We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is inedible, rooms just ok, casino decent.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mount Pocono
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Food is inedible, rooms just ok, casino decent.”
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We decided to spend our vacation in the Poconos and chose the Mount Airy Casino because they were running a special on the rooms. It package also included $50 per day for dining. Sounds great, right? Not when the food is mostly disgusting. Specifically, the food at the buffet is inedible. I don't know how one would acheive such a bad flavor and texture on most of the dishes unless they were purposely making an effort to make it bad. The diner was just ok, with fair burgers and edible breakfast. However, the home fries were soggy and cold and most of the food seemed pre-made and then stuck under the microwave. They really, really need to get it together in the food department. We were so turned off by the horrible buffet that we didn't even want to try the so-called "fine dining" restaurants. Also, the steak restaurant, Red, charges between $32-$45 for a steak, with no side dishes. With regard to the rooms, they were nothing more than standard. No bathtubs in the "deluxe" rooms seemed very odd to us. No pool, no whirlpool, nothing to take a soak in was very disappointing to say the least. The shower had some mold issues and when we arrived in the room, the toilet was unflushed and had toilet paper in it which was really gross. One of the lamps was broken also. The room was relatively clean but absolutely not worth the normal rate of $200. If it weren't for the special we would have been very disappointed in the rate. Another big issue the hotel has is the fact that ALL the common areas are extremely smelly with cigarette odor. Our room was non-smoking and was fine, but the hallways right outside, the elevator, the lobby, etc., stink to high heaven of smoke. The casino is pretty nice, and we had alot of fun and were able to gamble for quite a few hours each night on little money. I would say the slots are pretty loose. Our package included $15 per day gambling credit and we were able to parlay that into hours of entertainment. The nightclub was always closed when we tried to look inside though. The staff of the hotel were polite but not warm per se. Alot of other reviewers had complaints about the service and I could see how if there was a problem they wouldn't be quick to address it. When we complained about the buffet, the manager said he would "pass along the feedback" but did not offer any compensation. They're just not very friendly but I didn't find them overtly rude. All in all, it was an average place but way overpriced for the normal rates. I would definitely not recommend eating in the buffet, and if you want to stay overnight make sure you get a good rate because it's not worth the money they charge for the average rooms.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sunta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountAiryCasino, Social Media at Mount Airy Casino Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2011
We are very sorry to hear of anything less than a perfect stay here at Mount Airy Casino Resort and reasons for such an unpleasant stay will be looked into and dealt with accordingly. The Mount Airy Buffet is a dining experience that we receive so many compliments on and an experience with one goal in mind and that is to satisfy our guests above and beyond. We appreciate you honesty, your feedback and taking the time to review Mount Airy Casino Resort and again we are very sorry for any experience that does not go above your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    388
    134
    73
    89
See reviews for
161
743
43
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

The bad's about this hotel outweighed the good's. Walking to go to the buffet, minors had to get a wristband telling the employees they need an escort. The bands were a waste to the environment because you could obviously see that they are minors. The hotel doesn't even trust the ADULTS because if their are minors, you would need an escort when the adults could do that. even if you were like 20 or so you wouldn't be able to venture around the hotel. You even needed an escort to the bathroom which I thought was very dumb. The buffet did not have much of a variety at all. We went to the sushi bar and they said it is not included, and yet in the hotel room, The booklet says it is. The elevators needed a card to use so we had to try it about 10 times before another family used theirs. They had a big gingerbread house in the lobby, but there were ants on it which I thought was disgusting. I do not plan to come back to this hotel and I do not recommend this hotel at all

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank soohoo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountAiryCasino, at Mount Airy Casino Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2011
Mount Airy Casino Resort takes extra precaution to ensure safety to our patrons and to follow proper operations of all gaming and gaming conduct codes. We are sorry for any inconvenience that may have resulted from our passion to keep our patrons safe but please understand it’s out of our sincere care for guests like yourself and your family that we take such serious measures to ensure you and your family’s safety.

Thank you for your honesty and your review, we want to make your stay the best experience possible and value your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

I stayed there with my boyfriend for 2 nights. Staff is great- from valet attendant to front desk agent. Decor is amazing! hotel is very modern and rooms look brand new (I booked a room with a King bed). Restaurants are good, only tried the Italian one because Red Steakhouse was booked the night we wanted to reserve a table there. The glass bar and Gypsies were very good and breakfast at Betty's dinner was delicious. I really liked this hotel! I went there to do snow sports and Camelback was just 20 min away, also The Crossing outlets are just 12 min away, shopping there was good. Getting there from NYC is simple and less than 2 hrs away.
Casino- very nice even though I was not there to gamble. Smoke was not too bad there.
We did express check out by just reviewing our bill on the TV- nice feature.
Rooms- nice decor, soft & confy bed, spacious. Nice big shower and bathroom amenities.

I reccomend this hotel... Its GREAT!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariJoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2010

December 14-18th (check in time is at 4pm and check out is at 11am)

Let me just start off by saying this was better then expected it was almost like a mini resort! We came down for a little get away snowboarding at CamelBack (20mins away), Premium Crossing Outlet (10mins), Desaki (hibachi &s sushi local restaurant 5mins) and stopped by at the Pocono Cheesecake Factory.

As you can see this casino is near a few attractions so its not as boring and not all about gambling with a little of nightlife. Speaking of which it has a lounge called Gypsies (we went here on Friday night they had a beer pong event and a live band playing) and also a sports bar called the glass bar(Football and Basketball). The casino games included slots, roulette, blackjack, poker room and some other card games, that wraps up the nightlife.

Restaurants
Reds (seafood/steakhouse) $$$$
Le Sorelle (Italian) $$$
Betty's Diner $
Buffet $
Asian Noodle Bar (shared space with buffet) $$
Reggie's Express (snack bar) $

We tried everything except for the snack bar. Overall I liked all the food maybe not so much the buffet but those are rarely ever good. For Reds and Le Sorelle it seems like they're one restaurant but just split into different sections and different menus because its in the same space as well the chefs also look like they're working together. Anyways apparently for those 2 restaurants you have to dress up a little bit more. We also had room service seems like the food comes from the restaurants downstairs.

The Casino also had a Spa, Newsstand (offers drinks, snacks, smokes/cigars, medicine and probably any other necessities.

Room was great very clean and everything looked brand new the only thing is that the window doesn't open but there was heat or a/c that you can control. I can't seem to understand why this place is rated at a 67 percent rating it actually made me want to shy away from here so thats why i decided to write this full review maybe it can help someone on their decision or get more info/idea of this place.

I guess if all your doing is just gambling then really you wont take in this place but if you're planning out some activities this place is fairly entertaining. For some more details just look at my pictures I also added some captions on what the room has.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breezeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

The hotel staff are friendly & courteous. The room is practically brand new. Room has a safe, refrigerator, coffee pot and other amenities. It was decorated lovely, clean, beds comfortable. I especially liked the Christmas decorations. No problem at check in - no problem at check-out. The resort has various restaurants; food excellent, even the buffet.
The casino/resort is close to shopping, dining, skiing. We really had a great time. Beautiful in the winter months!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bullit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

My husband & I wanted a short getaway, and this place was the perfect answer. Just about an hour from NY, the resort is much smaller than the old Mount Airy, but the complete overhaul has proved successful. Our room was absolutely gorgeous! Huge bathroom and very contemporary bedroom decor. Comfy beds! Very clean. Wish we could have been on a floor higher than 2, but perhaps 3-6 are reserved for high rollers...
Casino is great. No problems. Very professional staff & great little restaurants - not quite gourmet or luxury - more like very upscale shopping mall.

Small compared to AC and of course Vegas. One casino, one big room, one gift shop, one buffet. Crossings Outlets are 5 min away.

We'd go back. NOT for the same price though. Get a package or comps, etc. Not worth over $175/ nt. Food is expensive too. Small portions...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allentown pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed this getaway. We went for 2 days for my birthday and I loved it! Beautiful rooms, great service, and it seemed as if everyone was courtious in the poconos. I'm looking forward to our next visit( hopefully soon)!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherb1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Pocono
2.1 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,426 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Mount Pocono
300 reviews
1.3 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,169 reviews
13.9 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
2,020 reviews
21.9 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Airy Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Airy Casino Resort

Property: Mount Airy Casino Resort
Address: 312 Woodland Rd., Mount Pocono, PA 18344-7172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Mount Pocono
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mount Pocono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Airy Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stay in one of our lavish Pocono resort rooms, you can play all day...and all night. Unwind in wall-to-wall comfort with pillow-top beds, spacious bathrooms, room service, LCD TVs with in-room movies, hi-speed Internet and more. With rooms like these, you'll be doing anything but roughing it this hotel in the Poconos. Mount Airy Casino Resort has been awarded the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Rating. Mount Airy Casino Resort is the first casino resort in Pennsylvania to have earned this prominent award. For your indulgence, we offer two separate levels of resort luxury. Our King and Double Queen guest rooms are an experience well beyond the standard Pocono's vacation. Some of the features you'll enjoy include:•King or double queen beds•Spacious bathrooms•Walk-in showersLooking for the pinnacle of luxury and comfort? Experience euphoria with a grand King Suite. These magnificent Pocono hotel rooms feature all of the lavish amenities of our guest rooms, plus:•Cozy living room•Granite wet bar•Spacious bathroom•Granite surround porcelain tub•Double granite sinks. Some of our suites also offer a separate second bathroom and a spectacular lake view.In addition to an atmosphere of style and refinement, all of our guest rooms feature the finest linens for your comfort, including:•100% goose down comforters•Sheets woven from Egyptian cotton•Chelsea fleece blankets•Pillows crafted from softique microfiber and more. After you've taken in your luxurious surroundings, you'll want to step out and enjoy everything else Mount Airy Casino Resort has to offer. Relax at our Spa or Salon, indulge your cravings at any of our five exclusive restaurants, grab a drink at Gypsies Lounge and Nightclub, start a hot streak on our expansive casino floor, or play a round of golf. With so much to do, the only thing you have to worry about is where to start. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Airy Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Airy Hotel Mount Pocono
Mount Airy Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing