We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Italian Cucina

Italian Cucina
Ranked #8 of 88 Restaurants in New Hope
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

An awesome Italian restaurant in the middle of New Hope. A group of 8 of us had seen a play at the Buck's County Playhouse. On my sons recommendation he had made a reservation at Italian Cucina. It's quite a small place that only seats 22 people. It reminded me of Sunday dinner at my grandmothers house, when I was a kid. The waitress told us what was being served that night, since there is no written menu. Everything was made to order, and delicious. Everyone at our table was satisfied and well fed. Joe the owner made frequent stops at our table to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. I will definitely be going back. You need reservations and it's byob.

Helpful?
Thank Njbearhunter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    28
    17
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Secret No More!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

For people who think Italian Cucina is a little secret at the end of an alley in New Hope - forget about it . It was busy with delicious treats coming out if Joe's kitchen including the salads, appetizers and entrees. And yes still no menus - none needed - Irena does a fine job telling you the nightly dishes.
Everything I'd home made and tasty - go and enjoy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
322 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Not even close in quality to the Blue Moose”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We went there with friends a few months ago.We decided to write this review now since we saw that this restaurant is voted 2nd only to the Blue Moose.This rating says more about the typical New Hope diner than it does about the food at the Cucina. The chef/owner there is a great host/entertainer but his sadly is a triumph of form over substance.He combines ingredients that should never be together(ravioli and apricots anyone?)and his execution of typical "Italian American" dishes is poor.If you want a decent meal in the area and cannot get into the Blue Moose ,walk across the bridge to Lambertville which has a selection of options.That is what any local will tell you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetiesPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stumbled upon this place while staying in New Hope/Lambertville for a few days! We walked in for dinner mid week and had probably the best meal of our trip! The owner/chef was so friendly and welcoming, even sharing his wine with us! His pasta was perfect and it was such a fun, casual but wonderful meal. We will definitely return on our next trip through the area!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank citygalJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cooking to order with a smile.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

The owner/chef/proprietor was gracious, welcoming, and more than willing to collaborate on reconstructing the menu by selecting ingredients that met a daunting list of dietary constraints. Think Italian cuisine without dairy, gluten grains, onions, or pork products. Joe was up for the challenge and skillfully and inventively prepared a meal by creatively using fresh vegetables, beef cooked to perfection, and sauces and garnishes. Yes, the place is small. Yes, we waited while each dish was made to order. Yes, Joe and his helper Sarah chatted with us amiably from ordering through desert. And yes, the cost of the meal was a mystery until the bill was presented. We had a great meal served by a great team at a reasonable price. It was a special night and a highlight of our trip.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JDM06488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italian Cucina also viewed

 
New Hope, Bucks County
New Hope, Bucks County
 
New Hope, Bucks County
New Hope, Bucks County
 

Been to Italian Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing