We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Prime Rib”
Review of Coakley's Restaurant & Pub - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Coakley's Restaurant & Pub
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Americana and Irish Cuisine in a casual dining atmosphere or a pub environment. Wide variety menu with daily chef's specials and regular nightly offerings. Great night life/bar atmosphere, with our main bar, game room and J. Thomas O'malley, Tobacconist, smoking and cigar bar. Outdoor seating in the summer
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Prime Rib”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you like Prime Rib you have to try this restaurant. We were there for a party with my God daughter and this Irish dancing troup came in and danced for us. It was a great experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bamsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    9
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Coakley's is overpriced and the food is pretty poor. It's typical bar food with zero flavor and originality. I even tried the special of Crab Capellini thinking it could be good but it was overcooked pasta with very little sauce, a small portion of crab and vegetables. Definitely not worth $18.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CityGirl53156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, Owner at Coakley's Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for your review. This response is probably overdue, but I wanted to make sure the problems you pointed out were permanently addressed. We have a new chef, Jeff Utzman, who comes to us with years of executive chef experience and knowledge. In the short time he has been here, he has created four new menus, countless new dishes and brought consistency to the kitchen. I would like to invite you to come back and try us again so you can see the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg pa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What has happened?”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We used to come here all the time, (It Was on My List~~~ of Top 5 Places to Go!!) then we were here on Sunday...maybe, it was because it was a Sunday or the Roads outside...which, are quite disgusting. But, I don't get it...we had Lousy Service!! No one was there, But, Us! The bartender, who waited on us, was ???? I do not know what? I guess, she couldn't be bothered...one guy server, had a table on the other side, then, they left, (when they were done!). Another couple came in later & They Had to Ask for a Menu!!! Ordering finger foods, plus Wings, I had to ask for Napkins...which, is Very unusual for this place...they are usually on Top of Everything! Will Not Be Back!!!!!!!!!!!!
I don't get this area:: they want a tip...for what...I gave her 20%, because I felt sorry, Sad as it is...I tip 20% everywhere!, because the Service was Great! But, in the Harrisburg area, I tip for Pitty!!! of Ignorance!!!!!!!!! We have traveled "All over the World" & yet, this area, does not get it!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank travellsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Definite improvement”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stopped by for a late lunch on the 16th and was pleasantly surprised. The burger I ordered was awesome. Vast improvement. We also visited in January and had the steak and lobster special, really good....and Tim talked me into dessert which was really good...........kudos on your improvements.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Freda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect family gathering”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went here for Easter dinner with the family. Service was excellent, food was excellent, large portion sizes. My daughter got the surf and turf, it came with 2 full size lobster tails and steak, didn't know how they could of made any money off of such a large portion size but was very pleased with the overall experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lite1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coakley's Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing