We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy With The Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Shrewsbury
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Freedom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2008

We spent three nights at the Hampton Inn and liked it even more than expected. The room was extremely clean and updated. The pillow top mattress and the night light in the bathroom were extra-nice touches and helped to make our stay very comfortable. Staff were pleasant and helpful throughout the property. The breakfast area is clean, spacious and well-maintained. There is always a hot selection in the morning, such as cheese omelet, or biscuits and eggs. In addition, there is a fresh fruit salad offering plus the more typical pastries, toast, and muffins. I really like the fact that coffee was available throughout the day. It was relaxing to have a cup between activities, while sitting in the lobby area, which is appointed with very comfortable sofas and chairs. There is free computer access. Our family group occupied a total of six rooms, and there was not a complaint to be heard from anyone. The proximity of two major chain restaurants made eating out convenient when we didn't have the energy to explore further, and also placed us near enough to the more local stores and restaurants that it was easy to locate whatever we needed. This would be a very dependable and pleasant place to stay for just about any traveler.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KayRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 422 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2008

When we were on I-83, we saw that there was a Hampton Inn in Shrewsbury (we love Hampton Inns), we stopped. When we checked in, there was an old, dusty smell. The lobby was nice and clean, however.

When we went up to the room, we found a clean, well equipped room. The smell was gone! It didn't have a good view. It just showed the pool wing. Also, the front desk lady didn't give us an internet card. On the sign, it said they had hi-speed internet.

When I went to bed, I could faintly hear the trucks on I-83, but it wansn't bad.

Continental breakfast was good, but cold. I'm glad we spend 1 night only.

I would not reccmomend this hotel to business travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank estrange11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2007

This was a very nice motel. Very clean and comfortable. The only reason I didn't rate it as excellent, was because the breakfast was a little lacking. All in all a great place to stay.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank athruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

Very nice hotel. Very very clean and elegant. As you arrive in the evening they had warm delicious cookies at the front desk.
The free breakfast in the morning was a plus, especially the hot eggs. Very modern rooms.The bed was very comfortable. The pool was nice and clean. Ruby Tuesday is right next door (in walking distance literally a one minute walk) they deliver to the room or you can walk right over have a drink at the bar and take your food back to the room. They also have free internet access at the kiosk in the front lobby. Go and visit Naylor Vineyard -
it was only about a 10 minute drive.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank pooch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2007

We stayed here for one night after visiting Hershey Park. It was somewhere between 45 minutes to an hour away from Hershey. We visited Baltimore the next day and this property was on our way.

We travel quite a bit and usually book Hampton Inn's and have never been disappointed. We don't like to stay at hotels that allow pets in the rooms and generally speaking all of the Hampton Inn's we have stayed at have been pet free properties.

This property is the nicest Hampton Inn we've ever stayed in. The lobby area is large and decorated beautifully. The rooms are large and the beds are very comfortable.

Would definately stay at this property if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OfcSupport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2007

All Hampton Inn's should be this nice. This is very close to a top tier Hampton Inn. You will not go wrong staying here. I stayed when Towson/Hunt Valley, MD hotels were booked, and found myself coming back a number of times. Why? Nice quality and good rates, even though I was having to drive extra distance to commute into the project I was working on. While there aren't a ton of local food choices, Ruby Tuesday's and Cracker Barrel are right at the hotel, so grab a bite or some takeout from a nearby Chinese restaurant and enjoy the quiet of Shrewsbury. Hotel is just off the interstate, but very quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SeekWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2006

i stayed at this hotel last night. (christmas) when i went in to check in. the girl at the front desk said she didn't have my reservations in her computer. and that she had no rooms available. even though there were only 7-8 cars in the whole parking lot when we pulled up. i quickly got on the computer in the hotel lobby to retrieve my confirmation information. then she informed me that the elevator was out of service. and booked me a room on the third floor. (the hotel has three floors) it was a pain walking up and down the stairs. but overall the hotel was very clean and in great condition. for $100.00 the desk and bed in the room were above average. i enjoyed the indoor pool. i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank snook3133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Freedom
15.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham York
11.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn York
Hampton Inn York
#3 of 26 in York
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton York
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites York South
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Shrewsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Shrewsbury

Address: 1000 Far Hills Dr, New Freedom, PA 17349-8433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Freedom
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Freedom
Price Range: $111 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Shrewsbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Pennsylvanian paradise in Shrewsbury.Welcome to the Shrewsbury Hampton by Hilton, set in the heart of Shrewsbury, Pennsylvania. Within just a few minutes of arriving at this Southern York County hotel, you can be taking a brisk hike down a former railroad bed, sampling the wares of a local vineyard or playing a challenging round of golf. The area offers a long and fascinating history to explore - dating back all the way to 1739. The countryside around our hotel in Shrewsbury is graced with historic sites and rich farmland to explore.Stay at this comfortable Shrewsbury hotel and experience true hospitality. Enjoy a range of top amenities to make your stay that little bit more comfortable. Start the day with Hampton's free hot breakfast or simply grab an On the Run(R) Breakfast Bag, available Monday to Friday, to take with you.Swim laps in the large indoor pool or work out with a range of cardiovascular machines in the fitness center. Stay on top of work in the fully equipped business center or host meetings in our 744 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space. Discover a fine standard for hotels in Shrewsbury, PA when you stay at the Shrewsbury Hampton by Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Shrewsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Shrewsbury Hotel New Freedom
Hampton Inn New Freedom
New Freedom Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing