We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Hope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Phillips Mill
Ranked #10 of 19 New Hope B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We've stayed numerous times but dined either in town or in Lambertville and thought this time we would try the restaurant. What a horrible dining experience. We even invited several of our close friends to join us but we were so embarrassed by how we were treated that we will, unfortunately, never stay again.

We were a large group and they had us seated at 3 separate tables on the enclosed patio. Of course we asked if there was one long table but were told no. The hostess even argued with us saying she had told us we wouldn't be seated together at the time we made the reservation (untrue). Imagine hosting friends for dinner but then being seated at different tables? Fortunately my persistent boyfriend was able to get them to agree to put the 3 round tables together (how hard was that to come up with, really?). As soon as we sat down we were greeted by Jenna, our surly waitress who loudly and abruptly told us because we insisted on putting the tables together there wasn't enough room for her to serve us properly and we would have to pass each other's plates down. Not a big deal but the way she said it and the number of times she sighed loudly made it evident we were unwelcome. She barked the specials at us, passed down 3 baskets of bread (forget about asking for more or even water refills) and then disappeared for what was an unusually long time. The food was very good which makes writing this review all the more bittersweet. The joke was ultimately on us though because we realized Jenna didn't care whether she was nice or not - her 20% gratuity was baked into the bill.

There are so many other choices in New Hope and nearby Lambertville - restaurants that actually value its customers and whose staff is trained properly - why subject yourself and part with your hard earned money at a lowbrow establishment like this?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Agoldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Phillips Mill
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 69 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

We dined at the Inn at Phillips Mill with friends and the food was terrific as always. The Inn is beautiful and the French traditional menu was prepared perfectly and was innovative. Our complements to the chef. The service was a different story. The wait staff was inpatient, never smiled and inattentive to the point of being rude. In short: Beautiful place, great food but the wait staff needs to be sent to charm school.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

After reading the negative reviews on here, my boyfriend and I were skeptical to try this place. However, we did anyway & are so glad we did. The positives: it was BYOB, the atmosphere was fantastic (sit in the garden room if you have a choice) and the food was out of this world. Get the beef with blue cheese butter or the scallop entree. The only thing that was lacking was our waitress, who wasn't very attentive. She was knowledgable about the menu but did let our empty plates sit in front of us for a long time before taking them away. We also asked for a bucket of ice for
Our wine and she brought one from another table.. Instead of filling it with fresh ice, we got a bucket with cold water. I would definitely visit again, keeping my fingers crossed for a different waitress.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank TheTownBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The food was less than mediocre and the service was worse. Out of the 3 servers who had contact with us, only one of them was pleasant. We seemed to be a burden to the other two. I would NOT recommend this restaurant at all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank don t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Food was cold, waitress was extremely rude, inaccessible and insulting. I am easy going and patient, but have never been treated so badly in a restaurant. Too bad because 2 previous visits were very good. Good thing there are many other good choices. Again, stay away !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We heard that the food here was very good so I took my wife out to dinner here for her birthday. The restaurant is in a nice rural country setting and the restaurant looks much like a setting out of colonial America. (The building is a historic property) .
The cuisine was very good from the salad to the main dishes. My wife ordered the Scallops while I had the pork tenderloin. We knew in advance that the restaurant did not have a liquor license but that was no concern. What was a concern was that when I tried to order a Diet Coke they informed that they do not serve sodas. How about a Lemonade? No lemonade either. Water and Ice tea were the only soft drinks offered. For a restaurant that is highly rated they can't even supply a diet coke??? Finally after dinner I ordered a Cappuccino (its on the menu). "Sorry the espresso machine is out of order". We've dined at restaurants owned by world renowned chefs and they could always accommodate with a soft drink. What is so special about this place that they cannot accommodate soft drink orders?
Outside of the lack of soft drinks and espresso, the food (for this area) is certainly above average. Hopefully the owners will soon learn that you can do far better by attending to the small details as well as serving good food. There is no room for this type of annoyance at an establishment that is marketing itself as "upscale".

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank capemaytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Phillips Mill numerous times through out the years. While no one was ever warm and fuzzy (if you read even the favorable reviews this is a recurring theme), we never complained until now. We recently booked a room and dinner to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. When we arrived in the afternoon, we were taken to our room and it was immediately clear to us and the staff our air conditioner window unit wasn't working. It was 98 degrees that day, so you can imagine how hot the room was. We were told they would fix it, so my husband and I left for some antiquing and a cool place to have a snack. When we came back late afternoon, we went to our room to find it as hot as we had left it. Two more people came up to try and figure out what the problem was, but on one could fix it. We asked if there was another room available and were told there wasn't . We asked if there was another window unit that could replace the broken one, and were told they didn't have another one. Everyone that came into the room agreed the room was too hot to stay in. Reluctantly we decided we would have a much earlier dinner at the inn and make the long trek home. One of the staff came by our table and graciously offered dinner on the house for ruining our wedding anniversary. We thought this was so thoughtful. Well, there was one little hitch we never saw coming. When our refund for the room (you have to pay in advance, personal checks only) wasn't forthcoming after 2 weeks, we called to see when it would be sent out. After many phone calls, we were eventually informed we weren't entitled to a refund because they had given us a free meal. They then begrudgingly agreed to send us a check for $10, to cover the cost difference between the room and the dinner. We're still waiting. Our anniversary was ruined, we are out the cost of our room, and out the additional expense of $75 for our pet sitter that we had to pay. I have never been treated so shabbily and rudely! Will never go back even if they offer a free room!,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
20  Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Hope
4.4 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
1.6 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
246 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
1.6 mi away
Logan Inn
Logan Inn
#7 of 19 in New Hope
203 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fox and Hound Bed and Breakfast of New Hope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Phillips Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Phillips Mill

Address: 2590 River Road, New Hope, PA 18938
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > New Hope
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in New Hope
Price Range: $100 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Inn At Phillips Mill Hotel New Hope

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing