We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small casino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mount Pocono
Northeast Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice small casino”
Reviewed March 10, 2011

This review is mainly for the CASINO for those interested. We play poker and the room is VERY small. You are crammed with chairs touching the person behind you. Most of the dealers (there are a few exceptions) are not very friendly. On the plus side, I do like that they give you a "buzzer" so you can go elsewhere in the casino while you wait! I agree with all the SMOKY comments. No smoking in the poker room but they allow people to smoke RIGHT OUTSIDE of it and the smoke wafts in. Other good points...they have a BAD BEAT and FREE DRINKS...neither of which you will find at MOHEGAN SUN in Wilkes Barre...But, sorry, MOHEGAN has better service and much friendlier staff. At Mount Airy we sometimes hang at the circle bar and there are always plenty of bartenders and I have never waited for a drink. Nice place to chill. I've only eaten at Betty's and the food is ok. In the summer they cook food outside on grills and it is nice! I think you can get a burger or a hot dog for $1. The casino is clean. The bathrooms are clean. All in all it is nice for being in the Poconos. (This ain't Vegas, people)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilMamaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtAiryCasino, Guest Relations Manager at Mount Airy Casino Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with the poker room and dealer staff. Please know your comments have been forwarded to our tables department. While we cannot advise of a particular change in our poker room layout at this time, we will certainly take your feedback into consideration when deciding on future additions. We are pleased to hear your positive feedback about our beverage, food venues and the Bad Beat Jackpot. Additionally, we have made improvements in our air systems on the casino floor in effort to reduce the smell of smoke.

We would love to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again.

Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    390
    134
    74
    90
See reviews for
163
746
44
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
delaware
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

1.) Hotel is really new and rooms are very impressive with up to date furnishings
2.) Hotel is smoky, it does carry, was everywhere except in our room, 3.) Hotel is for ADULTS, they tell you that when reserving. We had 18 yr. olds, and they
had to be escorted everywhere!
4,) The beds are DREAMY, soooo comfortable, like sleeping on a cloud
5.) Spa is Wonderful!! . Very relaxing and many amenities
6.) keep in mind this place is for adults, but, wow it is really a nice place!! Would go again in a minute!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DelawareSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

My wife and I went to visit for a long weekend.
POSITIVE: We had a kind suite on the 3rd floor. The suite was excellent. A lot of space, nice bathroom, bed room and living area and kitchen.
Room service was great, it only took them a half hour to bring breakfast.
The Spa was nice. We had a couples "Escape". The massage was excellent, the facial also, the pedicure was okay.
The Casino: We were first time visitors and did not know what to do and where to go. So many opportunities, but no explanations. After losing money, we finally "got it" and had fun playing and losing. hahaha. We had dinner reservation at "La Sorelle Cucina". The service was great, the food excellent. The wine not so good and expensive. The staff let us enjoy ourselves and did not hurry us. Thank you, thank you, thank you. We will come back, even that our bill came to almost $300. It was worth it.
I highly recommend La Sorelle Cucina.

We also had dinner at "Red Steackhouse". We had 4 people serving our table. FOUR!! and none of them knew what the other was doing. The appetizer was excellent, my entree was rare and I asked for medium. No problem it was returned to the kitchen and cooked a little longer. The manager came over and apologies for the "mistake". After dinner we told one of the waiters that I would go into the casino for a cigareet and thereafter we would order our desert. While I was gone, 4 different waiters came to my wife asking if she was ready to order desert. Four and none knows what's going on at any table. When I came back to the table we ordered desert. The desert arrived together with the check. WHAT?? Did I ask for the check? No, I did not. I advised the waiter that I did not feel welcome, since they already gave me the check and I was still enjoying my desert, Irish coffee and still had wine in the bottle. His response: You can bring the wine to the casino floor. Handing you the check together with desert is our policy. He took the check and suddenly again the manager came to our table apologizing and explaning it was their policy. We accepted her apologies. After an other irish coffee, we asked for the check. We left a very nice tip, but never a "thank you" from any person. Also no offer for a free drink, which they should have done just as a service to clients. I don't recommend this place. The food at La Sorelle is much and much better. The service at la Sorelle is much and much better.

A Negative is that they did not clean up the room service cards, which remained on the floor in the hallway even after midnight, although the breakfast was serviced in the morning. That means these cards were there for at least 24 hours. Luckily this was winter, what about if it would have been summer?
Reggie's Express is simply expensive.

The lines for the buffet are long, very long. Betty's diner has good food.
Since there is not much to do at Mount Erie Lodge, only gambling which gets a little boring after a while, I recommend a stay of 1 night. It is long enough to enjoy a good dinner, Spa and some gambling.

At the end we won a few hundred bucks, which brought our gambling loss to approx. $1,000.

We did not join the Players Club. No reason for it, since it will take a long time for us to come back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gompy_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtAiryCasino, Guest Relations Manager at Mount Airy Casino Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time bring to our attention the property issues during your recent visit with us. We have made great efforts to ensure our guests have an enjoyable and memorable experience, so we are seriously concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We appreciate the oppertunity to improve our service and prevent these problems from occuring in the future.
Again please let me apologize on behalf of the Property Management and Staff. You are a valued guest and we appreciate your patronage.

Mount Airy Casino Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

My 3 girlfriends and I visited the Spa at the resort. We all loved our treatments and enjoyed the ambiance of the spa. Our issue is the smell. The relaxing room smelled of smoke. We are all non smokers and this really ruined our experience. All 4 of us smelled it. Then at check out it really reeked. When I mentioned this to the receptionist she curtly told us it was due to poor ventilation. She did not seemed happy with my comment even though I was polite and went out of my way to speak in a low voice so the other customers wouldn't hear me. We were all so disappointed that our nice experience was ruined by our smelly hair at the end. We all had to shampoo when we got home to get the smoke smell out. We will not be back until the ventilation is fixed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank havesuitcase153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahamas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

As a valentine weekend my partner and I spent 3 nights at Mt. airy....the rooms are very beautiful, clean and spacious. The casino was very nice, even tho we are not persons who gamble....but walking through it and looking was nice. I would certaintly recommend the Mount Airy Resort.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BahamasJayjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2011

I live in ramsey, NJ and had the urge to play some blackjack. I it only took me a hour and fifteen minutes door to door. The parking lot was packed but after five minutes i did find a spot. I didn't stay over, there were no rooms availible. I took me one 1/2 lap around the casino floor to find a fifteen dollar table. The staff seemed friendly and the drink girls were at my table every ten minutes. If you wanted to get a drink at the large oval bar in the middle of the casino floor (pretty cool) a beer was only $3.75, not bad. My deeler at the table told me that there were plenty of hotels within 5 minutes of the casino if i couln't get a room at the casino. I am an ex-smoker so I didn't mind the second hand smoke but there was a lot of it. Would I go back? YES. By the way, There are a bunch of fireworks warehouses on the way out of PA, just don't get caught.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Makers661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

My boyfriend had planned a 3 day, 2 night Valentine's Day getaway for the both of us. We live in NJ and it took us 2 1/2 hours to get to the hotel. We were able to check in around 11:30am which made us happy because we could get to the ski slopes faster. We skied at Jack Frost and Big Boulder since we had free tickets. Both ski resorts were about 1/2 an hour away from the hotel. The room was great....spacious and clean. We had dinner Valentine's night at the Italian restaurant and were pleased with the food and service. We had dinner the next night at the Buffet which was not so good. I think they just need a better variety of foods. The only thing that I did not like was the fact that security was checking ID's ALL the time. We couldn't even walk from the elevators to the doors without getting stopped. I'm 26 and look very young and I understand the need to make sure everyone is of age, but this got on my nerves. I had to make sure I always had my ID with me even though my hand was stamped and I wasn't gambling or drinking during the day. I go to AC all the time since I live close by and have never been asked for ID so many times in any casino or hotel I have stayed at. Everything else was a great experience and will probably return for another ski trip before the end of the season.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyShore14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Pocono
2.1 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,443 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Mount Pocono
301 reviews
1.3 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,184 reviews
13.9 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
2,036 reviews
21.9 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Airy Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Airy Casino Resort

Property: Mount Airy Casino Resort
Address: 312 Woodland Rd., Mount Pocono, PA 18344-7172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Mount Pocono
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mount Pocono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Airy Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stay in one of our lavish Pocono resort rooms, you can play all day...and all night. Unwind in wall-to-wall comfort with pillow-top beds, spacious bathrooms, room service, LCD TVs with in-room movies, hi-speed Internet and more. With rooms like these, you'll be doing anything but roughing it this hotel in the Poconos. Mount Airy Casino Resort has been awarded the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Rating. Mount Airy Casino Resort is the first casino resort in Pennsylvania to have earned this prominent award. For your indulgence, we offer two separate levels of resort luxury. Our King and Double Queen guest rooms are an experience well beyond the standard Pocono's vacation. Some of the features you'll enjoy include:•King or double queen beds•Spacious bathrooms•Walk-in showersLooking for the pinnacle of luxury and comfort? Experience euphoria with a grand King Suite. These magnificent Pocono hotel rooms feature all of the lavish amenities of our guest rooms, plus:•Cozy living room•Granite wet bar•Spacious bathroom•Granite surround porcelain tub•Double granite sinks. Some of our suites also offer a separate second bathroom and a spectacular lake view.In addition to an atmosphere of style and refinement, all of our guest rooms feature the finest linens for your comfort, including:•100% goose down comforters•Sheets woven from Egyptian cotton•Chelsea fleece blankets•Pillows crafted from softique microfiber and more. After you've taken in your luxurious surroundings, you'll want to step out and enjoy everything else Mount Airy Casino Resort has to offer. Relax at our Spa or Salon, indulge your cravings at any of our five exclusive restaurants, grab a drink at Gypsies Lounge and Nightclub, start a hot streak on our expansive casino floor, or play a round of golf. With so much to do, the only thing you have to worry about is where to start. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Airy Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Airy Hotel Mount Pocono
Mount Airy Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing