We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place! Our second year in a row!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Hope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Hope's 1870 Wedgwood Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #6 of 19 New Hope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love this place! Our second year in a row!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Last year we stayed at this Inn and we loved it so much we had to return this year. It is still just as wonderful. We even requested the same room at the Aaron Burr House. The owners are very sweet and even offered us an upgrade. They are so friendly and willing to help with anything. The breakfast is delicious and just perfect. This inn is in walking distance to all the great shops and restaurants in New Hope and Lambertville. We love it so much that we just can't imagine going anywhere else for a romantic getaway. Ps. The Inn doesn't have a pool on grounds, but for $15 per person/per day the owner will drive you to country club that has 4 pools. We did not go, but we liked having that option.

Room Tip: I would call the Inn and tell them what you are looking for.They will give you some options. The pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    42
    12
    13
    11
See reviews for
14
123
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The inn consists of two adjacent historic properties, the Wedgewood and the Umbley. We stayed at the Umbley in an amenities room which was spacious and well equipped, and filled with antique furniture including a queen-size sleigh bed, and window air conditioning, a must in the summertime. The properties are situated a short walk from downtown New Hope and feature gazebos and lovely gardens, as well as an impressive collection of wedgewood procelain and historic memorabilia. Breakfast, served inside or outside, was very tasty, with several hot and cold courses and wonderful breads. The inn-keepers, Karl and Nadine, were extremely friendly and helpful in recommending area attractions and restaurants, which include the wonderful antique shops in neighboring Lambertville, New Jersey, as well as the newly refurbished Bucks County Playhouse, an excellent summer theater. The New Hope area, originating as a grist mill center on the Aquatong River, played an important role during the American War for Independence and is near Washington Crossing Park at the Delaware River. This B&B provided an ideal short summer getaway for us, just an hour from Philadelphia and New York.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beenthere191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here because of the great location. It has an older feel, like most bed and breakfasts', but it was nice. We checked in around two and met with the inn keeper in the main office downstairs. The room is filled with brochures and exciting things to do around town. The inn keeper actually upgraded our room at no additional cost! ( cause it was a slow weekend ) We org booked the small room on the third floor but she put us in a room on the second floor that was slightly bigger. The room had a queen bed,small tv, couch, vanity and a small bathroom with a standup shower. It was clean and there was even mints and almond liquor in our room.
The main inn is a little more convienet because breakfast is served there which was ok. She offered coffee or tea, fruit bowl, which was not so fresh, and a breakfast quiche which was delicious.
If you stay at the Arron house it is a little closer to town, not by much, but you have to check in and check out at the main inn and go there for your breakfast as well.
We enjoyed our stay there and would def revisit!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We reserved 4 rooms for 3 nights for our bridge group. Nadine was very accommodating and made sure that there were 2 tables available in the dining area for us to use anytime we wanted to play bridge. The rooms were all very comfortable and the breakfast was good. The Inn is very convenient to all of the stores in the area as everything is just a short walk away. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are planning to come back next year to New Hope and Wedgwood Inn.

Room Tip: Room F has an extremely small area for the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laminva71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at the Wedgewood for Memorial Day weekend. The couch in our room was too lumpy to be comfortable. The linens are dated and the bathroom was ridiculously small. The common areas are very cluttered. An elderly gentleman sat on a chair in the reception area and it collapsed under him. The gardens are lovely and the breakfast staff is super friendly, and very helpful. I like other inns in the area much better.

Room Tip: We stayed in F...it was very noisy with street traffic. Our friend was up in the apartment, ugly fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justgotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I called myself surprising my husband with an overnight retreat MLK weekend. New Hope was recommended and Wedgwood was one of a few available b&b's close to town, so following the good reviews..I took a chance. Nadine was pleasant and down to earth over the phone and just the same in person. My husband and I are not necessarily "people" people, so reading the comments on the nicety of the hosts wasn't relevant but if its important to others we were very warmly welcomed. We stayed in the lavender room. Most important to us was the cleanliness. 5 stars! No old house smell. Bed linen was fresh, towels and cloths seemed the same, however we always bring our own. Room was large enough that my husband could stretch out in a high back chair and watch the game while I laid across the bed and read magazines. Peaceful, quiet and serene..just what I had hoped.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My partner and I wanted a short getaway from the city for the weekend, but we have a small puppy and needed a dog-friendly place to stay. The Wedgwood Inn had a small room in their adjacent Umbleby House on the ground floor that allowed pets, so we decided to give this place a try.

We arrived a little later in the evening, but the worker was really nice and welcoming, and settled us into our room. The room was a little more run down compared to the other rooms in the Umpleby House, but still clean, warm and really cute. It had its own separate entrance from the side so that you could let your dog out to do his business which was really convenient. There was a kitchen area with a bigfridge and freezer right next to our room where we could keep some groceries. The main area of the house was filled out old newspaper clippings and antiques and it made the whole place very cute and home-like. Our puppy settled in right away and went exploring all through the house! We peeked into several of the empty rooms, and they looked very comfortable and clean, especially the ones with the fancy hot tubs inside the rooms.

Breakfast was at 8:30-10am and was pretty delicious with pastries, cereal/granola and a main egg dish. The Inn is within walking distance to everything else in the small town as well. Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brosernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Hope
0.6 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
240 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
0.5 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Brick Hotel
The Brick Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtown
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Logan Inn
Logan Inn
#7 of 19 in New Hope
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fox and Hound Bed and Breakfast of New Hope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hope's 1870 Wedgwood Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hope's 1870 Wedgwood Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: New Hope's 1870 Wedgwood Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 111 West. Bridge Street, (County Road 179), New Hope, PA 18938-1452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > New Hope
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in New Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the vibrant river town and artists' colony of New Hope,Pennsylvania, yet set on 2 lovely landscaped acres of gardens and gazebos, New Hope's Wedgewood Inns offers upscale historic lodging combined with such modern amenities as 2 person Jacuzzi tub in bedroom, private porch or balcony, Wi-Fi, private bathrooms, AC,and cable tv combined with friendly and knowledgeable innkeepers. Wedgwood china rules at this gracious blue-colored Painted Lady Victorian that is set on 2 private, park-like acres and yet is only steps to the vibrant village square. Open year 'round and on the Express bus line from NYC, this gracious nationally-acclaimed inn has been consistently rated "Excellent" by AAA since 1982. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1870 Wedgwood Inn Of New Hope Hotel New Hope

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing