We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stumbled upon this place”

Spanky's Country Restaurant
Restaurant details
Shamong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
407 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Stumbled upon this place”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

On our way home from a great, romantic Mothers Day weekend, we were hungry and unsure of what we would pass. Low and behold, Spanky's was the first place of interest. We initially drove past it. However, after a mile or so, we decided the chances of finding anything else close was improbable. So we turned around. We were greeted and seated immediately. The service was surpassed only by the food. The server was personable and the food was plentiful and excellent. Pancakes, scrambled eggs, sausage, eggs, home fries and probably a couple of things I've forgotten. I'm surprised I was coherent enough to drive back to South Jersey after that feast! Would DEFINITELY return!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2TravelLuvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
155 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Comfort Food At Its Best”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Feeling hungry as we were nearing Spanky's a friend and I decided to stop for lunch. Having heard good reviews from the locals I was anxious to finally try it.

Open only for breakfast and lunch. Our waitress was very personable as she told us the "specials" for the day but I opted for a generic hambuger and fries as did my friend. Delicious!

They serve mostly down home "comfort food" at its best and very affordable. I intend to return soon and order breakfast this time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carm18426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“End of Vacation Breakfast”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We always look to end our vacation with a breakfast at a local place. This time, after renting a house in the Poconos for a week, we ended up at Spanky's.

This was good, home-cooked pancakes, bacon and eggs. Nothing fancy, but portions were satisfying and service was pretty good, too.

Thumbs up!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trlfazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful - Great food, Great People”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Spanky's is a wonderful family-owned restaurant that makes great breakfast food and is staffed by genuinely nice people. We showed up with a large group with quite a few toddlers, and the staff was patient and pleasant while dealing with such a large and rambunctious party. The food was delicious. Group favorites include blueberry pancakes, spanky's french toast, chocolate milkshake, and homefries. This was the perfect small-town restaurant that we were looking for while vacationing in the poconos. I would definitely recommend making a stop here when you're in the area.
Note - they don't take reservations. There was about an hour wait when we went, but we were a large group. Well worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CondorBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth another visit the next time we pass through”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

A unique small town gathering place with great food and service for breakfast. While traveling through from Michigan to Massachusetts we spent the night in the Poconos. While passing through Newfoundland we found Spanky's just when we were ready for breakfast. The food and service were excellent.

The walls are lined with license plates from all over the world.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank truetravelcompanions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spanky's Country Restaurant also viewed

South Sterling, Pocono Mountains Region
Newfoundland, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Greentown, Pocono Mountains Region
Greentown, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Greentown, Pocono Mountains Region
Newfoundland, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Spanky's Country Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing