We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveler rating
318
92
17
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
318
92
17
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscracker barrelhome depotgreat place to staypool and hot tubwafflesi highly recommend this hotelcomplimentary breakfastoff the highwaythe hotel is cleaneasy accesswould stay here againnice stayyork countyexcellent hotelup to datechecking inconvenient location
Filter
Updating list...
410 - 415 of 439 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Have stayed here many times over the years.. with the new renovations and updates added to the already great hotel, it's now even better. Fireplace in the lobby, super hot tub, fitness room, and even a newly added hotel store. Breakfasts are always great and the staff is the very best!
I have stayed here for business and pleasure. If you travel Thurs, Fri or Sat you can visit the Amish Marketplace. Some unique and great antique shops only blocks away and you can spend a whole day walking Main Street Shrewsbury. Close drives through some scenic low mountain roads to nearby other towns of interest. 2 fine restarants in walking distance with others only blocks away.
Hit this location on a Fri, Sat or Sun and you can have fun with the two gazillion yard sales that seem to go on most of the year.
Truly a great little "getaway" location for some nice downtime!
Hats off to Matt and his staff for always providing excellence! Have stayed enough times that most staff greats me by name when checking in!

Room Tip: East side provides better views but both sides are airy and quiet. Splurge and ask for the two room suite!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLouie, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Shrewsbury, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you so much for such a nice review!! We are pleased that you have continued to enjoy your stays with us. Also very happy that you shared all the things that you know and love about our hotel and the area. Let us know next time if there are any new places that may you have not tried. Thank you! Please come back and visit us again soon!! Stop by the desk and say hello! Warm Regard ~ Gretchen Louie , Sales Director 717-235-9898

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Clean and comfy, great views too. This wasn't a planned visit (serious car trouble), but it was made easier by having a great place to stay, and being able to walk over to Ruby Tuesday for dinner and Cracker Barrel for breakfast...they're that close. I'd say Hampton Inn is the best choice in Shrewsbury, but being unfamiliar with the area, they might also be the only choice - it was the only obvious hotel in the immediate area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the "valley" - you'll see what I mean when you get there.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLouie, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Shrewsbury, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you so much for such a nice review!! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us on such short notice. Hope that we made the car troubles better. It is nice having restaurants with in walking distance. I hope that next time you may be in the area that you get a chance to try our On the House Hot Breakfast. Thank you! Please come back and visit us again soon!! Stop by the desk and say hello! Warm Regard ~ Gretchen Louie , Sales Director 717-235-9898

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Nice room but a little pricey. The kids enjoyed this hotel . The pool was great and it tired them out so they slept like little angels. Would stay here again if I had to as I said the price was a little on the high side. If people are not traveling I know why.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This property and the staff are wonderful. It is clean and well cared for even though they are under-going a remodel. My issue - which the manager confirmed that when booking online it is difficult to discern - that this hotel is listed as being in New Freedom, but is not. It's 4 miles away up a huge hill and across multiple busy highway interchange intersections. I was riding the York Heritage Rail Trail with my 2 kids, ages 16 & 12, and wanted to make it a 2 day trip so I booked this hotel thinking I would have to navigate a small town to get from the trail to the hotel property. If you are riding the trail please don't book this hotel - it is just too far away and scary traffic besides. There is a B&B right on the trail in Railroad called Jackson House B&B. So the hotel is great if you are driving a car and need a place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbbyR1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We arrived late to this hotel and it was a very easy checkin. We will admit that we normally stay at Holiday Inn/Priority Club brand hotels but there were no available rooms in the area. This hotel was a pleasant surprise. The lobby was under construction but that was not a problem. We got to our room and we were extremely pleased. The bathroom was nice and was stocked with toiletries that are normally at the front desk if needed. There was a 'living room' and separate bedroom so the kids and I were able to go to bed while my husband watched a movie. Breakfast the next morning was nice. We did not eat much as we were in a hurry but we were able to grab items for the kids to eat en route to our destination.
The room was clean, the front desk associate was very pleasant, even late at night, and the rate for the room was very reasonable. We highly recommend this hotel if you are ever in the area or just need to stop to rest for the night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btandnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews