We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Overnight Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Hope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olivia's Bridge Street Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 New Hope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Glad we chose to stay in New Hope rather than Lambertville - so much busier and more vibrant. The Stephan House is a curious combination of old meets new. The new part of the house with the roof terrace is only three years old, but you'd be hard pressed to tell amongst all the ephemera. But a warm welcome and a free run of the sitting room, lounge, breakfast room, fridge and roof terrace made up for it.
Warm and cool at the right times, although all the secondary air con and fans get in the way a bit. Bed was comfortable, room was quiet and dark, shower was hot and strong. All the things you need. Breakfast was varied and plentiful, with lots of home cooked choices to provide a good start to the day.
Well located for the bridge, bars, restaurants, the station, canal walks and all with on-site free parking.

Give it a try.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 289 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I love New Hope and decided to go for a mid-week getaway. We live about 25 miles away so it is a convenient drive from home. We had decided on the Stephan House because of a recommendation from friends of ours who stay there frequently. Shortly after we pulled in, Mike the manager greeted us at our car and offered to help us with our luggage.
After check in, he gave us a quick tour of the house's common areas before he showed us to our room. They have a comfortable living room with a television and a fireplace and a dining room that had an antique refrigerator.
The room we chose was the Williams room. It was clean, comfortable and not over decorated. It was a bit smaller than we anticipated but the balcony more than made up for it.
Breakfast in the morning was delicious. They describe it as a continental buffet but it had more than just cereal and bagels. There was quiche, freshly baked scones, croissants, fresh fruit , yogurt and a wonderful German apple cake baked by the owner and more.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robogirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The room was dark and mixed new junk and sad antiques. The breakfast was cold when supposed to be hot, the cold was luke warm or hot and all supermarket bought foods. Only when you ask is there ice available. No amenities at all to speak of and expensive too. The sitting room was stifling hot (granted it was a hot weekend) and when asked why the 3 ceiling fans in the room were not on, the inkeeper didn't know how to turn them on. Don't ask for the bicycles they advertise on their website because they don't have them anymore - they are all broken and in disrepair according to the inkeeper. If this is New Hope's best, I will not be staying in a B&B in New Hope in the future.

Room Tip: If you need light to see, ask for a room with a window that the shades work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donna167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend at this B&B. Breakfasts were beautifully set out, and the service was excellent. The room was lovely (and air conditioned which I did not expect) and everything was in walking distance (antique stores, the theater, and restaurants).There is even a Starbucks on the corner. The manager was extremely helpful and even recommended an excellent restaurant for dinner and made reservations for same. We just got home and I am ready to go back we had such a wonderful time. We plan to go back in a few months.

Adele & Jay

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife, daughter and I had the pleasure of staying at the Stephan House Inn for three days. We rented two rooms. The Inn is very attractive, and our rooms were large and comfortable. The manager, Michael, and his assistant, Joanne, were very helpful. We had to make some last minute adjustments to our plans, and they were very accommodating. We liked it so much we are returning in a few weeks! We would also recommend the town of New Hope, and the recently renovated Bucks County Playhouse.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The place we usually stay when we come up to NJ to visit family was booked, so we tried Stephan House. What a nice surprise this was. Great location, friendly, our room was really comfortable. We slept so well. I was surprised to see so many people at breakfast (I think there are about 8 rooms) as I never heard anything or anyone when we were in our room. The breakfast looked really great but we had breakfast plans unfortunately. I think this will be our new regular place when we come up to NJ/PA. Rate was reasonable too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryMK220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Another wonderful experience at The Stephan House. Michael and the staff go out of their way to make every guest feel at home. He made some great reccomendations for meals and shopping. The Stephan house has all the charm of an old Bed and Breakfast but with all the modern amenities like air conditioning and new baths. It's also located right in the center of New Hope. Cannot say enough nice things about this place and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The King Suite has a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejinks1034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Hope
0.4 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
257 reviews
4.3 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
1.7 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites New Hope-Lambertville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
135 reviews
16.4 mi away
Inn of the Dove - Bensalem
0 mi away
Porches on the Towpath
Porches on the Towpath
#3 of 19 in New Hope
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia's Bridge Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia's Bridge Street Inn

Address: 28 W Bridge St, New Hope, PA 18938-1303
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > New Hope
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in New Hope
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1817, Olivia's Bridge Street Inn is nestled alongside the canal in historic New Hope, Bucks County Pennsylvania. Less than a block from the intersection of Main and Bridge Streets, we invite you to park your car and your cares for the duration of your stay. Reflect in the serenity of the Delaware River, a walk on the historic canal towpath, or a ride on the New Hope Railroad. Enjoy antique shopping, art galleries, restaurants, breweries, and live music. Take advantage of Bucks County Playhouse, 5-Star fine dining, Bucks County hiking, biking, tubing on the Delaware, canoeing, Bucks County balloon rides, local Bucks County and Hunterdon County parks, specialty shopping in New Hope, and cultural institutions such as the Mitchner Museum. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing