We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Oyster Stew I ever ate”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Northwestern Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Northwestern Grill
Ranked #6 of 10 Restaurants in New Tripoli
Restaurant details
New Tripoli, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Oyster Stew I ever ate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have been there many times because it is close to home,I ordered the special one evening and they were out so I decided to have the oyster stew. It was very very good. Have been back twice since and it was just as good as the first time. Would recommend the grill to anyone looking for a good meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“New Ownership has revived the NW Grill!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Long before I walked the planet, this place started off as a simple ice cream stand where you could also get a burger and fry. When the original owners sold the new owners decided to expand, converting it into a small diner. Unfortunately they were not able to make it work (financially) and closed. Fast forward a few owners, this place certainly has had it's share of struggles over the years. As for the food, it's a diner, not a 5 star restaurant. Set your expectations accordingly. That said, I think it's a great place to stop for ice cream, motorcycle break or take the kids for something to eat after ball practice. I certainly wouldn't bring a 'date' or special occassion to the NW Grill!!. Last but not least, the place is kinda small. Large parties would be a challenge and definitely not a bus stop. It's definitely a 'locals' place because there isn't many choices in the immediate area.

I hope the new owners are able to survive because they appear to be doing a decent job, providing quality 'local' food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deezalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food but please clean.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

My husband raved about the food, but he said he is not sure if he would go back because it was not clean and there were flies that were very bothersome. I used the restroom after we ate. If I had used it before we ate, I don't think I would have enjoyed the food as much as I did. They have a good thing going but they really need to clean it up.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank whitepeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Tripoli, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Call the Dept of Health”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

We made the mistake of visiting this diner. It used to be nice, but now is beyond dirty. The staff was dirty. The dishes are dirty. The floor, the menus, the bathroom was dirty. The staff was rude. We weren't brought the correct order. It was a terrible experience. It's the next day and I'm still feeling sick from the food. The food was overpriced. Did research and found this place has gotten a slew of health violations. I've copied and attached a few below. The Dept of Health needs to inspect again.

Inspection Violations: 12/2/2010
NORTHWESTERN GRILL 6397 ROUTE 309 NEW TRIPOLI, PA 18066 610-298-2255
46.102 Explain Code

Inspector Comments
Person (s) in charge do not exhibit a working knowledge of food safely requirements.
46.151(a) Explain Code

Inspector Comments
Employee observed chewing gum while engaged in food prep.
46.261 Explain Code

Inspector Comments
Employee observed handling ready to eat foods with bare hands.
46.342 Explain Code

Inspector Comments
Food containers are stored in pooled condensate in lain marie @ cookline.
Plastic spoons are stored with handles in contact with candy sprinkles in ice cream service area.
46.365 Explain Code

Inspector Comments
Assorted soup, sauces, gravies in steam table are 80° F product center. Employee states foods we placed directly into steam table from cooler-approx 1.5 hours ago. Products removed to cook top for rapid reheat to 165°F.
46.674(a)-(c) Explain Code

Inspector Comments
No test strips available to monitor low temp chemical sanitizing dish machine.
Top exterior surfaces of dish machine have build up of grime.
46.674(d) Explain Code

Inspector Comments
Low temperature, chemical sanitizing dish machine is showing O ppm residual chlorine in final rinse after priming and 5 cycles. All equipment and utensils to be subject to a properly mixed chemical sanitizer on exit from machines until unit is repaired.
46.714 Explain Code

Inspector Comments
Top surfaces of equipment in ice cream service area have buildup of dust, grime.
46.825(b)-(e) Explain Code

Inspector Comments
Approx. 1/8" pooled condensate is on floor of bain marie @ cookline.
46.941(b)-(e) Explain Code

Inspector Comments
No sign or poster posted at the handwash sink in the food prep area to remind food employees to wash their hands

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank beancounter37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home cooked food, quality meets low prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

The prices at NW Grille are middle to low range. The food quality is top notch!

The only problem we find is that even though the food is great, the wait-staff are really friendly but sometimes if you're not getting what's featured--it takes forever so don't be in a rush!

THE Friday night ALL-YOU-CAN eat FISH NIGHT is incredible! THE fish is better than most "fish places" top quality and you get two veges with it all for $7.99!

The breakfasts are very good and the French Toast really is French toast made NOT from sandwhich bread (or Texas toast) YOU get TONS of it for a great price too.

Don't be surprised if you get chicken or turkey barbeque with NO SAUCE as this is the style of PA. Dutch! Just sort of boiled meat.

The place is owned by the family that owns the gas station next-door. THE man who does the cooking seem to be a "Chef" not just a cook!

Helpful?
Thank marcydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northwestern Grill also viewed

 

Been to Northwestern Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing