We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great BnB”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Hope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Porches on the Towpath
Ranked #3 of 19 New Hope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great BnB”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed on a weekday for a midweek getaway and loved it. Room was great, host was very nice, enjoyed the simple but very hearty and tasty breakfast on the second floor porch and felt like we were sitting in a tree house. Wonderful spot to stay and wander around New Hope. Right in the heart of things, we didn't get in the car for 2 days. Grounds are a little over run but it added to the eclectic charm. Snuck into to "secret garden " for a moonlight kiss...very romantic!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    102
    23
    15
    10
See reviews for
44
329
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was looking at this B&B for almost a year, and I now regret waiting so long to actually stay here! This B&B is fabulous. It is convenient to the downtown, you don't have to worry about finding a place to park. The Inn itself is adorable. The gardens all around the property almost made the place seem magical. We stayed in the attic room in the main building and the room was just adorable. I like the very unique decorations in the room as well as throughout the Inn. Carol is such a sweet person, she makes sure everyone feels at home and is great at suggesting places in the area to visit. The breakfast was delicious and they give you plenty! You don't feel as if you need to go out for a full breakfast after because they give you plenty! I would highly recommend this Inn. However, if you are looking for a more modern, up to date place, this B&B is not for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tburg1760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

John and the team are wonderful hosts who will go out of their way to make you comfortable. They have a wide range of accomodations to choose from and we were lucky enough to experience two different rooms during our visit. Room #5 in the upper main house was our favorite with a spacious bathroom, bedroom and plenty of natural light! The location could not be more convienent just steps from mainstreet and near the quaint train station. The decor is just devine and you can see John's talent throughout the home. I imagine the porches are an added bonus during the warm months. The only items we would change were the very firm beds (the bed in #5 a bit better than #2 for us) and the black shower curtain in room #2 which made it a little bit tough to see when showering. Overall, it's a wonderful place to visit and we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OccasionalTraveler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ronkonkoma, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I have been to PA. Many times before but not New Hope. Our room was very cozy. The breakfast we had for the 2 days we spent there were delicious . Having breakfast and talking with people from different states was a lot of fun. John the owner did a fabulous job decorating . All the rooms are decorated with such warmth. Carol is a gem. She was so sweet and helpful. The town of New hope is walking distance from Porches which we Loved. There are many shops and restaurants to visit , and the area is so beautiful. We visited Peddlers Village which was nearby , which was decorated for Christmas. We just got back its November and my Husband promised to bring me back for my Birthday in the Spring. I would highly recommend going To Porches , you will be so Glad you did :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne1587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Egypt, New Jersey
Level Contributor
221 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

It had been about a year since our last stay at Porches.We needed a break from the "day to day. This time we chose an overnight in room #2. This room has all of the upper front porch to itself, which is nice.
Even an overnight here feels like a vacation. Carol, who we met for the first time, was attentive and friendly. John has a great way of being attentive in a casual manner, without one even noticing. This is unlike our stays in other B & B's where we felt like the owner was tracking us.
Although there has been an eye to detail in decorating each room, the overall feel of Porches is
casual and laid back.
John continues to upgrade and improve features of the older building.
Porches is in an ideal location for walks along the tow path and strolling around New Hope or Lambertville.
Once you park your car at this Inn, there is really no need to drive it anywhere else, until you leave for home.
Just a mention.........the canal is still drained and in the process of being cleared of debris.
To some, this might make a difference. To us, it did not.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy, choose a room in some of the surrounding and smaller buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bronzebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I had received a gift certificate from a friend for night's stay. We stayed 2 nights and it was just perfect. John and Carol were very warm and caring and it was obvious they loved what they do!! Our room #12 was very tastefully decorated, and I am sure John put a lot of thought into selecting all the decor. The Inn is right on the towpath which was just great for us as we love to bike in New Hope, and it was close to many nice restaurants, shops, and pubs. The parking was really a plus and even after we checked out we were able to remain parked for the remainder of the day. Breakfast on the porch was just like being at home and the breakfast bake was wonderful!!. Our favorite restaurant is Bowman's Tavern which was short ride away. We are looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKT42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, PA, USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were given a gift certificate for one night at Porches. This was our first experience with a B and B. We had Room #7 which was a two story room. It was very nicely decorated with an alcove upstairs to sit and watch tv. There was also a porch that we could relax and enjoy a glass of wine. My only disappointment with the room was that there was no shampoo or hair dryer. Maybe this is normal for a B and B, I don't know. We went up to the main house for breakfast which was very tasty. It was nice to meet some of the other guests. Beware if you hate dogs! They have a cute little dog at the main house which laid on one of the chairs while we ate breakfast. I'm a dog lover so it was fine with me but it might not be for everyone. New Hope is a cute town to walk around. It is nice that there is off street parking at Porches.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Hope
0.4 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
4.3 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Temperance House Inn
0.1 mi away
Logan Inn
Logan Inn
#7 of 19 in New Hope
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porches on the Towpath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porches on the Towpath

Property: Porches on the Towpath
Address: 20 Fishers Aly, New Hope, PA 18938-1313
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > New Hope
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in New Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious country house located directly on the Delaware Canal in the heart of New Hope.  Ten beautifully furnished guest rooms, all with private baths.  Two story, wrap around porch overlooking the Delaware Canal and perennial gardens.  A full country breakfast is served daily.  Central air, private off street parking.  Walk to shops, galleries and restaurants.  Mid week discounts available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porches On The Towpath Hotel New Hope

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing