice Cream place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is our families favorite place to get ice cream - great flavors, creative combinations and lots of options. Staff is friendly too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bunch91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast US
Level Contributor
162 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“way overpriced!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

we live nearby. we have been here a few times. it is a nice old world looking/hip joint. the ice cream and treats are good..
It is ridiculous for the prices they charge. the only reason we go is if one of my kids gets a gift certificate to the place. the prices are crazy.
other ice cream in the area is just as good and less expensive. parking can also be tricky.
not sure why this place is still in business actually.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 29paskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zebra Striped Whale also viewed

Newtown, Bucks County
Newtown, Bucks County
 
Newtown, Bucks County
Newtown, Bucks County
 

Been to Zebra Striped Whale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing