We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“big in the small town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bonkey's

Bonkey's
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in New Freedom
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Freeland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“big in the small town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

You can't find a better place to get a snowball or ice cream during the summer months. May have to wait in line but well worth it.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank freeland123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    8
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ice Cream and Snowballs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Bonkey's is the only place in town to get a snowball (not Italian ice). They have every flavor and great prices. The park is right behind this place too so it's a good stop on the way to play!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We love this place. It is walking distance from our home, and a great after dinner treat. Their selection of snowballs and ice cream is extensive. They have something for everyone here. The prices are great and anything from the huge menu is fantastic. They will also make any combination that you want. If is not already on the menu, ask for it and they will create it. They get really busy during the summer months, so its sometimes packed, but worth the wait!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crystl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Freedom, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun food - neighborly atmosphere - soooo many choices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

An easy walk from the Heritage Rail Train in New Freedom, Bonkey's offers snowballs and their own hand dipped ice cream and soft serve ice cream. They make sundaes and milkshakes with your choice of ice cream. The ice cream flavors include some exotic twists like Dulce de Leche. My favorite is mango italian ice. My husband loves the Great Googly Moogly which has chocolate, caramel and Whoppers. My daughter loves Cookie Monster which is, of course, blue and has crushed oreos and chocolate chip cookie dough. My son likes Blue Lagoon which is blue and has swirls of marshmallow with sprinkles. They also have a good assortment of candies - like giant candy buttons and yard long bubble gum.

Part of the fun of a trip to Bonkey's is sitting outside chatting with neighbors and friends.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dshelley0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bonkey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing