We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New addition to my favorite New Hope restaurants”
Review of Lola Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Lola Restaurant and Bar
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Outdoor patio seating and bar. Loft Bar and party room. Intimate dining. Great for people watching. Contemporary cuisine and infused liquors. Extensive cocktail list made to perfection.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“New addition to my favorite New Hope restaurants”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We came to New Hope this time primarily for the food. I wanted to revisit Bitter Bob's BBQ and Cafe Blue Moose. However, I hadn't planned anywhere to eat our first night, so we strolled around New Hope looking at menus. Lola, which just opened this year, turned out to be a great choice. They specialize in "small plates" and offer an eclectic variety. We had Mom's meatballs with plenty of marinara sauce and grated cheese, caramelized brussel sprouts (fabulous!), edamame hummus and ginger braised chicken thighs - how's that for eclectic! For dessert, my taste buds were treated to Almond Joy (coconut blondie with chocolate sauce, chopped almonds and whipped cream) and house-made Bourbon Pecan ice cream. I waddled out completely sated. Our friendly wait-staff advised us that the restaurant is modelled on a 1930s eatery. The centerpiece is a circular bar, and there are cosy booths and larger tables set up inside and out. We had a completely delightful dining experience, right down to the happy-hour-priced cocktails!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Execution does not live up to potential.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Recently had dinner for the first time at Lola with my wife and a friend. We are locals and enjoy eating out. Menu looked very interesting, with lots of small plates and some inventive combinations of ingredients. Unfortunately, overall the execution did not live up to the potential for the dishes we tried. They have some specialty cocktails that read well. We tried the Southern Gentry, which was very tasty but a poor value at $10 for a drink in a tall skinny glass filled with ice. The fried pickles, however, were excellent, among the best we've had. The Banh Mi Vietnamese sliders were good, but could have benefitted from a nicer bun and more thoughtful presentation. Cauliflower croquettes were tasty but the accompanying cheese fondue sauce was too bland. Likewise, the garlic shrimp were tasty but lacked spice and presentation. The ginger chicken thighs were also bland. The beet salad was well done. Desserts were also average. Service was good but a little slow. Might go back for a beer and fried pickles, but no more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tankr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great concept, needs follow through”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great concept of small plates, fairly priced but the food needs some flair. In all fairnesss the beet salad was wonderful and I thought the chicken thigh's had a great sauce. Shrimp dish too bland.
Fabulous drinks however.. Southern Gentry was the name. Bought ingredients to make it at home this evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RigbyHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Chic yet affordable. Love the small plates!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A nice tapas style bar. Fairly priced menus, beautiful ambiance. Decent beer selection, they make excellent drinks, and the small plates were really good. We ordered the cauliflower croquettes and garlic shrimp. Both were fabulous! The service though busy, we never felt unattended to. Very friendly staff. I would love to come back here next time I visit New Hope.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Junglefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Royal, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great menu!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lola's menu delighted all four of us when we recently checked it out. There's something for everyone, from appetizers to small plates to full entrees. The food, service and atmosphere were all great. As a new addition to New Hope, this restaurant and bar is especially worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DBJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
New Hope, Bucks County
New Hope, Bucks County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing