We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of explosives, but no beer to be found”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We used this as a stopover on the way to Philly from Albany. It was chosen because it is almost halfway. We arrive at a few minutes after 10pm and were surprised to find the hotel literally surrounded by firework factories/warehouses. One of the reasons, other than it's midpoint on the journey was the fact that the hotel included in its amenities, a shuffle to the local bar, sounded just the right fit. The shuffle we found out stops at 10 and apparently so does the bar. If we had known we would have continued to Scranton or stopped in Bingamton.
The hotel itself was clean enough and we were at one end of the first floor and the external door near our room (supposed to be card access at all times) was continually being wedged open with a rock. I understand that management cannot stop guests doing this, but there should be some sort of sensor which sounds an alarm in reception if the door is open for more than a minute. So we felt that security at this place was very poor.
Breakfast was delicious and the attendant was an excellent host making sure she was next to you if you had questions or looked like you could not find something and was not putting too much of the hot food out at one time and was re-supplying whenever needed. Give the location it should probably have been 2/3 of the price we paid.
Would we stop there again - no, but if all you are looking for is a clean bed for the night with a great breakfast and do not care about the high price this would probably work for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXGibsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gibson, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Stephen A,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such an informative review. Your ideas, including the great suggestion for a sensor on the exterior doors, will be discussed. Also, thank you for mentioning our complimentary hot breakfast and the great staff members that work to provide it for our guests. We hope to get the opportunity to give you an even better stay the next time you're with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Gibson
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 135 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

Reading the current reviews of this property, I was surprised by all the negative comments. My family and I received a travelers discount and the price was reasonable. For someone who travels worldwide, I can tell you that this is a convenient location (right off the highway), very good amenities (including a pool), clean property, very good price and most of all, a great staff. We were greeted at check-in by two great ladies, Tina and Annie, who were friendly, professional and knowledgeable. They politely explained the property amenities, local activities and places to eat. Getting in late and after pool hours, they were nice enough to allow my daughter to swim. The room was fairly standard, but had everything we needed after a long journey. Comfortable bed and pillows, pull-out sofa bed, nice shower and treats in the room! Sadly just coming from another well-known resort property in Hawaii, the customer service at Gibson was by-far superior! The freshly-baked cookies were also delicious!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd Floor (top floor). It was quiet and faced the wooded are (opposite the highway...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilgners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXGibsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gibson, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Hilgners,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a glowing review! We are all so glad to see when our efforts are noticed and appreciated by our guests. Also, thank you for mentioning Tina, Annie, and the rest of the great team here. We all do our best to make sure that all of our guests have a great experience when they choose to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you here again soon. We'll have cookies waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here in June 2014. We were hoping to get to Syracuse but being road weary we decided to give this hotel a try. The hotel is way over priced for what you get. Room itself was great, bed comfortable but breakfast was a real let down. This hotel seems to cater more to the workers then to travellers. My advice is to keep driving by this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXGibsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gibson, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Rick P,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such an informative review. I appreciate your giving us feedback that can be used to help us get better in the future. Thank you again, and we will make sure your next stay with us is even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding last weekend. Hotel was a bit pricey but there a few hotels in the area to choose from. Hotel will fit your basic needs. Room is kind of basic and dull but clean. The staff was very nice though and had all the rooms ready for the wedding guests early. The complimentary breakfast was also very nice and was great to have before our long drive home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gibson, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Tara B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am very pleased you liked the friendliness of our staff and the complimentary breakfast. Please accept my sincerest apology for the issues you had with your room accommodation. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. I am also sorry you were not satisfied with the rates. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to serve you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Kind Regards,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Overpriced.

Staff is friendly.

Piles of trash and dirty towels in the hallways every morning and evening, breakfast set out late, coffee dispensers empty at breakfast time, fridge and alarm clock were broken, hallway carpets filthy, someone frying fish in their room and smelled up entire hotel, people smoking in their rooms on non smoking floor, belligerent drunks in hallway trying to start fights with guests. Management needs drastically lower the rate given the direction they have decided to take this property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dickyr85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXGibsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gibson, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear dickyr85,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review with such constructive criticism. I understand how frustrating all of these issues must have been, and I appreciate your bringing it to our attention. I assure you that we are doing our best, after your bringing this to our attention, to remedy some of the issues you brought to light.

Thank you for also mentioning our staff. I feel that they, and the friendly service they provide, is what makes the difference for a lot of people. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had a large group of guests here staying 2 nights for a country wedding nearby. The staff of this hotel were amazing. The room was clean spacious and comfortable, Really enjoyed the breakfast and the pool.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor in non smoking rooms, no problems at all. Fast elevators and nice staff...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gkny114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXGibsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gibson, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear gkny114,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review! We love working with weddings, and yours was a pleasure to work with. Thank you for recognising our staff as well. We all do our best to go above and beyond for our guests.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

As world travelers, we look for two things: cleanliness and hospitality. Holiday Inn Express Gibson has both. We spent a comfortable and quiet night, and had a relaxing breakfast. Shay and Austin at the front desk were welcoming and very helpful. We can tell this is a well-managed property.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chacharea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXGibsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gibson, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Chacharea,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a such a great comment! We do our best to give all our guests a great stay, and I am so glad that yours was above and beyond. I will let Shay and Austin know about your comment.

Thank you again, and I look forward to seeing you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milford
22.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown
22.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
24.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Binghamton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center
24.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
#4 of 13 in Binghamton
203 reviews
22.2 mi away
Grand Royale Hotel
Grand Royale Hotel
#10 of 13 in Binghamton
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gibson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gibson

Address: 1561 Oliver Rd, I-81 at Exit 219, New Milford, PA 18834-7515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Milford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Milford
Price Range: $125 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Gibson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Gibson, recipient of the 2007 Quality of Excellence Award. This beautiful hotel is conveniently located off I-81 at exit 219 Gibson. Centrally located between Binghamton, NY and Scranton, PA the hotel is ideal for business or leisure. The hotel is located in the heart of the Endless Mountains and is only minutes from exciting attractions. The Holiday Inn Express features the most up to date services and facilities and offers an indoor pool, fitness center, business center, refrigerators and microwaves in all rooms, and free high-speed Internet. Stay Smart with the Holiday Inn Express Gibson! Smart business! The Holiday Inn Express Gibson will make your business trip care free. The hotel is located just minutes from Montrose, Conklin Industrial Park, Frito Lay, Kirkwood Industrial Park, Maines Paper & Food, and the Flying J Travel Plaza, just to name a few. Smart getaway! This hotel is the perfect place to get away and visit great local attractions such as Elk Mountain, Harford Fairgrounds, Mormon Monument-Joseph Smith Home, Old Mill Village, Valhala Castle, Nicholson Bridge, Upper Delaware Scenic & Recreational River Center, Pocono Mountains, Pocono Raceway, Jem Car Classic, and many more! Stay Smart and experience this beautiful hotel with outstanding services and amenities. Many beautiful golf courses nearby! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gibson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gibson Hotel New Milford
Holiday Inn New Milford
New Milford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing