We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Rated Campground”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake in Wood Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgewater, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top Rated Campground”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This CG is very clean and well kept. Roads are a bit narrow and winding but we had no trouble getting our 30 ft travel trailer to our site on the hill. Our site was all gravel with plenty of woods between sites. Some sites had paved pads which looked nice but we were happy to have the gravel site. All had picnic table and fire ring. Our site had elec, water, sewer, cable and wifi; all worked great. Having read reviews of unpleasant people at desk, we were a bit apprehensive but found all of them to be very friendly. The CG is very large and needed to have the map with us to get back to our site and know which roads were one way. The weekend was crowded and was very quiet for all the people there. There is a nearby quarry which we did hear but it was not offensive. We would definitely return here for another great camping adventure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeInWood, Public Relations Manager at Lake in Wood Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi P L,

Thank you for sharing your most recent experience at our resort! We are always delighted to hear that our service and facilities are well received by our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next camping adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    30
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
84
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Holland, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

8/17/13 my niece was bring her young children to camp with my family. In error she stopped at Lake in the Woods. When in the office she told them (two girls) that she could not reach me by phone as to which they answered no one has phone service here. After filling out a form with her children's names and my name and paying $12.00 for them to stay the office staff could not find my name in the computer. She then made a call to another family member and learned I was not staying at Lake in the Woods the girls in the office gave her directions to the campground I was staying at. My niece had three children with her and was upset to say the least that she was lost, that she forgot about getting her money back. After she arrived at the campground I was staying at she told me what happened. I called Lake in the Woods to get her a refund. The first lady I spoke to had no knowledge of anything I was placed on hold a total of three times. The manager then got on the phone I explained the whole story his only question was why did she leave without getting her money back. I again told him she was lost and had three small children with her. He said well she received a map and car tag and that is why she needed to pay. I ask why would she need anything if I was not staying there, he did not have an answer. I realize that it is only $12.00 but it is more about his poor attitude. My niece has since tried to make contact with the management and no one will return her messages. I WILL NEVER STAY AT LAKE IN THE WOODS RESORT EVER.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAWN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shreves78, Public Relations Manager at Lake in Wood Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi Dawn B –

We sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding your niece experienced during her brief encounter at our resort. We strive to provide each of our guests with world-class customer service while offering a fun and friendly atmosphere.

We would welcome the opportunity to resolve this unfortunate incident and want to refund the $12 fee that was mistakenly charged for the map and car tag. Please contact us using the link below and reference this review. We will ensure the refund is processed.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to speaking with you soon.

http://www.sunrvresorts.com/ContactUs.aspx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just returned from a week at LIW. Pool is not heated at all, it is sooo cold. My kids refused to go into pool. I inquired both last year and this year about the unbearable pool temperature and no one in the office would admit there was a problem. There is a problem. The pool also is VERY old and unsightly and needs to be redone. With new owners, I hope they are listening. We could possible put up with the quarry noise in exchange for a nice pool which is now greatly lacking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank gracemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeInWood, Public Relations Manager at Lake in Wood Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear gracemat,

Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay with us! I'm sorry you did not enjoy your experience at our pool complex. The pool is heated, but it is heated by solar panels. The temperature is largely determined by how much sunlight there is. This is just one way that we are trying to be environmentally friendly! In regards to the appearance of the pool, I apologize that you felt it was unsightly, however our guests constantly comment on the beautiful condition of the complex. We have an indoor, outdoor, and kiddie pool complete with fountains and a splash bar, which are not old at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We just came back from a week in LIW. We went with a large group, so can easily rate the rooms, as well as campsites. We got a campsite, the treehouse, 2 deluxe cabins and the yurt.
Pros: The place is beautiful. Easily the prettiest, kept up campground we have been to, and we camp A TON. They get an A+ for cleanliness. There are treats in the woods, like totem poles, places to sit, etc. Alot of fun to be had, especially with a large group. The Yurt is amazing, its like your own private island! The food is decent and not too expensive.
Cons: This is why I gave it a 4 instead of 5 stars. 1. The pool said to be 79 degrees and heated. No way, no how. It was ice cold. So much so that my kids, who love to swim barely went in it at all. 2. The place is run like a jail. I understand they have to have rules to have it so clean, but you really feel like you are being watched, and some of the staff is not so nice at all. 2. the lake is icky. Kids fished but its still icky :( 4..the biggest con of all. The quarry! I was woken up every weekday at 6:30 AM. Not relaxing at all. People there said you get used to it, but I dont go on a relaxing vacation to ignore it, its absolutely terrible. On our last night there, we got no sleep, because they were blasting every 1/2 hour till 3:30 AM! That was weekdays, weekends you have to contend with the noise from the race track. We got no sleep.
It really is too bad, because we loved it, but regrettably will not be going back, mostly because of the noise and the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seegal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeInWood, Public Relations Manager at Lake in Wood Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Seegal A,

Thank you for your most recent review of your stay with us! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our beautifully landscaped grounds, cleanliness, and experience in the Yurt!

In regards to the pool temperature, our pools are heated by solar panels. The temperature is largely determined by the amount of sunlight. This is just one way that we are trying to be environmentally friendly! I'm sorry to hear that you did not have the best customer service experience. We have many rules and regulations in place to ensure everyone has a pleasant stay with us. I apologize if you felt "watched," but that is never our intention at Lake-In-Wood.

We were having problems with the algae in our lake, and I apologize that you had to experience our lake during that time. We have since cleaned out the lake and it is back in its beautiful and pristine condition! Unfortunately, we cannot do anything about the noise you hear from the quarry. They do not blast ever in the evening - you were hearing the smacking of the tailgate of the trucks. The quarry blasts only 2 times a month at the most. It is really beyond our control and are sorry to hear you could not contend with the noise.

Thanks again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We are avid campers and this was our first visit to Lake In Wood Resort. We were so impressed by the immaculate grounds and gorgeous landscaping. So much to do in the Resort itself. Miniature Golf, Outdoor and Indoor Pool, Kiddie Pool Play area, Paddle Boats, Hiking Paths, Arcade, Bike Rentals, Golf Cart Rentals, and much more!

The laundry facility is lovely! Very clean and even a sitting area with comfy rocking chairs to wait and watch TV or read a book or magazine.

The roads are paved, which is perfect for riding bikes and long walks. There are plenty of pet play areas to choose from and really nice playgrounds. We loved walking around and discovering the unique Totem Poles.

This resort also features it's own themed rentals that I have never seen before! They are very original. I may want to return just to stay in one of their many themed rentals! We were next to the Teepee and the Covered Wagon.

We had a pull-thru site, but didn't feel as though we were out in the open. There are plenty of trees and room in between each site. Even though we have our own bathroom in our camper, our teens loved using the bath houses because they are clean and you don't have to pay to use the showers.

This campground is highly recommended by our family!

Room Tip: Visit Strasburg Railroad and the Amish Markets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tappenfeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeInWood, Public Relations Manager at Lake in Wood Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear tappenfeat,

Thank you so much for your most recent review of your stay with us! We are delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations, and enjoyed our grounds, activities, our newly renovated laundry facility, clean bath houses, and themed rentals.

We are honored of your recommending us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robesonia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Lake in Wood is by far an upscale campground...more parking than camping. The roads are all beautifully paved with recycled mulch on the sides for easy walking and bike riding. The lake is stocked with a ton of fish or you can boat on it. Many sites are on the lake-we were. The entire campground is shaded by tall trees and in the spring there is the sweet scent of honey suckle on the breeze. As you walk around you get to enjoy carved trees throughout the campground that act as natural artwork. The sites are large with a paved pad. The restrooms are huge and clean with music playing. Everywhere there is landscaping and flowers-the permanent sites are very well kept. For the children, the many playgrounds are amazing. There is mini golf, a store, hand dipped ice cream, and to rent: paddle boats, golf carts, and play houses to sleep in. The pool is very clean indoor and outdoor. Laundry room had what looked to be new washer and dryers-also clean. There are even exercise stations (though i am too lazy to exercise on vacation). The resort is gated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjj223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeInWood, Public Relations Manager at Lake in Wood Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear cjj223,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your most recent stay with us! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our beautifully landscaped grounds, wood carvings, and all other amenities. We take pride in being an upscale resort and look forward to welcoming you back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Found this resort campground on line and based on previous reviews decided to give it a try. This resort is approximately 200 miles from home. Upon entering one can't be upset with what the eye sees. The resort is colorful, beyond well manicured and in a perfect location. The view from the registration building down to the lake area is breathtaking on a sunny day. You can see a yurt at the edge of the lake along with paddle boats and an airborne water stream. Really pretty. Registration was friendly and very easy. Our pull through spot for a 35 foot RV was very easy and the spot itself, although a cement pad, had grass with a fire pit ready to roll. Plenty of room for the slideouts and privacy should one want it.
There are extensive walking paths for fitness along with a well defined fitness trail. The lake was well stocked for someone who might like fishing and you were allowed to keep two and the rest needed to be released.
The campground had some interesting rentals. Besides the usual home models, there was a tree house, an old bus, and a boat people could rent to do their outside living. Quite interesting and well maintained.
There is a Gnome Cafe on the grounds which could accommodate many people and for those who didn't feel like cooking. Staff was very friendly.
In addition, there was miniature golf. Overall, the entire facility was immaculately kept and especially so for the bath houses. The swimming pools were terrific and there was a special pool area for young children that was really charming. Chairs were provided at poolside.
Our stay was from Sunday through Friday so we didn't experience "the weekend crowd". However based on the way we saw this facility run, rowdiness would not be accepted. This was a great place for families or retirees with much to do or not to do. The nature experience with butterflies and in our case lunar moths was exceptional. We met many nice and friendly people here if only with a wave and a smile.
We can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the red carpet area with full hookups but no shade--no problem for us. Any area of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earladybon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeInWood, Public Relations Manager at Lake in Wood Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear earladybon,

Thank you for your glowing review of your stay with us. We are truly delighted to hear that we met and exceeded your expectations at every turn. We are glad you enjoyed our landscaped grounds, amenities, cleanliness, and entire camping experience!

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narvon
19.4 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
7.5 mi away
The Waynebrook Inn
The Waynebrook Inn
#1 of 1 in Honey Brook
99 reviews
12.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike
9.2 mi away
Spring Gulch Resort Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake in Wood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake in Wood Resort

Property: Lake in Wood Resort
Address: 576 Yellow Hill Rd, Narvon, PA 17555-9335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Narvon
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Narvon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake In Wood Camping Resort is geared to the lifestyle of today's campers, from tents to park models-a "home away from home" in luxury! Our sites are wooded, some pull-thru with concrete pads, 30-50 amp hook ups, cable (35 channels including HBO), picnic tables and fire rings on each site and secure free wifi.We are in the heart of Lancaster County, Amish country. Our beautiful Lake In Wood Camping Resort features a magnificent beautifully decorated entertainment hall with pipe organ. Lake In Wood offers a full program of family entertainment each week. Enjoy hand-dipped ice cream on our porch from our well-stocked store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lake in Wood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake-In-Wood Camping Hotel Narvon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing