We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rooms are just plain bad .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I will do another review on the copper cup , which is the in house place to eat. This place is just a mess. I stay here based on price, but it is a bad place. Front desk is good after that all down hill. Squeakey bed, hole in curtains, dust in the air vents, outlets hanging out of wall, stained chair cushion , dirty carpet, stain on stuff in the bathroom and this all just room 206. I have also seen small bugs in the bedroom and the layout is very poor . non smoking rooms surrounded by smoking rooms.! How do you get to room 128 without going through a musty stale smoke smelling hallway.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsupportRonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninerfan16, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We have forwarded them to the appropriate mangers to review. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to yours or our standards. We hope that in the future you might give us another oppurtunity to better serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 332 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

the hotel was ok. The appearance was clean but very outdated. Upon arrival they had the wrong room type reserved and to correct the situation it took the workers at least twenty mins to get it fixed. The bathrooms are small and have no ventilation in it. There isnt always hotwater either. The plus is the pool area was clean and very nice. The restaurant had terrible food though and a little pricey. Overall the hotel was ok but not my first choice to stay anywhere.Sorry Holiday Inn you need to update your rooms.

Room Tip: cleanliness is key right next to speedy customer service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlopez71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninerfan16, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that your stay was only “so so” we try our best to make sure that every guest enjoys their stay with us. I hope that the next time you are in the area that you will give us another chance to better serve you. We have made the appropriate departments aware of the issues that you had with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the last 10 years and it seems to be going steadily down hill.
The halls reeked of cigarette smoke even though the area we were in was all non smoking rooms. The side entrance that was supposed to require a room key to enter didn't even have a lock mechanism in the door...just a sign and a place to swipe your key, If you were not out of the room by about 8:30, housekeeping never came back later in the day (happened two days while we were there). Did not eat at the property while we were there so I cant comment on food or food service

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotchandice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninerfan16, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2012

We appreciate your feedback and wanted to let you know that the side entrance that you brought to our attention has been fixed. The remaining information has been passed on to management to look into so that we may better serve our guests. Thank you for the comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We have stayed at many Holiday Inns over the years and this was among the best. Competent efficient staff, comfortable, well-maintained room.
Nothing to complain of.
And very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwtraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninerfan16, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2012

Thank you for those wonderful comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to the next time that you are able to come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

My family and I stayed at this location - we made plans last minute for a night stay - and we were VERY impressed with the value and accommodations! The indoor pool was a pleasant surprise - being as clean and fun as it was for my family. The front desk staff (a young woman cheeked us in - I forgot her name- ) -was excellent- answering all my questions and giving us a choice of where our room was located so that we could have a door right to the indoor pool area. Plus accommodating our dog that we brought along with us... we were able to be on the first floor near an exit AND be near the pool! She was so great!! (we stayed Saturday night, 3/17- and we checked in at about 6pm). The restaurant - the Cooper Cup (??) was good also! My family will be returning it to this hotel in May for a near by Rugby game...... We are looking forward to this stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninerfan16, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Thank you for those wonderful comments. We look forward to seeing your family when they come back in May.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

As others have said, this is a very old hotel, but they have remodeled the hotel to Holiday Inn Standards. We appreciated an early (at noon) check in. The front desk staff was willing to help by asking the room staff to clean up a VIP room for us, and got us in a couple of hours early. When a company (or owners) do a renovation it's a very tricky situation. The carpets are brand new, the flat screen TV is new, (as is the fridge and micro); but the ceilings, are the old block type that reminds me of the old school houses that were built in the 50's. They were nicely painted however, so all in all; if you come here don't expect a brand new hotel; (as it looks like from the outside); but if you consider the polite and helpful staff; then you can overlook a few things that couldn't be changed, unless you tore the whole place down; and started from scratch. We'll be back. Thank you.

Room Tip: If you are platinum, ask for a VIP room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vernkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninerfan16, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Thank you for those wonderful comments about our staff. We pride ourselves on going the extra mile for our guests. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Having an early morning flight from Harrisburg airport, and a long drive to get there, I took advantage of the New Cumberland Holiday Inn's offer to stay over the night before my flight and leave my car with them.
My experience was flawless, even better then anticipated.
Although the property was right at the intersection of busy Interstates (I-83 and the Pennsylvania Turnpike) my room was quiet. The room had been recently redecorated, was clean, and free from lingering cigarette odors. Thanks to Donna for her e-mails answering my questions about the airport shuttle, as well as Kellie and Paul who went out of their way to coordinate my requests. A pleasant experience at the Holiday Inn . . . not to mention that it was cheaper than parking at the airport. I will definitely do this again for future flights.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BB_Fair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninerfan16, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2012

We have passed on your wonderful comments to the staff members listed. We are so glad that we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to the next time that you are able to stay with us. Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Cumberland
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Cumberland
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New...
#1 of 14 in New Cumberland
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus New Cumberland Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South
Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisbu...
#10 of 14 in New Cumberland
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
#6 of 14 in New Cumberland
105 reviews
4.8 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 148 Sheraton Dr, I-83 & PA Turnpike Exit 242, New Cumberland, PA 17070-2440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Price Range: $62 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes south of Harrisburg in a suburb of New Cumberland. Has easy access off of 2 major highways, Interstate 83 and Interstate 76, the Pennsylvania Turnpike. Attractions that are a short drive away from the hotel include Hershey Park, Pennsylvania State Capitol, Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex, the Amish (Lancaster County), Harley Davidson Plant, and historical Gettysburg. Enjoy local sports with the following clubs: Harrisburg Senators, AAA baseball, and Hershey Bears minor league ice hockey team for the Colorado Avalanche. Indoor heated pool nestled in a tropical courtyard are just 2 of the amenities that are offered. Guests of the Harrisburg Clarion Hotel & Conference Center can enjoy fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and from-scratch cuisine at the hotel’s on-site restaurant and bar, The Garlic Poet. You will find over 21,000 square feet of flexible conference and catering facilities which provide the ideal setting for many special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg Hotel New Cumberland
Holiday Inn New Cumberland
New Cumberland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing