We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mini Reunion”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in New Stanton
Bedford, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mini Reunion”
Reviewed September 25, 2010

My husband & I traveled to this Econolodge in New Stanton PA, an area near where I grew up. We were to meet my 2 brothers & their wives here for a mini reunion. One was from VA , the other from Pittsburg. The VA brother was staying here, so we made reservations also. Because of so many negative reviews we did not know what to expect. Here I interject to say it is unfair to print reviews that are prior to mid 2010.
What we found was a clean, newly renovated motel. Our $69.95 rm was clean and comfortable . The carpet was new & the halls also had new carpet(not "yucky or "creepy". The beds were attractive & had new mattress/springs. And wonderful pillows, and a lovely light comforter instead or old blankets. Would like one myself. I have to say...the bathrm was small, but adequate The water hot, the shower OK, a small tub., but it all worked OK. Linens clean& plentiful for 2. The desk clerk was courteous and helpful . The lobby is large , nicely funished . My husband & I spent a good bit of time in the lobby with my bros & wives talking, laughing & catching up. Our time together had to be short for several reasons, so we made the most of it. I write this because I felt badly that bad reviews from some did not describe the place that almost caused us to look elsewhere...and was costing the motel lost business.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoosier95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh_Baker, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2010
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure hosting you and your family and we look forard to seeing you again in the future.

Respectfully,
Arnie Pritts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    35
    26
    12
    24
See reviews for
42
24
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern NJ, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We stayed here with no reservation, last minute.HoJo's and Day's Inn were already full-up. Paid only $65. toilet was not working properly but staff fixed immed and offered new room if he couldn't before he attempted. The hallway carpet is kinda yucky. I can't figure out why the brkfst room is HUGE either.The brkfst was nice. waffles, cereal, breads, danishes, etc. For one night's stay, it's doable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_love_baking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh_Baker, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I want to thank you for taking time and writing a comment about our hotel. i do appologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay. Our breakfast room is setup to accomodate our 100 room hotel and hundreds of people when we are sold out because at times we do serve well over 200 people during our 3 hour breakfast span when we are sold out. I hope you had a safe travel and hope to see you again when your are in the New Stanton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed here on the final night of our 20 day road trip---and based on the reviews, we were pretty worried, but in our case, anyway, our worries were unfounded.

We arrived around 11, and were promptly greeted by the hotel desk clerk.

The parking lot was pretty full, but there was no construction debris (as one reviewer indicated).

Our room was fine---clean, cool and the WIFI worked great.

Although some reviewers have indicated they saw mold, we didn't. The bathroom, although on the older side, wa clean and well maintained.

When we awoke the next day, we saw the hotel full of families---so the clientele is definitely desirable.

On my way out of the hotel, I had a nice conversation with one of the managers named Arnie, who was telling me about his experiences with a church group that arrived after his shift ended the previous night. Arnie really went out of his way to accommodate them---I hope they appreciated it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johndsmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh_Baker, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments on your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were able to assist you with all your needs while at the New Stanton EconoLodge. The staff pride themselves on providing excellent customer service, their goal is to make everyone feel at home and to enjoy their stay.

It is our hope that you had a safe journey home and we look forward to seeing you the next time that you are in the New Stanton Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
212 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

This hotel is now an Econolodge. We ended up here last minute, and were struggling to find a non-smoking room with 2 beds.
It was just weird. The hallways were very creepy...I don't know how to explain it. The rooms were okay, but the bathrooms--ugh. Everything worked okay, though.
Breakfast was the usual, but the breakfast room was just huge--again, very odd.

This part of New Stanton is just rundown, with low budget hotels and restaurants, and it's just surprising for an area right next to the freeway.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaurusMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh_Baker, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I want to thank you for your comments about our hotel and i do appologize for not meeting your expectations. Our breakfast room is setup to accomodate our 100 room hotel and at times in the summer when we are completely sold out we ill do over 200 people in the 3 hour breakfast time. We hope you had a safe travel and hope to see you again when your in the New Stanton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Stanton hotels

Niles, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Price was low and we were just passing through so we were looking for something cheap. We still got less than we expected. Staff was OK, room was somewhat clean but my collage kid's room was cleaner. Breakfast was very marginal. I would not stay here again even at the cost.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wearyjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh_Baker, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I want to thank you for your comment. My apologies that you experienced housekeeping issues. It is always appreciated when constructive comments our provided, this allows us to continue to work on providing the best possible stay for all our guests. We did add more items to our breakfast selection, we now have waffles, hard boiled eggs, yogart, cold & hot cerals, danish, muffins, english muffins, bagels, toast, fruit and your coffee hot tea and juice. It is our hope that you had a safe journey home and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the New Stanton Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash DC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

Arrived at night without reservation. Desk clerk was accomodating. Room was worn, dirty and needed repair. Cigarette holes in bedspreads. Bathroom sink was pulling away from wall. Tub was not clean. Do not stay here!

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank smartieWashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansara-Manoj, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for opening our eyes.

Actually, everything is changed now, it's under new hands.

We read all previous reviews and making changes according to them. Because, we believe that all our guests are the best advisers.

Excited to show you our efforts.

Thanks agian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Don't be misled by their web photo...this hotel is in need of renovation. Dirty hall carpets and mold in bathroom. Parking area strewn with rotting construction materials."Free breakfast" is false advertising...out of juice and coffee within minutes of opening. No Quality at this Inn.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansara-Manoj, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to draw our attention on some serious issues.

Management is changed and now we have quality in our inn.

We have beautiful breakfast area and we serve hard boiled eggs, danishes, 2 breads, bagles, muffins, juice, fresh waffles, 3 different type of cereals and fresh coffee.

Renovation is done and very excited to invite you to check our facility.

I am sure you will be highly satisfied by staying with us.

And yes, pleae do not forget that we are with Econo Lodge brand now.

Expecting your visit again please

Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Stanton
0.1 mi away
Express Inn New Stanton PA Hotel
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in New Stanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh New Stanton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Pleasant-E Huntingdon
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Greensburg
Hampton Inn Greensburg
#1 of 10 in Greensburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
14.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 110 North Main and Byers Ave, New Stanton, PA 15672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Stanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in New Stanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge® hotel is conveniently located near Seven Springs Mountain and Hidden Valley ski areas. Nearby points of interest include the Westmoreland Mall, Westinghouse, Idlewild & SoakZone theme and water park, and Kennywood amusement park. Arnold Palmer Regional Airport and Saint Vincent College are less then 16 miles away.This New Stanton, PA hotel is located at the crossroads of Interstate 76 and Interstate 70, and less than 40 minutes from downtown Pittsburgh. An Amtrak train station and Greyhound bus terminal is located less than 10 miles away.Caddie Shak family fun center, Laurel Highlands Living Treasures Animal Park and Westmoreland Museum of American Art are close by. Many local business are minutes from the hotel.Outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate activities like biking, white-water rafting, fishing, skiing and hiking near the hotel. A variety of restaurants can be found in the surrounding area.Guests of this New Stanton, PA hotel will enjoy full-service amenities, including a free continental breakfast and free 24-hour coffee service. Enjoy a workout in our exercise room. Be sure to stop by PepperTree Lounge open Wednesday through Saturday from 5:30 p.m. to midnight.Business travelers to this hotel in Pennsylvania will appreciate conveniences like free high-speed Internet access.All spacious guest rooms include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Non-smoking rooms can be requested.This is a pet-friendly hotel. Refrigerator and microwave rentals are available. Laundry facilities are located on the property for guest convenience.The perfect location, superior accommodations and affordable rates make the Econo Lodge hotel a great place for both business and leisure travelers in the New Stanton, Pennsylvania area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn New Stanton
New Stanton Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing