We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional B8B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Hope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Hope's 1870 Wedgwood Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #6 of 19 New Hope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2008

My wife and I have traveled all continents of the world and my favorite B&B is the Wedgewood Inn (and its sister Aaron Burr Inn both owned and operated by Carl and Dinie Glassman). The Aaron Burr is about a half block from the Wedgewood. Both Inns are right in the center of New Hope and a short walk to most of its main attractions. In each of the past 5 years, I have traveled from Minnesota to the New Hope area to observe all the azaleas and flowering trees in full bloom in historic and beautiful Bucks County PA. All of the rooms are very clean, tastefully furnished, and have comfortable mattresses. The breakfasts are also exceptional with a large bowl of fruit, freshly baked rolls, muffins and croissants, and quiche. The Glassman's are "hands on" proprietors and go out their way to assist you whenever you need it. The landscaping and flower beds at the Wedgewood (the product of Dinie's efforts) are delightful and offer several areas where you can sit and relax while planning your day ahead. If you are planning a trip to Bucks County, these B&Bs are a "don't miss" and I recommend that you make your reservation well in advance to guarantee the opportunity to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for New Hope's 1870 Wedgwood Bed and Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 195 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2008

We loved our room....Very romantic. There was a balcony off the room, fireplace and jacuzzi right in the room, spacious and it was all VERY, VERY CLEAN!!!! The owners, Dinie and Carl, go above and beyond to make you feel comfortable. The house also had a very historical and interesting backround.
We had a phenomenal stay!

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank Ann70Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

My husband & I had a fabulous time at The Wedgwood Inn. Innkeepers, Carl & Dinie ,were the most gracious hosts and the town of New Hope is simply charming! I highly recommend the seminar for future innkeepers. Carl is a tremendous history buff!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kitkatSouthJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

We travel the world extensively, yet we have kept returning for three decades to a place only 100 minutes from our home. What attracts globe-trotters to a nearby collection of B&Bs, and what keeps them coming back for so many years? The unique offerings of the Wedgwood Collection of Inns include (1) a quiet setting just steps away from a bustling town filled with boutiques, crafts, antiques, and a wide choice of delightful restaurants; (2) tastefully appointed and beautifully decorated rooms offering both comfort and coziness in a variety of styles; (3) wonderful breakfasts with freshly-baked rolls and muffins and croissants served in a bright and cheerful setting; (4) a rich, relaxing, and satisfying "high tea" every afternoon; (5) a little carafe of amaretto liqueur concocted from a secret recipe and placed at the bedside with chocolate mints every evening; (6) a folder of menus from dozens of local restaurants for perusal in the sitting rooms; (7) an upscale yet friendly and informal clientele with whom it is easy to strike up conversation and yet equally easy to ignore without offense; (8) a pair of innkeepers and their staff who are as warm and easy-going as family and yet as efficient and sophisticated as Relais & Chateaux managers; (9) invaluable cooperation in recommending and even reserving restaurants either during your stay or in advance; and (10) all this at eminently reasonable all-inclusive prices.

  • Stayed: December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FinickyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2008

My husband and I stayed for a weekend and could not have had a better time. We have stayed at other B&B with horrible experiences but the Wedgwood changed my mind. Everything from the staff to the decor was wonderful. We have recommended it to our friends and can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank xoxoNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2008

My wife and I have made yearly visits to the Wedgwood Collection of Inns for the past 12 years. We have found their accommodations, food, service, and ambience to be of extremely high quality. Friendly, helpful staff with good humor create a feeling of being welcomed home. This tastefully appointed Victorian inn is adorned by beautiful, artistically designed gardens. They are within walking distance to the village of New Hope, which makes their inn even more desirable and exceedingly convenient during tourist season. Their free easy-access high speed wireless internet connection is an added benefit for those who require this amenity. I am a world-traveler who was raised not far from New Hope. I know the surrounding area quite well and can tell you, without reservation, that the Wedgwood Inn is a rare, precious gem within the treasure chest that is known as New Hope. We are looking forward to our next visit with great excitement!

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank elcamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2008

I have been staying at the Wedgewood for years, and when I had the chance to book a stay there with my fiancee' I knew she'd love it as much as I do . . . and she did. We stayed in the Wedgewood's "K" room with the great four-poster bed, mini-balcony and fireplace at the end of December, and were so enchanted with the friendliness of the place, accommodations and breakfast in bed, that we decided to go back there for our honeymoon in February.

Our experience in February was just as delightful, and we're anxious to get back there again sometime soon. If you want a huge, soulless, chain hotel bed- and bathroom, go elsewhere. If you enjoy being pampered and can appreciate the relaxed Victorian ambience of the Inn, you won't find a more wonderful place than the Wedgewood to while away your time in New Hope.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hellertonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Hope
4.1 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
1.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
0.5 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Logan Inn
Logan Inn
#7 of 19 in New Hope
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fox and Hound Bed and Breakfast of New Hope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hope's 1870 Wedgwood Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hope's 1870 Wedgwood Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 111 West Bridge Street, (County Road 179), New Hope, PA 18938-1452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > New Hope
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in New Hope
Price Range: $75 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the vibrant river town and artists' colony of New Hope,Pennsylvania, yet set on 2 lovely landscaped acres of gardens and gazebos, New Hope's Wedgewood Inns offers upscale historic lodging combined with such modern amenities as 2 person Jacuzzi tub in bedroom, private porch or balcony, Wi-Fi, private bathrooms, AC,and cable tv combined with friendly and knowledgeable innkeepers. Wedgwood china rules at this gracious blue-colored Painted Lady Victorian that is set on 2 private, park-like acres and yet is only steps to the vibrant village square. Open year 'round and on the Express bus line from NYC, this gracious nationally-acclaimed inn has been consistently rated "Excellent" by AAA since 1982. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1870 Wedgwood Inn Of New Hope Hotel New Hope

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing