We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Shrewsbury
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Freedom
Certificate of Excellence
Current city
1 review
“Not bad”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a group event at this hotel. There is no restaurant at the hotel, but that's ok, the guests seemed to like the continental breakfast, and no one complained about the rooms, they are clean. The only real complaint is that the person helping to organize the group, she made a big deal about wanting to release rooms because she claimed there were 2 other big groups at the same time as ours. Well, don't you know that there were rooms still available anyway around our dates, so not sure why she could not have accomodated those guests to our group rate, but whatever, I guess hotels do not do that. I did try to be very gracious in my dealings with her, I am not sure that everyone in my position is or would be the same way, it didn't seem like the woman cared much about that, or appreciated it. I guess if I had it to do over maybe I wouldn't be so nice. (Again, our event was before October 2012, but that's as far back as I can go in posting this review.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 530AnonYmous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    79
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
152
106
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Went to the area to do research on our family history. The location was perfect. Hotel was clean, the staff friendly, the breakfast very good. There was a Fridays restaurant next to our parking lot, which was very nice. I would stay there again. It was very easy to spot off the interstate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank matthewandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

There must not be too many options for hotels in Shrewsbury, PA which is why the travel sites I normally use to book hotels did not offer any great discounts when compared to the hotel's rate. For what I paid, I've booked rooms in Times Square or the Financial District in NYC...so I don't think it was worth the price. That being said, the hotel was nice. The exercise room only had a treadmill and a elliptical...luckily, I was the only person in the exercise room on Saturday morning...hate to be a business traveler trying to get a work out in before going off to a meeting. The breakfast buffet was not what I expected, luckily there is a Cracker Barrel in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel was very nice and everthing was fine except for our shower - the head was broken and 4 of us tried to get in a shower with a very low output of water. When I mentioned it to the staff - so it could be fixed for the next guests, they were very responsive and take the 100% satisfaction very seriously. Despite that problem - would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Charles, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hampton Inn Shrewsbury, Pa is my home away from home whem visiting family or friends. Recently renovated, always clean. Staff is courteous, and most important, always happy and smiling. The beds are the most comfortable of any hotel I've ever slept in from Pa to Europe and back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanoka Harbor, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great hotel, beds were so comfy we didn't want to get up. For me it's so important to have microwave and refrigerator in room, especially with traveling with child. We loved the pool and hot tub. Hotel was perfect!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great for a traveling family: 2 queens and a fold out couch. The sheets were crisp and the beds were firm. The Continental breakfast was clearly better than most similar competitors. While the cost (at about $150) was more than we usually pay, it was late and the kids were tired and we just decided to try Hampton. After several nights at an Econolodge and Comfort Inn, this was a definite 'upgrade'. Shrewsbury is in the middle of nowhere, but I would definitely stay again. they even have a gas grill outside the lobby if truckers or construction guys want to go buy a steak and cook it up themselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Freedom
11.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton York
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites York South
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York
21.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore North / Timonium
19.4 mi away
Residence Inn Baltimore Hunt Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Shrewsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Shrewsbury

Property: Hampton Inn Shrewsbury
Address: 1000 Far Hills Dr, New Freedom, PA 17349-8433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Freedom
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Freedom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Shrewsbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Pennsylvanian paradise in Shrewsbury.Welcome to the Shrewsbury Hampton by Hilton, set in the heart of Shrewsbury, Pennsylvania. Within just a few minutes of arriving at this Southern York County hotel, you can be taking a brisk hike down a former railroad bed, sampling the wares of a local vineyard or playing a challenging round of golf. The area offers a long and fascinating history to explore - dating back all the way to 1739. The countryside around our hotel in Shrewsbury is graced with historic sites and rich farmland to explore.Stay at this comfortable Shrewsbury hotel and experience true hospitality. Enjoy a range of top amenities to make your stay that little bit more comfortable. Start the day with Hampton's free hot breakfast or simply grab an On the Run(R) Breakfast Bag, available Monday to Friday, to take with you.Swim laps in the large indoor pool or work out with a range of cardiovascular machines in the fitness center. Stay on top of work in the fully equipped business center or host meetings in our 744 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space. Discover a fine standard for hotels in Shrewsbury, PA when you stay at the Shrewsbury Hampton by Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Shrewsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Shrewsbury Hotel New Freedom
Hampton Inn New Freedom
New Freedom Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing