We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy place with homemade fresh food.”
Review of Bloomin Onion

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bloomin Onion
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy place with homemade fresh food.”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We really enjoyed our meal here. This place is run by family and you are made to feel welcomed. Eve is wonderful. Being it was so cold outside (single digits) she offered free cup of soup to all patrons. That was a nice touch as well as having a salad bar with any dinner entree. We were seated next to a gas fireplace which added to the coziness of this place. So many wonderful items on the menu. Can't wait to try the homemade pizza and chicken franchiese smothered in mozzarella cheese. This will be our new go to place when in the Poconos.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoconosTeacup, Owner at Bloomin Onion, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
thank you for your kind words, we at Neville's are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us. like us on facebook. Neville's Bloomin Onion Restaurant/ facebook. thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawley PA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“food and atmosphere galore”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This character-laden, homey little restaurant will delight with good food, friendly service and loads of atmosphere. Converted years ago from a former hole in the wall bar, its rustic interior invites comfort. Our party of eight was treated like a king's court by the owner, including a personal visit from the chef (another owner). Absolutely delightful!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank smalltownjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoconosTeacup, Owner at Bloomin Onion, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresco, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Place But Don't Come with your Nose in the Air!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

OK,
I have been to this restaurant several times and have done the take out thing too. I have found it to be a friendly place the food was good (the Kids love the pizza) and it's just a relaxing place to be. But if you are expecting white glove service this ain't the place for you. If you expect to sit down and have a waiter speaking in an accent more artificial than your own feeding you with a silver spoon while pushing a bottle of wine that costs more than your meal and is older than you GO SOMEWHERE ELSE! This is a down home place that could be described as a little rustic and frankly a place the locals eat. They have a wonderful beer selection (one of the few places that actually has Yuengling Black and Tan). Someone mentioned that they have kids or children working there that had no idea how to "properly" serve someone. Well ok maybe their serving staff is young I never took that much notice but I would rather see a kid WORKING and LEARNING as opposed to breaking into my car in the parking lot. So I applaud the Blooming Onion for hiring young people and giving them an opportunity to not only earn money but to learn. Bottom Line if you're looking for a fun place to relax have a few laughs and some really good food, give them a shot.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never Again!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Six of us went there for dinner. We ALL agreed the food was overpriced and the quality was very poor. Service was bad. One person found a hair in the food half way through the meal. Told the waitress about it and made sure to say that he was not looking for a free meal or anythugn - just wanted to let her know. Instead of just apologizing, she asks him if he has a dog (???). She asked because he was bald so it must have been a dog's hair since it could not possibly be from anyone in the kitchen (????????). What a fool.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
154 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful Comfort Food”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

After reading a favorable review in our local newspaper my husband and I dined there this week and to our delight the food was even better than the article stated. Every course was delicious and served by our cordial waitress Eve who is also the owner along with her husband/cook Tom.On Friday and Saturday they also offer a fall-off-the bone tender pork BBQ. So if you have a craving for comfort food, and who doesn't, then I suggest you head to Neville's Bloomin' Onion in Mountainhome, Pa.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carm18426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloomin Onion also viewed

Canadensis, Pocono Mountains Region
Mountainhome, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Canadensis, Pocono Mountains Region
Canadensis, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Mountainhome, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Bloomin Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing