We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 Enjoyable Days - comfort, great food and hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvest Moon Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harvest Moon Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 New Holland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“3 Enjoyable Days - comfort, great food and hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at Harvest Moon this past weekend and thought it was a really well-run B&B and a great base for touring around Lancaster County. We stayed in the two-story Gala suite, which was comfortable and nicely furnished, as was the whole B&B. It was a great value to have that second floor sitting area, and the nice, spacious bathroom with exposed beams, tile floor and oriental rug. Carl is a great chef and each morning made delectable breakfasts (such as omelets with goat cheese, strawberry crepes, poached eggs drizzled with basil oil) all accompanied by plenty of fresh fruit, homemade muffins, plus other heathy offerings. He has an easy-going approach to meeting any dietary preferences such a gluten free, vegetarian, etc. He knows the area very well, and gave us great tips for dining, shopping and exploring. We had brought our bikes and spent four days doing various bike rides around Amish country, which was a very fun way to see beautiful farmland and get a sense of the area. (Check out Lancaster Bike club online for route maps; they have rides of different lengths and difficulty) and we found Harvest Moon a good base for getting to the starting points of our rides, as well as other exploring and dining. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maranat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    18
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
94
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Carl was an excellent host (did we mention he is also a chef?). Helpful suggestions to enjoy the area together with wonderful breakfasts. The Harvest Moon will appeal to those who like the idea of a 1909 built home full of antiques. We certainly enjoyed out time there and would recommend the Harvest Moon.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We felt very welcomed by host Carl to the lovely Harvest Moon Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in the two story Gala Room after Carl upgraded us. The second level has a very spacious bathroom, while the bedroom level has a pleasant balcony overlooking the street. We sat out there several times. Carl's breakfasts were delicious with lots of fresh fruit and a special hot dish each morning. A pancake with a semifreddo topping was something new and very tasty. Carl has developed the large town back yard into a beautiful garden with many unusual blooming perennials and a showy white wisteria that was in full bloom during our visit (plus a cute bunny in a hutch). We used the bed and breakfast as a base for a canoe trip on the Conestoga River. Our seven-mile paddle took about 3-1/2 hours and carried us through farmland and a few riffles. My husband rode his bike from the end point, where he dropped the car, back to our put-in at a small park a few miles from Harvest Moon. We had one short portage at Zook's Mill, but I would recommend both the river and Harvest Moon as a base (ample rear parking) for a similar mild-mannered trip.

Room Tip: Be aware that a room at the front of the house will have street noise if the windows are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Only one night (our first here), but we'll come back. Must see Carl's huge collection of old glass ornaments at Christmas. Very gracious hosts, and they know the area well. Rooms are charmingly decorated with antiques. The mattresses are modern, though, and quite comfortable, as are the cozy featherbed comforters.

Special note to gardeners: there are fabulous and really cheap nurseries in this area. Carl is a gardener himself and knows them well. Thanks for the plants, Carl. They're doing just fine in their new home. (He's also a skilled chef, and your breakfast will certainly be a highlight of your stay.)

Room Tip: Every room is fine. We took the smallest and enjoyed it, but we were able to see all of them. Each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skippack
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

This visit was our first ever in a B&B, and we fell in love with the place right away!!! Carl, the owner, and the food and decor were out of this world. We had such a good time meeting the other guests, too. They had stayed there before and were adorable people! We felt completely at home. Carl's kind welcome, presence and service were precious sweet and we can't wait to go back there!!!

Room Tip: Your host has the best advice to give.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blade-Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Old time decor, great breakfast and a friendly inn keeper. Enjoyed meeting Carl the innkeeper and his wife. Stayed in the Braeburn 2 story suite included king bed downstairs, fireplace, tv, living room and bathroom upstairs. Bathroom included a jacuzzi tub, really enjoyed that too. Spent the weekend exploring Lancaster county which was pretty too.

Room Tip: Braeburn room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SassyLadyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

My first B&B - and addicted now - my overnight stay was fantastic - loved the place; the room was amazing, antique filled, and and beyond expectations in room size !

Carl was a great host !
Wish I could have stayed long; definitely looking forward to a weekend visit away from the city !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Holland
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Amish Country
Comfort Inn Amish Country
#1 of 3 in New Holland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
11.7 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
15.2 mi away
Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast
4.1 mi away
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Artist's Inn and Gallery
#1 of 1 in Terre Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Moon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Moon Bed and Breakfast

Property: Harvest Moon Bed and Breakfast
Address: 311 E Main St, New Holland, PA 17557-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > New Holland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in New Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harvest Moon Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Lancaster County lies the romantic Harvest Moon Bed and Breakfast; a chef owned, turn of the century Inn filled with the senses of yesteryear. Enjoy gracious Pennsylvania Dutch style hospitality along with a gourmet breakfast,join us for one of our culinary demos or tours or simply begin your day of exploring the Amish countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Harvest Moon Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing