We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MainStay Suites of Lancaster County
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mountville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2005

Well the first thing we said when we pulled up to the MainStay Suites was "it looks nice!" And it does- the hotel looks very nice, inside and out.
We chose this hotel because it was virtually the only hotel in all of Lancaster County that would fit 6 in one room...all of us couldn't fit anywhere else.
The lobby was very elegant and welcoming and so was the receptionist at check-in (and check-out).

The amount of space in our room was incredible! The two beds were on one side, and the couch was on the other, and they seemed to be miles apart! Without a doubt the largest room we ever stayed in. We had two Queen beds, i think the rate was around $160 a night. (We only stayed one night).

Yes, the pool is small, but it wasn't crowded during our visit so we virtually had it to ourselves for the time being (very nice!)

For it's cleanliness, hospitality, and proximity to attractions such as Dutch Wonderland (about 10 mins away) and Hershey (about 25-30 mins away) I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this region.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 127 of 127 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2005

We took a two-night trip to Lancaster, and decided on this place, as many places in Lancaster are getting old and dirty. For a price of around $135 per night, it is nice. Situated near, but not right on, the highway which can be used to get to Lancaster, (The hotel was a couple of miles away) it was well positioned. The Sleep Inn next door hosts a pool, although I did not see in so cannot rate it, and the exterior is pleasant. There is not much of a check in desk though, and it was more like a motel office, but it was more spacious and had a breakfast room. The elevator and halls were clean enough, and the room, although a faint smell was there, was big enough and generally clean. The bathroom floor was sticky and an open shampoo bottle was found. The breakfast balanced the small disappointment out. Free waffles! Not pre-made. The batter is there, and waffle-cookers are provided, though only two, to make your own. (This should be popular with the kids.) And even better for the kids, a thick, sweet, strawberry topping was provided. This hotel all in all, turned out to be nice, and once again, one of the better ones in/near Lancaster.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RovingGnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2004

We've stayed at the Mainstay Suites several times on our Hershey/Dutchwonderland trips. Its a great place for the price. The staff is very friendly and informative. The rooms are large. Our room consisted of 1 queen bed and a pullout sofa bed which sleeps 2. There was enough room for the pack 'n' play near the sofa. The kitchen area had a microwave, full size fridge (a BIG plus!) and stove, complete with dishes, pots and utensils. The room was clean. The only drawbacks that we've experienced was that one time we had "soiled" pillows (but management came and delivered another one immediately) and another time the mattress on the sofa was "soiled" (which we covered with extra sheets). Since the supply closet is just down the hall we were able to get extra sheets and towels as need.
I am staying at the Mainstay on our next trip and have recommended it to friends.

2  Thank MiniVanGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2004

My family stayed at this hotel this past week during our trip to Dutch Wonderland and Hershey. I was pleasantly surprised to find a nice, clean hotel with very efficient suites. We were able to cook (no ovens) and the refridgerator is full sized. The drive to Dutch Wonderland was only 15 minutes and Hershey was about 1/2 hour. This place was quiet and the pools were clean. They served a very impressive continental breakfast, with 2 self-serve belgian waffle makers (with premade mix), toast, bagels, juice, etc. along with dining area. They were friendly and helpful with directions and dining suggestions.

Drawbacks: (1) this is a long term stay place. No daily "room service". By request they will make beds and remove trash. Otherwise, they have a self-serve supply closet. Good cleaning is once a week. (2) The indoor pool is at the Sleep Inn next door. (3) No inhouse movies, limited TV, no VCR's.

None of the above was a major issue for us. I would highly recommend this hotel for a family of up to 4.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmancusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
Thank Pasquale F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindagallucci1, Director of Sales at MainStay Suites of Lancaster County, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountville
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Lancaster County
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster County
1.5 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#21 of 40 in Lancaster
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Manheim - Lancaster
6.4 mi away
Lancaster Inn & Suites
Lancaster Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Manheim
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites of Lancaster County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites of Lancaster County

Address: 314 Primrose Ln, Mountville, PA 17554-1262
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Mountville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mountville
Price Range: $86 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites of Lancaster County 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites of Lancaster County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Of Lancaster County Hotel Mountville
Mainstay Suites Mountville
Mainstay Mountville
Mountville Mainstay Suites
MainStay Suites Of Lancaster County PA - Mountville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing