We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yawn!”

New Hope & Ivyland Railroad
Ranked #4 of 29 things to do in New Hope
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic train ride through the Pennsylvania countryside.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yawn!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

We took our kids on this rail ride and were underwhelmed. Slow train, limited sight seeing. Spend your time across the river in Lambertville instead.

Helpful?
Thank Bobrevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    87
    87
    44
    30
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks County, PA, USA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for kids.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

The train is a nice family thing to do for a day with kids. It drives through the backyards of some really nice homes.

Helpful?
Thank abeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at New Hope & Ivyland Railroad, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for riding our train and taking the time to share your experience. We place a great deal of value on the feedback we receive from everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Shopping and Strolling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

We love to take the day and just stroll the streets of this quaint town. Their art galleries have some fabulous finds too. And, of course, don't miss the restaurants, some with great views overlooking the Delaware River.

Helpful?
Thank cboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

new hope is cool to spend the day , the railroad trip is kinda expensive , but a must do at least once

Helpful?
Thank AnnamarieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at New Hope & Ivyland Railroad, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to ride our train. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, PA
Level Contributor
297 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Way too much money for a short ride”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

I like the idea of preserving history and it is a pleasant scenic ride - however the prices are ridiculous.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank brice2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at New Hope & Ivyland Railroad, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you for riding our train and taking the time to share your feedback. We take pride in preserving the history of our industry. In response to our prices....unfortunately, the expenses involved with restoring, preserving and operating antique railroad equipment to an exemplary level of present day safety compliance is very costly. We take every measure possible to keep the ticket fares as low as possible.

Our standard Hourly Excursion train ride lasts 45 minutes, round-trip. Our research has shown that this duration is most popular when taking all aspects into consideration. On occasion some find it to be too short, and occasionally others find it to be too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Hope & Ivyland Railroad also viewed

New Hope, Bucks County
 

Been to New Hope & Ivyland Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing