We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
53
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews weekend retreat home away from home small window own private entrance rolling hills back roads every morning front porch old post office barb buggies loft strasburg barn farms providence
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 53 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2018

The Husband and I venture out to the beautiful area of Lancaster for a nice, relaxing trip, as often as possible and Musser's Historic Country Suites delivered just that. The owner, Barb, is absolutely wonderful and immediately greeted us with a huge smile. She did everything possible to make sure our stay was comfortable and indeed fantastic, (including inviting us into her home and introducing us to her sweet and extremely intelligent dog, Dosey and her adorable puppies).

Upon entering the Old Post Office Suite (via your own private entrance), you felt like you were swept back in time. The small private bathroom has a stand-up shower and down 2 stone steps sits a beautiful, full- size bed with a large closet area. Up a short flight of stairs, an incredibly crafted queen-size bed is nestled between wooden and brick walls and a small window looks out into the lovely garden in the backyard. The large kitchen includes a pull-out couch and small dining table, however there is a large common area/library/game/tv room that guests are welcome to use. (Note: Both sleeping areas have low ceilings, which is not too convenient for those extremely tall)

This charming historic house is located close to many of the Amish attractions and farms, as well as the quaint town of Strasburg, and many antique shops and stores. The winding back roads are wonderful to take in the peaceful scenery of farms and rolling hills. I highly recommend taking a visit to New Providence and seeing it all for yourself.

Room Tip: Old Post Office Suite is on 1st level w/ stairs to bed in the loft.
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cynthia AJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2018

We just had our 3rd stay here at Barbara's in the upstairs suite. It is very spacious with 2 bedrooms split with a living room in the center and a big fully stocked kitchen. The bathroom has a small shower, no tub. The TV only gets a few channels, but you will be so busy touring around Lancaster, it doesn't matter. Curl up with a good book when you are there! There is Wifi. This place is like a B&B but you don't get breakfast.
You can make your own. There is a large common room on the first floor filled with books and games. You are about 15 minutes away from the main areas of Lancaster County, but totally worth the drive, and we love taking the back roads around the Amish farms. New Providence is a small village and very quiet. If you have trouble climbing stairs, regretfully then you should go elsewhere as both units have stairs. The upstairs unit is all one floor once you climb the stairs to get up there. Barbara the owner is the sweetest!

Room Tip: Upstairs unit has separate bedrooms. Downstairs unit sleeping area is all open with a loft.
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marion O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018

My wife and I needed to get away for the weekend and this was just the ticket.
The suite was private with its own entrance and many conveniences of home.
Barbara is a great host. She knows the area and was able to guide us to points of "our" interest. This home is close to Strasburg. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017

We staying here in August during our visit to Lancaster county and can honestly say this is some of the best accommodation we've ever had. It is incredibly clean and comfortable and Barb couldn't do enough for us. The grounds are also beautiful and we all enjoyed spending time in the garden each morning. If we are ever lucky enough to be back in this area we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aflac92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016

We enjoyed our stay at this Country Inn! It is conveniently located and provides a comfortable and spacious place to rest and relax. The host is friendly and thoughtful and the house is loaded with fascinating books and decor to enhance the experience. We LOVED listening and watching for the Amish buggies passing by!

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BLSMJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews