We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See for yourself. I have no complains.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We enjoyed our stay here even though we did not get to use the amenities. I LOVE THE NEW BED, BED SHEET & BED COVER. No Bed Bug. There are so comfortable. This is the main thing I like about this hotel. Carpet looks clean. The room is roomy enough. I'm very glad I picked this place among the other hotels across the streets. This hotel is big. Don't get lost - look at the layout. But if you are Me, I know my way. Holiday Inn is the way to go for lodging, because this one made my holiday happy.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mai-ImIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 334 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2009

I made reservations well in advance, and reserved a king size bed, non-smoking room. I was given a room with two double beds, non-smoking. Ok, not the biggest problem. Next - a few colleagues of mine and myself requested to be put in the same area, with rooms next to one another, for several reasons. This seemed to be a huge problem for the desk clerks, and it seemed we were "annoying" her. We had asked prior to even arriving to be put together, yet our rooms were far from one another. We had to have them changed when one of my colleagues rooms had a urine smell and stain on the rug. Another colleague's room had food and chicken particles and bones on the floor. This hotel leaves alot to be desired and we would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cef71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

We brought the family to Hershey Park. We stay in hotels about 10-15 days a year and never experienced anything like the filth that we encountered at the holiday inn. Absolutely disgusted with the hotel. The chair had huge stains and chunks of food (I hope it was only food), the white bed comforter had a large brown stain that was fresh and clearly was not washed, the tub was filthy, the toilet had fecal matter on the handle and one of the seat hinges was broken, the screws on door security lock were stripped and very loose. The staff was nice and did remove the chair from our room. However, they took the only swapped the chair with the room next to ours. I have taken photos and plan on contacting the corporate office.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edf72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We stayed for three nights to take in Hershey Park and were delighted with our stay. We had reservations for another hotel (Rodeway Inn) and ended up refusing the room and driving across the road to the Holiday Inn at the last moment to ask for a room. We had two small dogs and were thrilled to find out that we could keep them with us and were given a very resonable rate of $89 per night. The beds were so comfy and our room overlooked the pool with a nice balcony. Room was very nicely decorated with a desk as well as a small table and chairs. We had plenty of room and everything was very clean. Bathroom was a little small but clean and had nice towels. Kids loved the pool and lobby was comfortable place to relax and read paper. The front desk and maintenance staff were very friendly and helpful and we would love to stay here again. Well worth the price and close to Hershey Park. Bob Evans is walking distance and a good way to start to day before heading to the park. Hotel did not charge us anything additional for having a pet, and promptly refunded the small pet deposit at check out after looking over room and finding no damage. Highly reccomend especially if you are traveling with pets.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pugm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We held our Board meeting here. We found that the staff was pleasant and helpful. The food was great! This hotel met all of ours needs. We are returning for future meetings.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanka5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

I was very concerned with this hotel after reading some of the reviews, so I asked to see a room before we checked in, and was pleasantly suprised. The front desk clerk and manager were very polite and helpful. I travel extensively with and without my family of four. I prefer a large one or two bedroom suite when possible, but this hotel is at least on par with any other Holiday Inn I have stayed at. My girls really enjoyed the novelty of having a room that faced the indoor pool. The negative reviews seem questionable and out of character with what we saw. The room, though small, was clean and updated. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djtroutman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

My husband and I visited several venues to locate the perfect spot for our wedding reception. From day one, our wedding Coordinator Vanessa Straub was upbeat, fun to work with, and extremely professional. The hotel offered a lovely evening in which we were able to try out the foods that were offered to ensure that what we chose for our special day was exactly to our taste. When the wedding day finally came, I have to say that our experience with the Harrisburg Holiday Inn & Conference Center in New Cumberland, PA far exceeded even our best expectations. The venue was decorated in a lovely manner, staff were pleasant and always on hand to assist, and the guests commented that it was the "nicest wedding they'd ever attended" and that it "seeemed like everything was planned in consideration of the guests". I felt like a princess from the minute we arrived and my husband and I danced our first dance as husband and wife. The food was excellent and our guests made frequent mention of how delicious it was. Despite warm temperatures that day, Ms. Straub interceded whenever any quick thinking was needed to assist our guests and my Mother ( who is not easily impressed) commented to me later in the day how much Ms. Straub impressed even her. Many of our guests were able to book rooms in a block at very reasonable prices and the family enjoyed a lovely breakfast the next morning in the Elephant and Castle Pub. One special touch that really warmed my Mom's heart was when she saw that the flowers we had paid quite a bit of money for but were unable to take with us that she had indicated to staff could be taken home or used in whatever manner they saw fit, coud be seen placed throughout the hotel the next morning. She said they still looked beautiful and she was so happy that they had not gone to waste. When the day finally ended for my husband and I all I could think was that I wished I had the ability to throw a party like that for family and friends more frequently because of how special the hotel staff had made us feel and how much we truly enjoyed our wedding reception at the hotel. Thank you to everyone that worked so hard! My husband Ed and I will never forget that day! Nancy B

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyBPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Cumberland
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus New Cumberland Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Cumberland
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New...
#3 of 14 in New Cumberland
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Harrisburg West, PA
9.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
#18 of 51 in Harrisburg
325 reviews
15.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 8 in Grantville
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 148 Sheraton Dr, I-83 & PA Turnpike Exit 242, New Cumberland, PA 17070-2440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Price Range: $69 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes south of Harrisburg in a suburb of New Cumberland. Has easy access off of 2 major highways, Interstate 83 and Interstate 76, the Pennsylvania Turnpike. Attractions that are a short drive away from the hotel include Hershey Park, Pennsylvania State Capitol, Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex, the Amish (Lancaster County), Harley Davidson Plant, and historical Gettysburg. Enjoy local sports with the following clubs: Harrisburg Senators, AAA baseball, and Hershey Bears minor league ice hockey team for the Colorado Avalanche. Indoor heated pool nestled in a tropical courtyard are just 2 of the amenities that are offered. Guests of the Harrisburg Clarion Hotel & Conference Center can enjoy fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and from-scratch cuisine at the hotel’s on-site restaurant and bar, The Garlic Poet. You will find over 21,000 square feet of flexible conference and catering facilities which provide the ideal setting for many special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg Hotel New Cumberland
Holiday Inn New Cumberland
New Cumberland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing