We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Kumm Esse Diner - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kumm Esse Diner
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Young girl waited on us, did not greet us, asked only what do you want to drink, then asked do you know what you want to order, when asked what comes on a cheeseburger, real snotty replied cheese, brings us our dinner, we receive no drinks and no rolls, and did not return to ask if everything alright, the place was dead, not busy, Manager sat on his large bottom and did nothing the entire time, I complained to waitress and she went to Manager, Manager did nothing, we did not even finish our meal nor did we receive all of it, and the Manager had us still pay, Manager was unable to run the register, the Manager/HE did not speak with us, took the made up story from the young waitress, and then the Manager proceeded to get violent and yelled in front of the whole Diner. If you dont want cold food that tasted like a week old scraped from bottom of a sink and served to you with nasty treatment where you feel ultimately taken advantage of and violated, then enjoy the diner, if you dont enjoy being mistreated and paying for it then you will warn others

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaded9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peach pie even better than Strawberry!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

We had 5 in our party and it is hard to seat a group larger than 4 but we sat at adjoining tables, we had 2 Monte Cristo sandwichs, a Hot Turkey a Pizza burger and California Cheese burger and we were all pleased. But the best was the Peach Pie. Yum....

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liket0eat0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean cozzy diner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

The place was clean and had that local hometown feal. the food was typical diner food. nothing to brag to much about but nothing to complain about either. dessent prices

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DO NOT MISS THE STRAWBERRY PIE!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

This is one of those been around forever diners that you either love or you "meh". If you want a whiff of how food is cooked and prepared in Pennsylvania Dutch country, then this is your place. If you either grew up with or can appreciate the simplicity of that rural Pennsylvania style of cooking, then you won't be disappointed. Don't be mistaken, this is a comfort food place for Pennsylvania locals. If your idea of good food is mouth exploding flavors of Indian, Thai, Tuscan, or other more "exotic" (frankly, Pennsylvania Dutch is very exotic to me) cuisines, then you'll probably walk away thinking "boy, that was really kind of bland and mediocre". But those outsiders that can put themselves in the mood will appreciate this sliver of Americana. Regardless of what your culinary leanings are, you have to try their specialty (not always available in the winter), and that is the strawberry pie. From the crust, to the strawberries, to the whipped topping, it's a little slice of summer heaven. Actually, almost all their desserts are to die for, even if you think the main courses are a little boring or bland (but they are savory and familiar!). Another thing to try out is the salad with bacon dressing (a very Pennsylvania Dutch dish), which is one of the best in the area. It's a thick, vinegary, bacon and hard boiled egg heart attack dressing slobbered over iceberg lettuce.

In a nutshell, the quality of the food is like Mom's, so either you'll love it, or you'll be in that too city-fied, rebellious phase when all you want is a simple flash fried duck breast in basil pepper sauce and a roll of sea urchin on kokuho rose rice and seaweed.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaocheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, PA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't know??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

We have eatten at Kumm Esse quite often in the past. Today, we went for lunch. When we walked in, it says, "Wait to be seated", we did and noone seemed to acknowledge us for quite awhile. After we were seated, the waitress brought the menu quickly to us during the other things she was doing. We got our drinks, ordered, and then sat and sat and sat and sat.....Anyone seeing a pattern? We sat there for over 35 minutes-NO FOOD came out to us. Finally, we told the waitress that she might as well have the cooks box the food because we didn't have time to wait. When I finally got to eat my lunch, the bread was soggy and there was a hair in the food. Wow, this was terrible today. And, we didn't even get a break on the bill-seeing that we couldn't even eat it there. Won't be going back there for a long long long time. My husband was furious!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonbon52769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kumm Esse Diner also viewed

 
Myerstown, PA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing