We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Bucks County Playhouse: Reborn, Rennovated & Revitalized”

Bucks County Playhouse
Ranked #2 of 29 things to do in New Hope
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Bucks County Playhouse: Reborn, Rennovated & Revitalized”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

“Each night, when I go to sleep, I die. And the next morning, when I wake up, I am reborn.”
― Mahatma Gandhi

I have seen shows in the historic Bucks County Playhouse dating back to the 1970's. It was sad to see this historic landmark shut down. But like the bird of Phoenix, it rose from the ashes last year with new owners who dedicated themselves to once again make this theater a 'must see, must do' attraction in New Hope. It is fully renovated and better than ever. Great shows, wonderful talent, live music - it is a place to be embraced for all its charm and entertainment value. With the 'new' Bucks County Playhouse, I can skip the Broadway scene and visit New Hope, soak in all of its ambiance, shop, visit with the extraordinarily talented local artists, soak up the many historical attractions New Hope has to offer. And, least we forget, you have ventured into the equivalent of a gastronomical playground in New Hope and Lambertville with everything ranging from a chic coffee shop or specialty ice cream parlor to four & five star restaurants and everything in between. Welcome back and, as they say in the theater, "break a leg!"

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    46
    2
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Went to see Home For the Holidays. OMG so funny and entertaining! Very comfortable and cozy theatre. Highly recommend when visiting New Hope to catch a show..

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

A wonderful alternative to going to a large city venue to enjoy a live show and at a fraction of the cost. The playhouse is small and comfortable, and the location in New Hope offers a number of restaurants and local shopping within walking distance of the playhouse.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank songbird5212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
313 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Small and Intimate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

What a place to see a stage show. Up close and personal. The venue is terrific! It is located on the waterfront. Bar just outside the entrance. There are plenty of fine restaurants within walking distance.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We attended a play this fall at the Bucks County Playhouse. I was so happy to see how well restored it is. The play was excellent. We are lucky to have the Playhouse in our area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BethV536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bucks County Playhouse also viewed

 

Been to Bucks County Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing