We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite romantic getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Hope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Porches on the Towpath
Ranked #3 of 19 New Hope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our favorite romantic getaway”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Whenever we want to get away for a romantic evening, this is our favorite spot. We have now stayed here four times and are already planning our next visit. The location is perfect! It is tucked away in a private little spot along the towpath and is just around the corner from all the shops and restaurants of New Hope. Also, Lambertville is right over the bridge in easy walking distance. One of our favorite things about Porches is it's character. Each room has it's own unique personality. We have stayed in a different room each time we have visited, so it has been a special experience every time. We have stayed in summer and in winter. In summer, you can enjoy the beautiful private garden and have breakfast wherever you like along the large porches. In winter, they have a cozy little breakfast area in the main house. Breakfast is always great, and they have no problem tailoring our meal to our vegetarian lifestyle. The innkeeper and staff are super friendly! They make you feel like you are staying with friends. Every experience we have had here has been wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chillsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    102
    24
    15
    10
See reviews for
44
343
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wantage,nj
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

from very accommodating setting and beautiful garden this B&B is convenient to all New Hope without the bother of driving and parking. Our room was nicely decorated and quiet. Sitting on the upper level porch was extremely relaxing due in part to the beauty and aroma of the well maintained garden. Breakfast on the porch was fantastic. The owner and staff made us feel very comfortable and welcome. We have recommended Porches to friends and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quaker124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This B&B is steps from New Hope's main drag yet still private enough that you feel away from the crowd and not distracted by noise. Some of the back rooms are actually quite secluded. The grounds are gorgeous and lush. The room we stayed in was small but tasteful. Breakfast out on the porch was wonderful- they bring it to you!

It's nice to be able to be close enough not to have to worry about parking or driving. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kintnersville, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife have had several great visits to this B&B and have stayed in most of the rooms all are wonderfully decorated in their own unique way .Being tucked away on a small ally and right on the canal makes for a peaceful setting. Having breakfast on the porch is a highlight you can take in the views of the Ivy Land train station and enjoy the lush gardens around you. It's funny your in the middle of New Hope but wouldn't know it .

The Owner and staff are top notch not to mention Meme the Jack Russel .We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 119lancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Room 11 is beautiful- bright and airy with 2 queen size very comfortable beds, huge shower and a TV (most rooms do not have a TV, so if this is important to you, be sure to ask). This room also is very private with a 6 ft wall which encloses the private courtyard with a table and 2 chairs. If you like having a little privacy in a B&B, this is perfection. The location is less than a block from town and a 5 minute walk to restaurants, coffee houses, shops and the Bucks County Playhouse. Breakfast was served on the porches of the main house and was served as individual dishes rather than buffet style as at some B&B's. Both days of the stay, the breakfasts were the same; fluffy scrambled eggs, bacon and biscuit with juices, coffee and teas. Owner/ staff were very friendly and accomodating. The only thing preventing the 5 star rating was some of the "pristine" qualities I have come to admire about staying at a B&B. The shower curtain in the room had signs of mildew on the bottom, there were touchups needed here and there etc. The room appeared clean and the linens were luxurious but the ivy, gardens etc. are pretty but overgrown in some areas making the "bugginess" impossible to stay out and enjoy the courtyard or porches for very long. I would stay here again as the value and location can't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

A friend and I spent two nights here as a getaway treat to ourselves, and we had a wonderful time - it was so relaxing and lovely. The rooms are pretty and immaculate, with air conditioning (a MUST as far as I'm concerned). The people here are so friendly and helpful - it felt totally private, but there was always someone around to answer a question or give a recommendation.

Porches is quiet and bordered with gardens (which make it smell wonderful), but walk a few blocks and you are right in the middle of New Hope. You can walk to the Bucks County Playhouse, a lovely, newly renovated theatre, and to tons of restaurants and tempting shops of all kinds (a favorite: Farley's Books, an independent bookstore where we spent a number of hours browsing and buying).

Our rooms were in the Gatekeeper's House, which was just a few steps from the main house and which felt a little more modern to me. Breakfast was on the comfortable, chair-lined porch of the main house, and was delicious - we had orange juice and a cheese and sausage strata, along with our own pots of tea.

I will definitely return!

Room Tip: Each room is different - make sure to look at the descriptions and pictures online, and talk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

What a wonderful b&b! Great location and loved how it is tucked back off the Main Street. Loved the porches, the decor and the amazing garden! Not to mention, wonderful inn keeper and dog. We had room 5, gorgeous room with cute little balcony. We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: We loved the spaciousness of room 5, great orange walls and cool white furniture. Highly recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKim4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Hope
0.4 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
111 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Inn at Bowman's Hill
The Inn at Bowman's Hill
#2 of 19 in New Hope
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Logan Inn
Logan Inn
#7 of 19 in New Hope
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fox and Hound Bed and Breakfast of New Hope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porches on the Towpath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porches on the Towpath

Property: Porches on the Towpath
Address: 20 Fishers Aly, New Hope, PA 18938-1313
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > New Hope
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in New Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious country house located directly on the Delaware Canal in the heart of New Hope.  Ten beautifully furnished guest rooms, all with private baths.  Two story, wrap around porch overlooking the Delaware Canal and perennial gardens.  A full country breakfast is served daily.  Central air, private off street parking.  Walk to shops, galleries and restaurants.  Mid week discounts available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porches On The Towpath Hotel New Hope

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing