We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great country charm for breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spanky's Country Restaurant

Spanky's Country Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great country charm for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Once again TripAdvisor reviews did not let down on this one, we had past it one day and saw they had breakfast, we stopped 2 days later and it was great! The waitress was very friendly and prompt, we had eggs, home fries and toast, it was all good. Good ole home cooking here with no frills.

Helpful?
Thank nikniron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great local place, great food, reasonable prices, family friendly, service with a smile.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Whether you are a local or from out of town, one of the best breakfast stops in the area.

Really good food and friendly service. Allow a little extra time Saturday and Sunday mornings - but worth the wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LCFHBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
402 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Stumbled upon this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

On our way home from a great, romantic Mothers Day weekend, we were hungry and unsure of what we would pass. Low and behold, Spanky's was the first place of interest. We initially drove past it. However, after a mile or so, we decided the chances of finding anything else close was improbable. So we turned around. We were greeted and seated immediately. The service was surpassed only by the food. The server was personable and the food was plentiful and excellent. Pancakes, scrambled eggs, sausage, eggs, home fries and probably a couple of things I've forgotten. I'm surprised I was coherent enough to drive back to South Jersey after that feast! Would DEFINITELY return!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2TravelLuvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
149 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Comfort Food At Its Best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Feeling hungry as we were nearing Spanky's a friend and I decided to stop for lunch. Having heard good reviews from the locals I was anxious to finally try it.

Open only for breakfast and lunch. Our waitress was very personable as she told us the "specials" for the day but I opted for a generic hambuger and fries as did my friend. Delicious!

They serve mostly down home "comfort food" at its best and very affordable. I intend to return soon and order breakfast this time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carm18426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“End of Vacation Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We always look to end our vacation with a breakfast at a local place. This time, after renting a house in the Poconos for a week, we ended up at Spanky's.

This was good, home-cooked pancakes, bacon and eggs. Nothing fancy, but portions were satisfying and service was pretty good, too.

Thumbs up!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trlfazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spanky's Country Restaurant also viewed

South Sterling, Pocono Mountains Region
Newfoundland, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Newfoundland, Pocono Mountains Region
Greentown, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Lake Ariel, Pocono Mountains Region
Newfoundland, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Spanky's Country Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing