We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in New Cumberland
breinigsville, pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent vacation”
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We had a great time at this hotel. Kids had fun at pool. Good breakfast. Overall excellent stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laly102100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    25
    23
    13
    25
See reviews for
46
17
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

THIS HOTEL HAS BED BUGS!!!!! Room #310 and Room #308! After checking in around midnight after a long trip with my sister and her family and 2 young children I was horrified at the overall condition of the hotel and the discovery of bed bugs. I always pull of the comforter and blankets on a hotel bed since I know they don't get laundered each time the sheets are changed. When I was pulling up the corners a bed bug came crawling out at me. It was the most disgusting thing I have ever seen.

So we proceeded to look under the mattress and along the seems on the side and discovered another live bug and crusted, dead bed bugs along the seam by the head of the bed. We also saw gross blood stains all over the bed.

I immediately call the front desk and the night auditor came up. He said "we thought we got rid of them" and didn't seem surprised at all. I told him he was giving us a full refund (we pd $89 a room) on both rooms and we were leaving. We ended up taking the two kids who were already sleeping out at 12:30am and going to another hotel (The Crowne Plaza in the city of Harrisburg and it was perfect!).

I plan on calling the 800 # and making a formal complaint. It is the most disgusting thing I have ever seen and I'm not sure I'll ever get over it. Not only were there bed bugs, the room was dirty and there were stains all over the gross gold comforters. There were holes in the walls where old pictures were and there was hair and dust all over the lamp shades and chairs. I didn't even make it to the bathroom since we left about a half hour after we checked in. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DancingNancie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2009

We had the best experience at this hotel. Kids had lots of fun at the pool & breakfast was great. Front desk helped us with directions

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lam0768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

The room has a microwave, a refrigerator and internet connection. Should have paid with cash at this place. I regret using plastic.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laddu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisburgcomfortinn, Manager at New Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2009
Using Debit card at the time of cheking in and paying cash at the time of check out is no good as Credit card processing company and banks keep hold on the card for 7-14 business days. Any motel/Hotel has no control on this matter. Use credit card or cash. Using Debit card for holding reservation or checking in and changing payment method is not advisable as to remove hold will take 7-14 business days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2009

I booked by phone and talked to one of the many indians that works at this hotel. He didn't seem to have time for me and kept repeating questions. When I arrived, I found that the reservations he booked were completely wrong.
Continental breakfast was never ready when we went to eat. We started eating 2 hours after it was supposed to open.
All the appliances in the room were unplugged when I first arrived. Internet instructions from reception were wrong. My colleages could never connect to the internet from their room.
Heater and refrigerator were incredibly loud. There was a lot of light pollution from the hallway getting into the room.
Beds are rock hard.

There are many other hotels next door to choose from. This one stinks!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dj245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2009

As a frequent business traveler, I almost always choose Comfort Inn because the rates are reasonable and the rooms are usually adequate. This hotel reminded me more of a low class Super 8. For one, access to your room is from the outside. It was a cold night and a strong draft came through the old door. I turned the heater on and it made a constant loud buzzing noise. It was too much to bear so I turned it off and slept with a sweatshirt on. Second, the wireless internet was anything but "high speed." I gave up trying after it took 3 minutes for the yahoo homepage to display. Third, there was body hair all over the bathroom floor and in the bedsheets. It is unacceptable that the cleaning staff did not see it and I find it hard to believe that my room was even cleaned. Finally, the continental breakfast was awful. There was little selection and the apple juice was luke warm and watered down. I have stayed in some bad hotels in the past, but this was one of the worst. Its not what I have come to expect from a Comfort Inn, and I will be sure stay somewhere else when I am back in the area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTrav99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Cumberland hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn New Cumberland - Harrisburg South
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus New Cumberland Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
#4 of 13 in New Cumberland
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Clarion Hotel & Conference Cente...
#11 of 13 in New Cumberland
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Cumberland
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New...
#2 of 13 in New Cumberland
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Cumberland Hotel

Property: New Cumberland Hotel
Address: 130 Limekiln Rd, New Cumberland, PA 17070-2428
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in New Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Cumberland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is under construction. We are currently at 95% finished. We look forward to you staying with us and seeing our new look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Cumberland Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing