We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least the valet was good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Centre Bridge Inn
Ranked #12 of 19 New Hope B&B and Inns
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“At least the valet was good!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Friday night of their new menu, although the cocktails were listed online the bar was not ready to serve all of them. Best if you do not want to drink wine by the glass, as the only offering is the house brand which is not very good. The four slices of Italian bread in the bread basket were stale/hard, the replacement basket delievered without a word by the manager contained three slices of a warm cheese bread. Minutes later another replacement basket was delivered by the waiter and this one contained four still frozen dinner rolls. The calamari was mostly tentacles and missing a significant ingredient listed on the menu, the cherry peppers. The experience went further downhill when our dinners arrived barely at room temperature. The seafood pasta was like glue with a bland tomato sauce except for the extreme amount of salt. The salmon was so salty it was the only thing you could taste and again it did not match the menu description. The food was NOT edible. As our waiter was nowhere to be found, we went out front to find the manager. The hostess advised her and when she arrived she ignored us and went on to greet guests that had just arrived. The valet was ready with our keys and super nice. Their website asks people to write good reviews and will give you a "freebie" if you send it to them. I wonder what they would say about our ruined evening?

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Traveler27NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    9
    8
    12
See reviews for
16
34
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valley Forge, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and I took his Mother to this over rated Sunday brunch - soggy salad; tough as nails French toast; rubbery potatoes; dry beef (to mention a few of the almost inedible food selections) and lousy Sangria - 2 ounces for 9 bucks a glass. We had to bus our own table - twice! And when the bill came, an automatic 18% gratuity was added - for what? My hubby and I are not cheap, and have eaten at some of the finest restaurants around the world. But we do expect decent fare, value and service.
When we complained to the owner, he could have cared less.
Our advice - don't EVER go there!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We were booked for 2 nights in September. The room smelled musty, the bathroom was dirty, the 5 star restaurant was horrible, there was a Wedding there, kids running around screaming on top of their lungs, and our car was held captive because it was buried in the parking lot behind all the wedding cars. We were told if we planned to go out the next night we have to make arrangements with them - instead of the them having designated parking spaces. The CONTINENTAL breaklfast does not show up till 8:00 am - not even coffee. After the first night I could not wait to get out of there - I told them we were checking out a day early because we were not happy with anything - they offered to refund us the tax for the second night (about $25) on my charge - which they never did. I cannot honestly say how anyone could give this place good reviews, I never complain about anything just usually chalk it up but I could not let this pass!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here for my birthday weekend. We arrived after dark on a Friday and were initially thinking it was way too far out of town. But our two-room suite was charming, albeit a bit musty. (The place IS 300 years old!) We had reservations for dinner at the restaurant downstairs. It was lovely! We had a table by the huge roaring fireplace, which is one of the original fixtures from when it was first built. (Our server was very knowledgeable!) We had a lobster mac and cheese appetizer, which was delicious and filling. I was so full, I barely made a dent in my entree, which was an eggplant dish. It was scrumptious! My husband is still salivating over the sweetbreads he had. The food and service were exceptional. I should also give props to the continental breakfast, which comes with a stay. The coffee was good, hot and plentiful . . . and joy, fresh, flaky croissants! There were also juices, granola, fruit, yogurt and waffles. You can eat en suite or in the cozy dining room, overlooking the river. Overall, a most enjoyable visit . . . everyone was so friendly, we will be back.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms/suites are a bit warmer. I heard folks upstairs complaining about the cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patmo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Charming and welcoming, we adore this Inn and it's staff. The river views are amazing and the rooms quaint and clean. We have visited many times, it's one of our favorites and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blueskygal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

The restaurant is cozy and quaint, it is over 300 years old and is next to the river. Upon entering, you feel like you have stepped into someone's wonderful country home. The service is gracious, our server, Denise, literally kept the home fires burning. The fireplace is cozy and warm. Ask for a table by the fireplace during winter months.

The food was excellent, everything was prepared to perfection. The oyster appetizer was presented perfectly on a bed of rock salt, not a piece of shell in any oyster. The sweet breads were a rare treat. The whole lobster was steamed perfectly. It was sweet and delectable.

The prices were good for the amount and quality of food you get. This is my third visit to the restaurant and I will definitely visit again.

There is no handicap access to the restaurant. We ate there and did not stay there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneDuPont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Food arrived not done..cold, tasteless...should I go on..okay I will! The restaurant smelled musty....not a good choice for an anniversary meal.,,or any meal for that matter! My wife ordered the rack of lamb that was supposed to be done "WELL"..it arrived pink even though the chef said it was cooked through...Uh,I don't think so! So when it was sent back for more thorough cooking it returned a different shade of "Pink"...I ordered the "Red Snapper"..cold...one bite...something funky about the taste. The waitress was great and apologized...even though it had nothing to do with her! Too add insult to injury the manager said that it must have been an "OFF"night and presented us with a $25.00 gift certificate to the restaurant???? We paid the full price for one of the most dissapointing meals we had ever had...the $25.00 gift certificate remained with the paid bill! Do yourself a favor...pass this one up!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Hope
3.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
3.1 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
235 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Temperance House Inn
3.0 mi away
Logan Inn
Logan Inn
#7 of 19 in New Hope
194 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Inn at Bowman's Hill
The Inn at Bowman's Hill
#2 of 19 in New Hope
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Centre Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Centre Bridge Inn

Property: The Centre Bridge Inn
Address: 2998 River Rd, New Hope, PA 18938-9529
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > New Hope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in New Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Centre Bridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Centre Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Centre Bridge Hotel New Hope

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing