We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump! Felt like the setting for a horror/slasher movie!”
Review of Budget Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Budget Inn
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We made reservations online as it seemed like a resonably priced hotel that took pets. We had been to the Rodeway inn in Ocean City and that was nice so we assumed this hotel would be okay as well. What a shock! We checked in and took one look at the room and high tailed it back to the office to ask for a refund. Our room had a bad smell, and our view was a propane tank right next to the window. We booked queen beds on line, but were told we would have to take double beds. We had to park next to several construction trucks and walk through a crowd of young men (contractors who were hanging out in front of their rooms drinking beer) We were given a room in the back, away from the rest of the rooms full of construction crew contractors that seemed to have booked the entire front of the hotel, but several of them were hanging out in the walkways by our room as well. Gave me the creeps and did not feel safe at all especially with a 12 yr old daughter. We tried to log into the internet to look up other hotels in the area to get a new room, but the internet connection was too weak to be able to use. The desk clerk said "oh yeah, we got a continental breakfast, but its just donuts in a box and it sucks so dont bother" when we picked up the key, so that should have be a warning. We had two small dogs, and the clerk said the only other place near by that would take pets was another hotel that we would not want to go to because of "them mexicans" staying there! Could not believe this woman- felt like we were in a bad movie and could not wait to get the heck out of there! Thankfully the clerk gave us a full refund. We drove across the street to the Holiday Inn and got a beautiful plush room overlooking the pool for only $20 more a night than we would have paid for our rodeway inn room. Run do not walk away from this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pugm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Budget Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2009

The rooms where nice and clean execpt the bathroom could use some fixing up.But the maid came bursting into our room without knocking and was going through our personal garabge!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlers_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Im schoked to hear such comments from the previous travelers. I had a wonderful stay here at the Rodeway Inn in New Cumberland. Close to food, shopping and everything else. I will very much be back to this hotel. Clean, frlendly service and convenient. What more can you ask for $79.00 a night.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fundude01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

My husband and I stayed for the 4th of July weekend - 3 days, 2 nights - and it was somewhat as expected for just below $150.00 for the whole weekend. For a quick trip where we planned to be out all the time, the price was right, but I just can't get over how dirty the place felt. It made it difficult to sleep at night. So I hesitate to give it a 1, because you can't expect a whole lot for the cost. But you should at least feel somewhat clean.

Pros:
-everything works in the room (microwave, refrigerator, A/C, etc.)
-about 70 channels of basic cable
-convenient parking, we parked directly outside our door
-decent service at the front desk
-convenient location (not far from Hershey, 20 minute drive)

Cons:
-bathroom is visibly dirty: mildew, hair, dirt, gross!
-stains on carpet! (pets allowed so...)
-bugs, spiders
-after seeing how unclean everything was I felt like the bed and towels weren't clean either

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank triplady_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed here overnight when we went to Hershey Park and Knoebels. It was not wonderful but it was fine for what it was - a cheap place to sleep for the night. We didn't have any problems. The continental breakfast consisted of powered donuts (the kind from a box) and orange juice and coffee - available in the office.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rewriteable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

All I really ask from a hotel on short notice is that it be CLEAN, and this one is NOT! We booked this hotel about 10 days in advance--we were attending a concert in the area and most of the closest surrounding hotels had already been booked since it's next to an amusement park. It had a "2-star" rating (HAH!) and so we thought we'd be okay.

The front desk clerk was very polite, and the lobby, while nothing fancy at all, was tidy. We walked through a breezeway to our room and noticed the peeling paint on the doorframes of some of the service entrances. We opened the door to our room, and the first thing I saw was an upholstered chair with gray/brown/green arms--the rest of the chair was basically a green. It was filthy. There is no way the ceiling had been painted in the last 7 years, and the mattress was very soft.

The worst was yet to come---the bathroom. All of the fixtures were horrible. I didn't even want to turn on the sink. There was what looked like dried toothpaste or shaving cream on the faucet and on a very old, rusted tissue dispenser. The shower stall also had fixtures that were not cleaned. It's really easy to wipe chrome to make it look clean! The moulding around the bathroom was very dirty as well.

The towels were those tiny, almost see-through rough terry ones, but they (and the sheets) were clean. There was no alarm clock in the room or coffee pot, but there was a refrigerator. I opened it up to put some sodas inside and it smelled bad and felt like a sauna. So, I turned up the temp all the way--no good. The refrigerator, despite the noise it made all night, must have a bad compressor because our drinks were warm in the morning.
Before going to bed, after being exhausted from the concert and long drive that day, we had to kill 4-5 SPIDERS crawling on various parts of the ceiling and walls. Needless to say, we didn't sleep well because we were both feeling like there were creepy crawlies all night!

So, our advice, drive the extra 3 miles or spend the extra $8 for a more contented night's sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kmskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2007

First off, the room was clean. For $54 I expected much worse. Check in was fast and the front desk clerk was the kindest young man ever. Walking to the room, I could not help but notice the amazing restaurant and bar. There is even a comedy club!! You can not top that. It was a Friday night and was really busy. I had a few drinks, an amazing steak, and went to the comedy show. Over all, and excellent night and stay. One criticism would be there is no one at the front desk during the night. Odd

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Holden1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Cumberland
0.1 mi away
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
#6 of 14 in New Cumberland
99 reviews
0.8 mi away
Highland Inn
Highland Inn
#12 of 14 in New Cumberland
4 reviews
4.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus New Cumberland Inn & Suites
13.5 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle
Travelodge Carlisle
#22 of 27 in Carlisle
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn

Address: 110 Limekiln Rd, New Cumberland, PA 17070-2475 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Price Range: $44 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Budget Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Budget Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn New Cumberland
New Cumberland Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing