We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful and clean, BUT....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake in Wood Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We just came back from a week in LIW. We went with a large group, so can easily rate the rooms, as well as campsites. We got a campsite, the treehouse, 2 deluxe cabins and the yurt.
Pros: The place is beautiful. Easily the prettiest, kept up campground we have been to, and we camp A TON. They get an A+ for cleanliness. There are treats in the woods, like totem poles, places to sit, etc. Alot of fun to be had, especially with a large group. The Yurt is amazing, its like your own private island! The food is decent and not too expensive.
Cons: This is why I gave it a 4 instead of 5 stars. 1. The pool said to be 79 degrees and heated. No way, no how. It was ice cold. So much so that my kids, who love to swim barely went in it at all. 2. The place is run like a jail. I understand they have to have rules to have it so clean, but you really feel like you are being watched, and some of the staff is not so nice at all. 2. the lake is icky. Kids fished but its still icky :( 4..the biggest con of all. The quarry! I was woken up every weekday at 6:30 AM. Not relaxing at all. People there said you get used to it, but I dont go on a relaxing vacation to ignore it, its absolutely terrible. On our last night there, we got no sleep, because they were blasting every 1/2 hour till 3:30 AM! That was weekdays, weekends you have to contend with the noise from the race track. We got no sleep.
It really is too bad, because we loved it, but regrettably will not be going back, mostly because of the noise and the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seegal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeInWood, Public Relations Manager at Lake in Wood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Seegal A,

Thank you for your most recent review of your stay with us! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our beautifully landscaped grounds, cleanliness, and experience in the Yurt!

In regards to the pool temperature, our pools are heated by solar panels. The temperature is largely determined by the amount of sunlight. This is just one way that we are trying to be environmentally friendly! I'm sorry to hear that you did not have the best customer service experience. We have many rules and regulations in place to ensure everyone has a pleasant stay with us. I apologize if you felt "watched," but that is never our intention at Lake-In-Wood.

We were having problems with the algae in our lake, and I apologize that you had to experience our lake during that time. We have since cleaned out the lake and it is back in its beautiful and pristine condition! Unfortunately, we cannot do anything about the noise you hear from the quarry. They do not blast ever in the evening - you were hearing the smacking of the tailgate of the trucks. The quarry blasts only 2 times a month at the most. It is really beyond our control and are sorry to hear you could not contend with the noise.

Thanks again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Lake in Wood Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 130 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

We are avid campers and this was our first visit to Lake In Wood Resort. We were so impressed by the immaculate grounds and gorgeous landscaping. So much to do in the Resort itself. Miniature Golf, Outdoor and Indoor Pool, Kiddie Pool Play area, Paddle Boats, Hiking Paths, Arcade, Bike Rentals, Golf Cart Rentals, and much more!

The laundry facility is lovely! Very clean and even a sitting area with comfy rocking chairs to wait and watch TV or read a book or magazine.

The roads are paved, which is perfect for riding bikes and long walks. There are plenty of pet play areas to choose from and really nice playgrounds. We loved walking around and discovering the unique Totem Poles.

This resort also features it's own themed rentals that I have never seen before! They are very original. I may want to return just to stay in one of their many themed rentals! We were next to the Teepee and the Covered Wagon.

We had a pull-thru site, but didn't feel as though we were out in the open. There are plenty of trees and room in between each site. Even though we have our own bathroom in our camper, our teens loved using the bath houses because they are clean and you don't have to pay to use the showers.

This campground is highly recommended by our family!

Room Tip: Visit Strasburg Railroad and the Amish Markets.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tappenfeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeInWood, Public Relations Manager at Lake in Wood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear tappenfeat,

Thank you so much for your most recent review of your stay with us! We are delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations, and enjoyed our grounds, activities, our newly renovated laundry facility, clean bath houses, and themed rentals.

We are honored of your recommending us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Lake in Wood is by far an upscale campground...more parking than camping. The roads are all beautifully paved with recycled mulch on the sides for easy walking and bike riding. The lake is stocked with a ton of fish or you can boat on it. Many sites are on the lake-we were. The entire campground is shaded by tall trees and in the spring there is the sweet scent of honey suckle on the breeze. As you walk around you get to enjoy carved trees throughout the campground that act as natural artwork. The sites are large with a paved pad. The restrooms are huge and clean with music playing. Everywhere there is landscaping and flowers-the permanent sites are very well kept. For the children, the many playgrounds are amazing. There is mini golf, a store, hand dipped ice cream, and to rent: paddle boats, golf carts, and play houses to sleep in. The pool is very clean indoor and outdoor. Laundry room had what looked to be new washer and dryers-also clean. There are even exercise stations (though i am too lazy to exercise on vacation). The resort is gated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjj223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeInWood, Public Relations Manager at Lake in Wood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear cjj223,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your most recent stay with us! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our beautifully landscaped grounds, wood carvings, and all other amenities. We take pride in being an upscale resort and look forward to welcoming you back again and again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Found this resort campground on line and based on previous reviews decided to give it a try. This resort is approximately 200 miles from home. Upon entering one can't be upset with what the eye sees. The resort is colorful, beyond well manicured and in a perfect location. The view from the registration building down to the lake area is breathtaking on a sunny day. You can see a yurt at the edge of the lake along with paddle boats and an airborne water stream. Really pretty. Registration was friendly and very easy. Our pull through spot for a 35 foot RV was very easy and the spot itself, although a cement pad, had grass with a fire pit ready to roll. Plenty of room for the slideouts and privacy should one want it.
There are extensive walking paths for fitness along with a well defined fitness trail. The lake was well stocked for someone who might like fishing and you were allowed to keep two and the rest needed to be released.
The campground had some interesting rentals. Besides the usual home models, there was a tree house, an old bus, and a boat people could rent to do their outside living. Quite interesting and well maintained.
There is a Gnome Cafe on the grounds which could accommodate many people and for those who didn't feel like cooking. Staff was very friendly.
In addition, there was miniature golf. Overall, the entire facility was immaculately kept and especially so for the bath houses. The swimming pools were terrific and there was a special pool area for young children that was really charming. Chairs were provided at poolside.
Our stay was from Sunday through Friday so we didn't experience "the weekend crowd". However based on the way we saw this facility run, rowdiness would not be accepted. This was a great place for families or retirees with much to do or not to do. The nature experience with butterflies and in our case lunar moths was exceptional. We met many nice and friendly people here if only with a wave and a smile.
We can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the red carpet area with full hookups but no shade--no problem for us. Any area of the...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earladybon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeInWood, Public Relations Manager at Lake in Wood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear earladybon,

Thank you for your glowing review of your stay with us. We are truly delighted to hear that we met and exceeded your expectations at every turn. We are glad you enjoyed our landscaped grounds, amenities, cleanliness, and entire camping experience!

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you are looking for a family place to vacation, this is perfect! We stayed in the deluxe cabin called "DC Cabin". It was a one room cabin with bathroom, queen and 2 bunck beds. Kitchenette, 3 cu feet fridge/freezer (much larger than "dorm" size) table and 4 chairs. The AC ran ice cold in the nearly 100degree heat! The pool was clean, well maintained and beatuifully landscaped. The landscaping rivals major resorts! The playground near the pool was a ton of fun. If you are looking for a family place, no roudy campers, no all night fires with noise and beer... this is the place for you!

We did not have any trouble with the employees, they were all kind, and well informed. Yes, they are tight with the rules, but you have to be to keep a place like this so neat and clean. Yes, they were wound a little tight on Friday night... but they were checking huge campers/RVs in like one every 5 minutes, with little to no line/wait time. They run like a well oiled machine, which you come to appreciate with a large place like this!

We will definatley return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scooffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeInWood, Public Relations Manager at Lake in Wood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Scooffer,

Thank you for your glowing review of our camping resort! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our DC Log Cabin. We take pride in our landscaped grounds and cleanliness and are happy to hear you had a great time! I have shared your review with our staff who are proud to know they made such a positive impact. We are a large campground with many weekend check-ins and are glad you understand how hardworking our staff can be in the middle of a Friday night!

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

we stayed 4 days in memorial day weekend. Beautiful site, clean bathrooms, nice pool, movie, paddle boats, game room. The only bad thing is that said that the pool had heater, but the water was freezing...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladydi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeInWood, Public Relations Manager at Lake in Wood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear ladydi76,

We are delighted to hear you spent Memorial Day weekend with us and enjoyed your stay! In regards to our pool, it is heated by solar panels, so the temperature is largely determined by the amount of sunlight. This is just one way that we are trying to be environmentally friendly!

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I and our three-year-old daughter spent three nights and four days at the campground. We are big campers and opted for a tent site instead of one of the rental units. The tent site was large, shaded and private, so we were happy there. TENT CAMPERS: Be prepared to hear the rock quarry early in the morning on weekdays! It is close by and was a pretty rude awakening each morning!

The grounds are beautiful, and the pool area is perfect for small children. The playground rivals some of the best I've seen. The camp store, café, game room and mini golf were all above average for a campground. The grounds and facilities that we used were all clean.

As far as cons, I'll agree with some of the negative reviews that the employees could stand to learn a little customer service. There seemed to be a lot of odd rules (like children couldn't be in the deep end of the pool with life jackets or water wings on!!!!!), and the employees were quick to share those rules without being polite. The golf cart fees are outrageous, but everything else seemed to be pretty reasonably price IMO. The lake was in very rough shape when we were there, so we avoided that area. I know they are in the process of cleaning out the algae, but it was a disappointment. The biggest con: Both weeks before we arrived and when we arrived we asked if any rental units were available (we worried that 4 nights in a tent could be too much), and we were told "No." YET, we saw several empty units during our stay. We opted to leave a night early and get a hotel, but the day at the pool was worth the $.

All in all, we will consider another visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JaimyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeInWood, Public Relations Manager at Lake in Wood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear JaimyF,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent stay with us! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our beautifully landscaped and well-maintained grounds. Our staff works hard to keep our park clean and pristine! We are also happy to hear you enjoyed our many amenities, such as the store, cafe, playground, game room, and mini golf.

I apologize our customer service and rules were not satisfying, and your comments have been shared with our staff in order to improve future travelers' experience. Our golf cart fees are $45.00 per night, which is pretty normal for these rentals. We are sorry they seemed high for you. Our rental units were booked every weekend in June, and depending on when your 4 nights fell, you may have seen some empty ones. However, that does not mean someone was not checking in to them at some time. We have since finished cleaning out the algea in the lake, but apologize for being in the process of that during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narvon
19.3 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
10.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn of Lancaster County North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 40 in Lancaster
1,936 reviews
9.2 mi away
Spring Gulch Resort Campground
3.6 mi away
Sun Valley RV Resort
Sun Valley RV Resort
#1 of 1 in Bowmansville
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake in Wood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake in Wood Resort

Address: 576 Yellow Hill Rd, Narvon, PA 17555-9335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Narvon
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Narvon
Price Range: $196 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake In Wood Camping Resort is geared to the lifestyle of today's campers, from tents to park models-a "home away from home" in luxury! Our sites are wooded, some pull-thru with concrete pads, 30-50 amp hook ups, cable (35 channels including HBO), picnic tables and fire rings on each site and secure free wifi.We are in the heart of Lancaster County, Amish country. Our beautiful Lake In Wood Camping Resort features a magnificent beautifully decorated entertainment hall with pipe organ. Lake In Wood offers a full program of family entertainment each week. Enjoy hand-dipped ice cream on our porch from our well-stocked store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lake in Wood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake-In-Wood Camping Hotel Narvon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing