We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent-going again this week!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake in Wood Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Robesonia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent-going again this week!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Lake in Wood is by far an upscale campground...more parking than camping. The roads are all beautifully paved with recycled mulch on the sides for easy walking and bike riding. The lake is stocked with a ton of fish or you can boat on it. Many sites are on the lake-we were. The entire campground is shaded by tall trees and in the spring there is the sweet scent of honey suckle on the breeze. As you walk around you get to enjoy carved trees throughout the campground that act as natural artwork. The sites are large with a paved pad. The restrooms are huge and clean with music playing. Everywhere there is landscaping and flowers-the permanent sites are very well kept. For the children, the many playgrounds are amazing. There is mini golf, a store, hand dipped ice cream, and to rent: paddle boats, golf carts, and play houses to sleep in. The pool is very clean indoor and outdoor. Laundry room had what looked to be new washer and dryers-also clean. There are even exercise stations (though i am too lazy to exercise on vacation). The resort is gated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjj223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeInWood, Public Relations Manager at Lake in Wood Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear cjj223,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your most recent stay with us! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our beautifully landscaped grounds, wood carvings, and all other amenities. We take pride in being an upscale resort and look forward to welcoming you back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    30
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
84
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Found this resort campground on line and based on previous reviews decided to give it a try. This resort is approximately 200 miles from home. Upon entering one can't be upset with what the eye sees. The resort is colorful, beyond well manicured and in a perfect location. The view from the registration building down to the lake area is breathtaking on a sunny day. You can see a yurt at the edge of the lake along with paddle boats and an airborne water stream. Really pretty. Registration was friendly and very easy. Our pull through spot for a 35 foot RV was very easy and the spot itself, although a cement pad, had grass with a fire pit ready to roll. Plenty of room for the slideouts and privacy should one want it.
There are extensive walking paths for fitness along with a well defined fitness trail. The lake was well stocked for someone who might like fishing and you were allowed to keep two and the rest needed to be released.
The campground had some interesting rentals. Besides the usual home models, there was a tree house, an old bus, and a boat people could rent to do their outside living. Quite interesting and well maintained.
There is a Gnome Cafe on the grounds which could accommodate many people and for those who didn't feel like cooking. Staff was very friendly.
In addition, there was miniature golf. Overall, the entire facility was immaculately kept and especially so for the bath houses. The swimming pools were terrific and there was a special pool area for young children that was really charming. Chairs were provided at poolside.
Our stay was from Sunday through Friday so we didn't experience "the weekend crowd". However based on the way we saw this facility run, rowdiness would not be accepted. This was a great place for families or retirees with much to do or not to do. The nature experience with butterflies and in our case lunar moths was exceptional. We met many nice and friendly people here if only with a wave and a smile.
We can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the red carpet area with full hookups but no shade--no problem for us. Any area of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earladybon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeInWood, Public Relations Manager at Lake in Wood Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear earladybon,

Thank you for your glowing review of your stay with us. We are truly delighted to hear that we met and exceeded your expectations at every turn. We are glad you enjoyed our landscaped grounds, amenities, cleanliness, and entire camping experience!

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you are looking for a family place to vacation, this is perfect! We stayed in the deluxe cabin called "DC Cabin". It was a one room cabin with bathroom, queen and 2 bunck beds. Kitchenette, 3 cu feet fridge/freezer (much larger than "dorm" size) table and 4 chairs. The AC ran ice cold in the nearly 100degree heat! The pool was clean, well maintained and beatuifully landscaped. The landscaping rivals major resorts! The playground near the pool was a ton of fun. If you are looking for a family place, no roudy campers, no all night fires with noise and beer... this is the place for you!

We did not have any trouble with the employees, they were all kind, and well informed. Yes, they are tight with the rules, but you have to be to keep a place like this so neat and clean. Yes, they were wound a little tight on Friday night... but they were checking huge campers/RVs in like one every 5 minutes, with little to no line/wait time. They run like a well oiled machine, which you come to appreciate with a large place like this!

We will definatley return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scooffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeInWood, Public Relations Manager at Lake in Wood Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Scooffer,

Thank you for your glowing review of our camping resort! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our DC Log Cabin. We take pride in our landscaped grounds and cleanliness and are happy to hear you had a great time! I have shared your review with our staff who are proud to know they made such a positive impact. We are a large campground with many weekend check-ins and are glad you understand how hardworking our staff can be in the middle of a Friday night!

We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

we stayed 4 days in memorial day weekend. Beautiful site, clean bathrooms, nice pool, movie, paddle boats, game room. The only bad thing is that said that the pool had heater, but the water was freezing...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladydi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeInWood, Public Relations Manager at Lake in Wood Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear ladydi76,

We are delighted to hear you spent Memorial Day weekend with us and enjoyed your stay! In regards to our pool, it is heated by solar panels, so the temperature is largely determined by the amount of sunlight. This is just one way that we are trying to be environmentally friendly!

We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanardsville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I and our three-year-old daughter spent three nights and four days at the campground. We are big campers and opted for a tent site instead of one of the rental units. The tent site was large, shaded and private, so we were happy there. TENT CAMPERS: Be prepared to hear the rock quarry early in the morning on weekdays! It is close by and was a pretty rude awakening each morning!

The grounds are beautiful, and the pool area is perfect for small children. The playground rivals some of the best I've seen. The camp store, café, game room and mini golf were all above average for a campground. The grounds and facilities that we used were all clean.

As far as cons, I'll agree with some of the negative reviews that the employees could stand to learn a little customer service. There seemed to be a lot of odd rules (like children couldn't be in the deep end of the pool with life jackets or water wings on!!!!!), and the employees were quick to share those rules without being polite. The golf cart fees are outrageous, but everything else seemed to be pretty reasonably price IMO. The lake was in very rough shape when we were there, so we avoided that area. I know they are in the process of cleaning out the algae, but it was a disappointment. The biggest con: Both weeks before we arrived and when we arrived we asked if any rental units were available (we worried that 4 nights in a tent could be too much), and we were told "No." YET, we saw several empty units during our stay. We opted to leave a night early and get a hotel, but the day at the pool was worth the $.

All in all, we will consider another visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JaimyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeInWood, Public Relations Manager at Lake in Wood Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear JaimyF,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent stay with us! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our beautifully landscaped and well-maintained grounds. Our staff works hard to keep our park clean and pristine! We are also happy to hear you enjoyed our many amenities, such as the store, cafe, playground, game room, and mini golf.

I apologize our customer service and rules were not satisfying, and your comments have been shared with our staff in order to improve future travelers' experience. Our golf cart fees are $45.00 per night, which is pretty normal for these rentals. We are sorry they seemed high for you. Our rental units were booked every weekend in June, and depending on when your 4 nights fell, you may have seen some empty ones. However, that does not mean someone was not checking in to them at some time. We have since finished cleaning out the algea in the lake, but apologize for being in the process of that during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We visited this campground with our travel trailer, so I cannot comment on the various rentals offered here.

When you pull into the property, immediately, you realize you are at a very nice campground -- the grounds are very well kept -- from the landscaping to the streets and buildings. It begins to go downhill from the point you cross the threshold into the registration office. Most of the employees and all of management are extremely rude, inattentive and unwelcoming. This is a real shame because it sets the tone for the rest of your stay, which is one of a management who couldn't care less if you are there or not. I witnessed management treating adults as if they were badly behaved toddlers, scolding them for arriving a little earlier than check-in time -- the people got out of their vehicle, walked into the office and up to the registration desk and said hello before giving their name. There was no courteous reply like "Welcome to Lake in Wood, how was your trip here?" No, it was "you know, you are here early. Our check-in time is 3:00 and we charge a full day for early check-ins." Well, that may be true, and maybe these people wouldn't mind paying for early check-in, but the rude lady at the desk just had to scold them first. She never did welcome them.

The grounds are pristine and very well maintained. Our camp site looked as though we were the first people to ever use it -- this is what good maintenance does -- it keeps the place looking like new. All of the roads are paved which does a great job of keeping the campground dust-free which is great for breathing and keeping the campers clean. There is a nice pool area with pools for adults and children and there is plenty of space for people to sit and relax.

It is nice that there is a café on-site which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, but it would be nice, and make sense if they were open a little later than 7:00pm.

The location is good, being near to all of the tourist areas surrounding Lancaster, Pennsylvania is very convenient, but it would be nice if somebody on-staff knew a little about the area to point people in the right direction. They claim to have a concierge, but I never found him or her.

The only pollution here is the noise. The property borders a gravel quarry which is very loud from 7:00am until dark. After dark, you can still hear equipment running, but at least the crusher is finished with its job around 5:00pm, so the constant, very loud drone and crushing noise is non-existent.

I would have given an overall rating of "Very Good" if it were not for the rude and power-hungry management. It's a real shame that my opinion of Lake in Wood is totally skewed by a problem that could so easily be remedied, but after reading other reviews where people have complained about the same thing, I don't think anything is going to change anytime soon.

We will not be back, and that is entirely the fault of the people who are supposed to want me here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MtVernonMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeInWood, Public Relations Manager at Lake in Wood Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear MtVernonMan,

Thank you for your review of your most recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautifully landscaped grounds and amenities. In regards to the Gnome Cafe hours, I would just like to point out that the cafe is open until 7:00 during the week, but later during the weekends. In addition, we do not have a concierge on staff, but most of our staff are local and know the area very well. We also have directions and brochures to every tourist attraction in the area, which many of our guests find to be helpful.

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the service of our staff. Your comments have been shared with our manager who will address this with our staff as a movement to improve our services. We are certainly not a "power-hungry management," but only wish for our check-ins to go smoothly and quickly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This campground is by far one of the most "upscale" campgrounds I've been too. It is also one of the most expensive. It is very clean and the pool and play areas are up-to-date. There are also a lot of seasonal campers. The reason I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 is 3 things - 1 there is poison ivy very close to the sites,2 - I felt very enclosed in my site - which for some people might be a good thing - but we like to camp with friends and family and like being able to camp next to someone so that we can share sites and 3 - even though the site fit our camper, it was very difficult to get into our site, it was a very tight squeeze! There were open sites for very large campers (5th wheels) but the majority of the sites were enclosed by trees and brush.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VS353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeInWood, Public Relations Manager at Lake in Wood Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear VS353,

Thank you for your most recent review on our resort! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our many amenities and cleanliness. In regards to the poison ivy, there is some in the "no-mans land," however there is no poision ivy on actual sites. We're sorry to hear you felt enclosed in your site. We have many different size sites and try to accomodate you in the correct one.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narvon
19.4 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
7.5 mi away
The Waynebrook Inn
The Waynebrook Inn
#1 of 1 in Honey Brook
99 reviews
12.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike
9.2 mi away
Spring Gulch Resort Campground
1.3 mi away
Sun Valley RV Resort
Sun Valley RV Resort
#1 of 1 in Bowmansville
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake in Wood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake in Wood Resort

Property: Lake in Wood Resort
Address: 576 Yellow Hill Rd, Narvon, PA 17555-9335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Narvon
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Narvon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake In Wood Camping Resort is geared to the lifestyle of today's campers, from tents to park models-a "home away from home" in luxury! Our sites are wooded, some pull-thru with concrete pads, 30-50 amp hook ups, cable (35 channels including HBO), picnic tables and fire rings on each site and secure free wifi.We are in the heart of Lancaster County, Amish country. Our beautiful Lake In Wood Camping Resort features a magnificent beautifully decorated entertainment hall with pipe organ. Lake In Wood offers a full program of family entertainment each week. Enjoy hand-dipped ice cream on our porch from our well-stocked store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lake in Wood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake-In-Wood Camping Hotel Narvon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing