We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in New Stanton
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Been staying here for 4yrs now(2 times per week) and only ever had one problem, no hot water(hot water heater broke, it happens can happen at a four star hotel too!). the breakfast is very good eggs,waffles,hot and cold cereals,muffins,bagels,yogurt and fresh fruit and its free. Plenty of restaurants with in walking distance and alot that deliver. wireless internet. In my years of staying here i see a lot of repeat business here.The front desk people are very friendly and are always ready to help.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh_Baker, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete a travel review on the New Stanton EconoLodge. I am pleased to here that you enjoyed your stay. It is our hope that you fully enjoyed your time in the area and that you had safe travels home. We look forward to seeing you next week Dave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 128 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were driving cross country and needed an inexpensive place to stay for one night. We stopped at the Econo Lodge and decided to stay based on the fact that it was near a restaurant, and the lobby and outside parking lot looked pretty good. The rest of the hotel was shabby and dingy. Our room appeared clean, but on closer inspection, it really wasn't. The doors leading to the outside worked poorly and we had trouble opening one of them from the inside. What if there was a fire? The hallways smelled like stale cigarette smoke. On the plus side, the free breakfast was pretty good and the Italian restaurant that was right down the street had tasty food. We were glad this was a one-night only stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh_Baker, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

My apologies that you experience housekeeping issues. It is always appreciated when constructive comments our provide, this allows us to continue to work on providing the best possible stay for all our guests. It is our hope that you had a safe journey home and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the New Stanton Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

In a sketchy neighborhood, dingy, dirty, and NO hot water for my shower. And, call me a spoiled American, but bad TV reception? I don't even own a TV at home, but somehow when I turn one on in a hotel, I expect a clear picture. Not the case here. On the plus side? It was cheap, had free wireless internet, and was near a Cracker Barrel (which is especially good, as the free breakfast was not appealing). We stayed there because everything nearby was booked - now I understand why they were the last one available.....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh_Baker, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete the review of the your recent stay. It is again our apologies that we were not able to accomodate you in a satisfactory manner. We did get a brand new hot water tank system installed to fix this issue. We hope you had a safe travel home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stopped here during a pouring rain. what a mistake. The room was filthy, the sheets had holes in them, the bathtub looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. Our non smoking room had an odor to it and cigarette burns on the sink. We decided to stay because we we tired. Very noisy room, talking, dogs barking. Apparently no sound proofing at all. The worst? We woke up covered with bite marks and itching.

Room Tip: Run to another hotel if you value your health.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moezin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh_Baker, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

My apologies that you experience housekeeping issues. It is always appreciated when constructive comments our provide, this allows us to continue to work on providing the best possible stay for all our guests. It is always recommended that contact the Front Desk immediately when you have any problems, concerns or needs. It is difficult for a hotel to address unreported issues days later. We did contact our pest control provider and were able to determine that there was NO issue in the room. Once again thank you for your comment and we hope you had a safe travel home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Ignore any review without comments for this motel and you will see that many people have encountered problems with this property. Every other property was booked so we tried this Econo Lodge. We came into the dingy smelly lobby walked down the dirty tile hallways into a room with cracked walls,torn carpet, mis-hung bathroom doors and old bedding and walked out to find another hotel. The website pictures are nothing like reality. Hotels.com should remove this hotel from their listings.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mntravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh_Baker, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

My apologies that you experience housekeeping issues. It is always appreciated when constructive comments our provide, this allows us to continue to work on providing the best possible stay for all our guests. We hope you found another hotel and enjoyed your stay in the New Stanton area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I chose this hotel with our free choice rewards points because it was only for one night and it was the closest hotel we could find while we were going to attend the Latrobe Air Show. When we checked in, lobby was clean, there was someone cleaning the windows in the front. Staff at desk seemed helpful enough and there were conmplimentary newspapers and some travel brochures in a display about attractions in the area.

We got our room keys and drove around back to go to our room. There was a large dumpster full of old, dirty mattresses in the parking lot. I thought, this is good, new mattresses. Not the case.

The hallways in this hotel are a complete shock compared to what the lobby looks like. They are dimly lit, have old carpeting, old drapery, and they are not air conditioned.

When we arrived in our room, it was of similar condition. The carpet was old and worn, and dirty! It was obviously not vacuumed as there were peanuts and crumbs all over. When we went to put our sodas in the refrigerator, we found that it was covered in mold and had a musty odor. The window going out to the parking lot was an old pane style that looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in years!

Bed check next. Even 5 star hotels get bedbugs, so its wise to check no matter what the venue, Seemed free from any type of bugs, However the bed spread was also dated, filled with burn holes, and it was also stained. The sheets underneath were stained, as well as the mattress, and there were hairs in the bed!!! This made me think that the sheets hadn't been changed since the last guest's stay. The disturbing part is that it was several different kinds of hairs. The mattress was hard and cheap.

Bathroom, so dimly lit, old and in need of a major update, Old blue tile walls in the bathtub with mold all over. The white bathtub was so filthy it was brown and chipped with rust stains everywhere. Apparently the people who run this place have never heard of bleach? We went to use the ice bucket and when I opened it up, it had a ring of filth in it and a bunch of dead bugs inside. I went to lift the hard plastic liner out and there were condoms and safety pins inside! Disgusting! I called the front desk and the lady seemed disgusted and brought me up a brand new Ice bucket in the box. This was about the only helpful thing they did. However, if the room was properly cleaned, there wouldnt bee condoms and safety pins and dead bugs in the ice bucket to begin with, right? If they have new ice buckets why are they hoarding them. I then went down the hall to get ice, Big suprise, The ice machine was unplugged and non functioning, not even a sign on it to tell guests. Very inconvienent.

Breakfast in the morning was small with some danishes and muffins, cold cereal. They were out of juice in the juice machine and milk when we went down, which was only an hour into breakfast at 7am. Why the lady at the front desk made a big deal out of free breakfast when there was hardly anything there...I don't know? There was a small refrigerator in the breakfast room that looks as if it should have had yogurt or bottles of juice inside but it was empty? Breakfast room itself was huge, again why if they aren't going to serve a large variety of foods. The comfort inn breakfast and accomodations looks like the ritz compared to this place. I wrote to the manager, lets see if I get a reply!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choicechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh_Baker, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

I want to thank you for taking some time out of your schedule to review our property, i must note that there are other hotels in the area in which you could've redeemed your free night at such as the Comfort Inn in New Stanton or the rodeway inn or comfort inn in Greensburg. The Mattresses your seen in the dumpster was not from our property but from the property adjacent from out hotel. My apologies that you experience housekeeping issues. It is always appreciated when constructive comments our provide, this allows us to continue to work on providing the best possible stay for all our guests. We have made changes to our Continental Breakfast in the morning, we now have hard boil eggs, yogart, waffles, cold & hot cereal, danish, muffins, bagels, english muffins, toast, fruit, your coffee, hot tea and juice. Our breakfast room is big not because of the amount of food we serve but to accommodate all of the guest in our 100 room hotel which this large space works well for the busy summer days when all 100 rooms are sold. It is our hope that you had a safe journey home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

My husband and I stopped at this hotel during a snow storm. The staff was absolutely wonderful. They all seemed to enjoy their jobs and very helpful to each other as well as to us. We ate dinner there in the dining room and felt like family. Could not have had a better time and the food was outstanding. The room was older but clean. Guest rooms are in process of renovations but it was quiet. We will return on our next stop there in two weeks as the price was very affordable also.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh_Baker, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2012

Dear Denise,

I just want to take some time to thank you for the great review that you gave us! We strive for great customer satisfaction and i appreciate your wonderful feedback. Our hotel is currently undergoing renovations to keep up a more modern look and we hope to eliminate the "older" look to our rooms. We look forward to seeing you again in two weeks and hope you have a great trip!!

See you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Stanton
0.1 mi away
Express Inn New Stanton PA Hotel
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 8 in New Stanton
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh New Stanton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Greensburg
Hampton Inn Greensburg
#1 of 10 in Greensburg
518 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Huntingdon-Irwin
Hampton Inn & Suites North Hunti...
#1 of 3 in North Huntingdon
204 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Pleasant-E Huntingdon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 110 North Main and Byers Ave, New Stanton, PA 15672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Stanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in New Stanton
Price Range: $51 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge® hotel is conveniently located near Seven Springs Mountain and Hidden Valley ski areas. Nearby points of interest include the Westmoreland Mall, Westinghouse, Idlewild & SoakZone theme and water park, and Kennywood amusement park. Arnold Palmer Regional Airport and Saint Vincent College are less then 16 miles away.This New Stanton, PA hotel is located at the crossroads of Interstate 76 and Interstate 70, and less than 40 minutes from downtown Pittsburgh. An Amtrak train station and Greyhound bus terminal is located less than 10 miles away.Caddie Shak family fun center, Laurel Highlands Living Treasures Animal Park and Westmoreland Museum of American Art are close by. Many local business are minutes from the hotel.Outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate activities like biking, white-water rafting, fishing, skiing and hiking near the hotel. A variety of restaurants can be found in the surrounding area.Guests of this New Stanton, PA hotel will enjoy full-service amenities, including a free continental breakfast and free 24-hour coffee service. Enjoy a workout in our exercise room. Be sure to stop by PepperTree Lounge open Wednesday through Saturday from 5:30 p.m. to midnight.Business travelers to this hotel in Pennsylvania will appreciate conveniences like free high-speed Internet access.All spacious guest rooms include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Non-smoking rooms can be requested.This is a pet-friendly hotel. Refrigerator and microwave rentals are available. Laundry facilities are located on the property for guest convenience.The perfect location, superior accommodations and affordable rates make the Econo Lodge hotel a great place for both business and leisure travelers in the New Stanton, Pennsylvania area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn New Stanton
New Stanton Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing