We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where's the entrance?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Gibson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where's the entrance?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Be warned! There are no signs directing you to the Holiday Inn or its entrance road from Oliver Road and it is easily missed. The hotel sits off the main road, behind the big fireworks store, and its overgrown unmarked entrance is just before the store's parking lot. It seems as if the Holiday Inn is trying to keep people from finding it. We've been staying here for years to visit family and agree with several other reviews---staff is great, hotel is nice, but the price is high with no competition.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaDanceGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXGibsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gibson, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear VirginiaDanceGal,

We appreciate your taking the time to leave us a review, and especially to tell us how our staff and property are great. Also, while we are still working to find a more permanent solution, we have put up several directional signs to try and better guide our guests to us. Thank you again, and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    52
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
49
29
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 474 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Agree with the previous review who says it's a great place to sleep in the middle of nowhere. Visiting my son at camp about 45 minutes away at Independent Lake Camp up in Orson.

Hotel is set back from a truck stop and conveniently located next to a fireworks superstore. Nice to know in Pennsylvania that I can't buy a beer at the local truck stop or Denny's (have to drive 2 exits to get beer I'm told) but I can buy enough fireworks next door to illuminate a small town on Fourth of July.

So my advice is if you want to have a cold one at night, or a cocktail, you've got to figure out how to buy it ahead of time. Why the people of Pennsylvania don't up and revolt of the liquor laws is beyond me. Maybe while New Jerseyians don't up and revolt at being able to pump their own gas. But I digress.

This hotel is well run, clean seems new and people we dealt with were very, very nice. There is not a hot tub, but there is an indoor pool.

Would definitely recommend. Not because it's particularly outstanding, which it is, but because there are so many scarey Bates Motel type places all around this part of Pennsylvania.

Room Tip: Make sure you figure out where to get beer/wine because you ain't getting it in Pennsylvania.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frqflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXGibsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gibson, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Frqflier,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a shining review. We appreciate all of your positive feedback. As for the cold ones at night, there is a restaurant nearby open Tuesday through Saturday that sells sixpacks. They are also a full bar at the restaurant and will pick you up at the hotel as needed. We look forward to seeing you again next camp season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Good roadside hotel with very nice staff and accommodations. Overpriced but there are no other chain hotels around so they can command the rates.

If you are rolling in during dinner time take note: your choices are Denny's at the adjacent Truck Stop or McDonald's. That's it. Otherwise it's a highway drive to small towns nearby that don't have many choices.

Air conditioning in our room was good but loud. Rooms have a fridge and microwave, comfy beds, large bathrooms with good showers and very spacious for a hotel of this type.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXGibsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gibson, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear qbang,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your choosing to stay with us, and even more so that you have such great things to say about our rooms. While we are in a rural location, we do try to give our guests great service by providing them with maps and menus to local restaurants that are within a few miles drive. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were here for one night on our way to New York State. We were very impressed by the staff and their good nature! Especially since they are dealing with lots of construction/drilling workers. The staff is doing what they can to try to keep the hotel clean...and that is a hard task with muddy clothes and boots!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXGibsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gibson, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Milan54,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We love to hear such great compliments about our staff, as they truly are the heart of our hotel and do their best to make sure that every guest has a great stay every time. We also appreciate hearing about where we can improve, and take every opportunity to meet these challenges head on. We look forward to seeing you here again soon, and giving you another fantastic stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was by far one of the best hotels we have stayed at in a while. It doesn't take a lot to make a customer feel valued and yet a lot of hotels don't seem to get this. This place gets it! All the staff was friendly and put the guest first. We ask for a late check out and found ourselves surprised that it was not an issue and that they didn't have to check with housekeeping first to see if they could do a late check out. The breakfast was great. We forgot a plug that we needed and went to the front desk, they pulled out a box of plugs and the one we needed was in the box. They just did everything they could to make travel easier for us. If we are ever in this area again, this hotel will be our first choice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXGibsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gibson, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Kathy K,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a glowing review! We do our best to make sure that every guest has a great stay, and our staff is at the heart of that effort. We look forward to seeing you again, and are eager to give you another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This property itself is very nice and well taken care of but a few things to note which keeps it from a 5 start rating tripadvisor rating. The hotel is way over priced for what you would expect to pay for a nights stay along I81. Plus there is natural gas drilling taking place in the vicinity so there are many industry workers and their trucks which occupy the hotel on a daily basis. This appears to be causing both the much higher prices which the average traveler is not expecting and mud all around the entrance and parking lot. On a positive note the front desk lady was very helpful and the breakfast area had a one button push pancake maker. The pancakes were very good along with the rest of the breakfast. Shower pressure and internet access also both good. Only other eatery I saw on this exit was a McDonalds close by.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank hotelforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gibson, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear hotelforfun,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, we truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birdsboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here because of the short ride to Elk Mountain. Hotel is very clean! Amenities are fabulous. Front desk was very friendly and helpful. The only downfall is there are hardly any food places in the area to eat. I would stay again when in the area.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sealiz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXGibsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gibson, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Sealiz29,

Thank you for taking the time to give our hotel such a great review. We appreciate the feedback of our guests, as strive to make every stay as great as it can be.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milford
19.9 mi away
The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center
23.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarks Summit
Hampton Inn Clarks Summit
#1 of 6 in Clarks Summit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
22.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Clarks Summit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
24.4 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
23.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Tunkhannock
Hampton Inn Tunkhannock
#1 of 4 in Tunkhannock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gibson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gibson

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gibson
Address: 1561 Oliver Rd, I-81 at Exit 219, New Milford, PA 18834-7515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Milford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Gibson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Gibson, recipient of the 2007 Quality of Excellence Award. This beautiful hotel is conveniently located off I-81 at exit 219 Gibson. Centrally located between Binghamton, NY and Scranton, PA the hotel is ideal for business or leisure. The hotel is located in the heart of the Endless Mountains and is only minutes from exciting attractions. The Holiday Inn Express features the most up to date services and facilities and offers an indoor pool, fitness center, business center, refrigerators and microwaves in all rooms, and free high-speed Internet. Stay Smart with the Holiday Inn Express Gibson! Smart business! The Holiday Inn Express Gibson will make your business trip care free. The hotel is located just minutes from Montrose, Conklin Industrial Park, Frito Lay, Kirkwood Industrial Park, Maines Paper & Food, and the Flying J Travel Plaza, just to name a few. Smart getaway! This hotel is the perfect place to get away and visit great local attractions such as Elk Mountain, Harford Fairgrounds, Mormon Monument-Joseph Smith Home, Old Mill Village, Valhala Castle, Nicholson Bridge, Upper Delaware Scenic & Recreational River Center, Pocono Mountains, Pocono Raceway, Jem Car Classic, and many more! Stay Smart and experience this beautiful hotel with outstanding services and amenities. Many beautiful golf courses nearby! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gibson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gibson Hotel New Milford
Holiday Inn New Milford
New Milford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing