We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend $200 per night elsewhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in New Cumberland
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Spend $200 per night elsewhere!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Manager was not very friendly, pool was green, they charged us extra for kids even though guest directory said kids were free. Breakfast was ok, and only lasted until 9:30, and it could be extended to at least 10. They do not give you any extra time, everything is pulled and closed at 9:29, even if you are in the middle of pouring some coffee or cereal. It was semi-clean, but a little dumpy too. Lobby was under construction and it just wasn't very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roknrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, Manager at New Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear valued guest,

I apologize for not exceeding your guest needs. Every day we strive for 100% guest satisfaction, and in your case we have not done so. I have shared your comments with our staff, so that we may implement a more customer service friendly atmosphere. We did experience a green colored pool during your stay and have rectified the situation. We hope that you would give us another chance should you be in this area again.

Kind regards,
Christine
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    25
    23
    13
    25
See reviews for
46
17
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our family recently stayed here for three nights on a trip to Hershey. Myself, my husband a six year old and a 4 month old. Rooms were immaculate, newly renovated, and spacious. The housekeeper even lined all our shoes for us! We had two double beds, and there is a large sitting area off to the side where my older child played. Room had a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The lobby is under renovation, but it in no way hindered our stay.

We were greeted the first night by a very friendly woman at the reception desk, check in was quick which was great considering it was late, and we just wanted to relax. Breakfast in the morning was good, eggs sausage, waffles, cereal, yogurt, fruit toast bagels, donuts, coffee juice. There is a Bob Evans across the street which we did eat at one morning for a treat, and you get a discount when you tell them you stayed at the hotel.

If you are going to Hershey it is about 20 minutes away, but worth the extra time, as the rate here is great for the service!

The only negative I can say is the pool was a little funky, so we did not swim in it. Green with bugs in the water, but we did notice someone was there to service it the morning we left. The deck area was very nice though!! Definatley would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylesburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I Stayed At The Comfort Inn For 7 Weeks While Working Away And It Was A Great Experience. The Hotel Was Clean With Great Service. The Place Was Under Renovation But The Service Was Still Great, Going Above And Beyond My Expectations For A Hotel. Highly Recommend Staying At This Great Place.
The Manager And His Wife Were Always Available
.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is under renovations and the rooms are very nice, though the beds were on the hard side for us. The lobby area is still under construction, however it didn't impact the stay.

Our reason for giving an "average" rating for this hotel is because of lack of breakfast foods. Both mornings we were there, the hotel had run out of several items hours before breakfast hours were over. This included eggs, meats, pastries. We ended up having to supplement the "included" breakfast with items from the store.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyT792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, Manager at New Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for acknowledging our recent remodel of guest rooms and lobby. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations in our breakfast area. We strive to meet and exceed our guest's needs and in your case we did not do so. We have a member of management on staff at all times, willing and able to address any concerns that guest(s) may have. We hope that you would give us another chance as we know that all guest(s) have a "CHOICE" in where they stay.

Should you like to discuss your situation further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind regards,
Christine
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2013

One of my friend suggested this hotel. Hotel lobby is still under renovation which was about 80% complete. It looks like lobby will be big. well planned with lots of seating & fireplace. Rooms were nicely done. Excellent breakfast & dinning area was looking great. Floor in the fitness room was nice. Out door patio area by the pool was a good place where I was relaxing & doing my work at the same time. Good value for the money with excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricardo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, Manager at New Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for your most recent review on your stay with us in June, 2013. We have been eagerly working on our appearance so that our guest can stay in "COMFORT" and we know that all guests have a "CHOICE" in where they stay. We look forward to you staying with us again when you are in the New Cumberland, PA area.

Best regards,
Christine
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownsville, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Recently stayed overnight here several times and found the rooms to be newly renovated with refrigerators and microwaves; clean and nicely decorated for a reasonable price. Friendly staff and quick breakfast bar in the morning. Would recommend and plan to stay again soon,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKP59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, Manager at New Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write about your most recent stay with us. It is not all too often that we hear the positive things that guest have to say about their stay. Thank you for acknowledgement of our breakfast buffet, we offer Eggs, Sausage, Yogurt, Danish, Muffins, Bagels, Toast, Cereal , and make your own Waffles. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction with every stay. We hope to see you again soon, in New Cumberland, PA.

Best regards,
Christine
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

First of all, this hotel is undergoing renovation. The lobby was ripped apart during our stay, but our room had been recently remodeled. The mattress was new, clean and VERY firm. Newer flat screen tv, furniture, carpet and wall coverings in the room. Hallways smelled of smoke, but not in our non-smoking room. Nice continental breakfast with scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit, cereal, and pastries. We didn't test out the outdoor pool (60F outside!), but it looked clean and clear. This hotel is right off the interstate, but we couldn't hear any road noise from inside our room. We would stay here again if passing thru the area.

Room Tip: The lobby is in the middle of the hotel and is the ONLY entrance - no entrances at stairwells at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbb350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, Manager at New Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and it seems in your case we were able to do so. Thank you for writing your kind words on your most recent stay. I'm glad that you had a pleasurable experience during our construction. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to the New Cumberland, PA area.

Kind regards,
Christine
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Cumberland hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus New Cumberland Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn New Cumberland - Harrisburg South
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Clarion Hotel & Conference Cente...
#10 of 13 in New Cumberland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
#4 of 13 in New Cumberland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Cumberland
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New...
#2 of 13 in New Cumberland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Cumberland Hotel

Property: New Cumberland Hotel
Address: 130 Limekiln Rd, New Cumberland, PA 17070-2428
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in New Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Cumberland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is under construction. We are currently at 95% finished. We look forward to you staying with us and seeing our new look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Cumberland Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing