We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Dirty Motel - Just GROSS!!!”
Review of Motel 6 Harrisburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Harrisburg
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
“Really Dirty Motel - Just GROSS!!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed here for one night and really thought about immediately leaving after I opened the door to the room. But, I really needed a few hours of sleep.

The floor was not vacuumed and there were pistachio shells next to the bed. The sheets were stained as were the pillow cases. GROSS!!!!

The staff was friendly but that could not make up for the ghetto like atmosphere. The place really needs a paint job.

I can live with a small room and no frills but the room needs to be clean. This was just awful. I even found some kind of dead bug in the sheets and a few hairs...

Don't even think of staying here. It also had a weird smell.

This was a zero!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    21
    14
    26
See reviews for
28
15
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is the cheapest hotel in the Hershey Park area!!! The room was clean!!! The outdoor pool was small however great for small kids. Not all the rooms have microwaves and fridges. You must request those rooms when booking. We had a cooler and a small table top grill which worked out great because our room did not have a microwave or a fridge. There's a small grassy area in the back of the hotel so we fired up the grill there. The beds were comfortable. Easy access on and off the highway. About 20 minutes away from Hershey Park. The people at the front desk were nice. They ran out of wash clothes, so bring a few extra, we only had two. They did supply enough towels for four people. It's not the Ritz Carlton by any means; however, it served it's purpose.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peaches050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Except for the crazy shower temperature going back and forth, I find this a perfectly suitable place to stay. It's not fancy, but it's clean, friendly, quiet, and very convienent. Behind the motel was a great place to walk my dog and there was plenty of well-lit parking. The bed was comfortable and the room smelled "neutral". I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Pet friendly!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bynkels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

While in no way "splendid", this Motel 6 is certainly good enough to spend the night for folks visiting nearby Hershey Park (which turned out to be about as much fun as a day at the DMV when the air conditioning breaks down) or who are just looking for a cheap place to crash for the night on the I-76 Pennsylvania Turnpike near Harrisburg. As of this writing, it's the cheapest Motel 6 in the area. So, while it is a little run down, threadbare and even a bit grimy at the edges, our room was clean enough, free of any "live entertainment", and that little outdoor pool open til 10 PM is a real treat for restless roadweary kids. If you're staying here, you should definitely chow down at John's Diner just up the street. It's a superb place to grab a bite on the road. The best deals are probably either the hot roast beef or hot turkey sandwiches, both under $10. Both serve you up a hearty portion of actual real meat--not that formed pressed syntho-coldcuts stuff often found elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilgemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Actually stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, most on our trip. I like what another reviewer said, you get what you pay for. This is a very inexpensive hotel and it is very basic. The beds and carpet are old, but decent. It had a fridge and a microwave. It was perfect for us as we were out all day and just slept there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Packerfancheesehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I am usually not a picky person at all as I only stay at hotel rooms to crash for a few hours, so as long as the hotel room is clean and things are well kept, i am satisfied...this hotel room how ever has got to be the tinest room I have ever been to before. The room was pretty simple and for some reason kinda depressed me. Over all yes, it seemed clean, and there was no issues, so once again, you pay for what you get.
P.S. We didnt find any bed bugs and didnt have any issues the one night we spent there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank POLLITOS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morganville NJ
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Small but very clean room; less than 35 dollars and 3 for wifi.
Manager made sure I got wifi working. Nice modernized shower and working elevator. As I was traveling with just a dog would have accepted about anything. very close to I-83 yet set back against woods with lots of grass for dog walking.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogtired2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Cumberland hotels
0.1 mi away
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
#6 of 14 in New Cumberland
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn New Cumberland - Harrisburg South
0.4 mi away
Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus New Cumberland Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Cumberland
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New...
#1 of 14 in New Cumberland
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Harrisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Harrisburg

Property: Motel 6 Harrisburg
Address: 200 Commerce Dr, New Cumberland, PA 17070-2499
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Harrisburg 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Motel-6, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 Harrisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 New Cumberland
Motel Six New Cumberland
New Cumberland Motel Six
New Cumberland Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing