We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in New Cumberland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay....”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have to start by saying the gentleman at the front desk was great but it went down hill after that. We were unsure of the hotel but we were getting desperate for a room and no one else had any available. So I paid and we went to the building. The moment we walked in it had a musty smell. We then went to the room (this was before bringing in our luggage) and the musty smell was even worse. We pulled back the sheets and there were stains and the sheets themselves were inside out. After the smells and the stains we felt the better option was to keep driving and keep looking so I went back to the desk thanked them and left. They were apologetic but cleaniness is king when it comes to hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davecnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcumberland, General Manager at Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
We are still attempting to determine which room you may be referring to. Most, if not all, of our rooms are updated, clean, and fresh upon check in. We take a lot of pride in keeping our guests happy. Please, call us, if you care to, between the hours of 8am-4pm and ask for a manager. We'd be pleased to offer you a discount off your next stay, so that you can see for yourself why so many of our guests do enjoy their stay with us and return year after year.

Thank you,
Nick Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    53
    61
    49
    40
See reviews for
119
32
32
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Owings
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This room was old feeling and the bathroom was so small you could not shut the door if you were sitting on the toilet first. the sheets were too small for the bed and did not stay on, and the mattress was stained and dirty. Breakfast is over a 9am on the weekend, Thats way to early.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcumberland, Owner at Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and submitting this review. We have remodeled the 2nd floor of the hotel and are currently working on the 1st floor so if you return the next time you're in the area you will be pleasantly surprised.

Thank you
Nick Patel - Hotel Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattawamkeag, Maine
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Not very impressed but I only was there 4 days TG, none of the exterior doors were secured anyone could walk in, hallways smelled musty and of cigarettes, room was a non smoking room but smelled of stall cigarette smoke they tried masking it with sprays but it didn't work since it was most likely in the carpet. The place needs a serious updating and bed wasn't all that comfortable. Seems to be a lot of construction workers temporary workers staying there which is usual for low cost motels during construction season.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fireeater77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcumberland, General Manager at Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
We are sorry to hear of such an unpleasant experience. We do a lot to ensure our guests enjoy their stay here. Lately, we've even renovated most of our rooms, with the remaining ones due to be renovated shortly. Please contact our property and we'd be happy to offer you a discount to stay again, and show off all the changes we've made recently.

Thank you, Nick Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I got a bad impression as soon as we pulled into the lot. A large group of people were sitting in front of one of the buildings in lawn chairs, drinking and smoking. The buildings are not secure. anyone can just walk on in. The hallways are very poorly lit. It looks very run down and way outdated. Our room had dirty carpet, dirty sheets. It looked like blood on the wall between one of the beds and the night stand. There were spider corpses under the glass in the picture frames above the beds. Our 2nd night there, I had to go down to the office to ask of extra towels and wash cloths. It was me, hubby and our two kids. The maid left us 3 towels and 2 wash cloths. When I told the desk clerk this, she asked for my room number, looked on a piece of paper and rudely told me that the maid did leave us 3 wash cloths so she was only giving me 1. What a bunch of crap. I told her there was only 2 but she flat out refused to give me enough for us to each have one to bathe with. That alone is reason why I will NEVER stay at another Days Inn EVER! To be so rude and stingy with the towels. The beds are lumpy and the pillows are flat. My kids begging to go swimming so I took them to the pool one day. The pool was filthy. Beetles were all over the pool, inside and out. The pool looked like it had not been cleaned out in months. There was alot of grass, dirt and bugs inside the pool. The whole place is disgusting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelrenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Cumberland
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus New Cumberland Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
#4 of 13 in New Cumberland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn New Cumberland - Harrisburg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisburg West
4.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Cumberland
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New...
#2 of 13 in New Cumberland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South

Property: Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South
Address: 353 Lewisberry Rd, New Cumberland, PA 17070-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in New Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn New Cumberland
New Cumberland Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing