We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paradise Stream Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mount Pocono
Reviewed May 21, 2013

When my fiance and I walked into the room I could not help but burst into tears. I paid A LOT of money for this place and was extremely let down. It looks like the place has not been renovated EVER. The decor left a lot to be desired. The wall paper was peeling, there were paint chips floating in the pool. There were no windows in our room which made it stuffy and clostrophobic. It's all inclusive which would be great if the resturant was open past 8 pm. We arrived a little later on a Friday night and had to go elsewhere to eat ( and spend more money) because the seating was over. So we ate somewhere close by and made the best of the night. The next day was supposed to be a mustang show which was a complete joke. There were about 10 mustangs there! Could of walked around a Ford dealer if we wanted to see that. We decided that we wanted to switch rooms that night so I asked the front desk. They were very nice about it. They had nothing where we were so we went to a sister hotel of theirs 20 miles away. We ended up in the Champagne Tower in Pocono Palace resort. When we pulled up it was like paradise compared to the other place. But that was very deceiving too. The lobby was nice. There was a resturant, a lounge and a gift shop. But the rooms...OMG just as outdated as the last. Horrible decor! Spiderwebs, tiles coming up in the bathroom, looked like red wax all over the MIRRORED ceiling. There were little bumps in the mirror which we figured out were little lights that looked like stars. Kinda cute. A lot were blown out. The little fan on the ceiling was dusty. Tried to fill up the jacuzzi, ran the water for half hour and it only got a quarter way filled. Felt like the 1970's. We went to the lounge first for complimentary appetizers which consisted of mini crab cakes and some chicken/poppers. For $300 plus a night you would think we'd get more that that! Dinner was okay. Staff was okay. Not overly friendly but pleasant. The food was average. There was one waitress for the whole place serving alcohol which took 20 minutes for her just to get to our table.
So the moral of my story is....the website is absolute false advertising and it is VERY high priced for what it is. I feel taken advantage of and mislead by this establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madelyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Paradise Stream Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Very sorry to hear you feel this way about your stay as guest satisfaction and exceptional service are very important to us. We thank you for sharing your opinions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,106 - 1,112 of 1,559 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently took a trip to Paradise Stream Resort. We take trips to Atlantic City from time to time as well as Foxwoods and Mohegan Sun in CT. We were looking for something different to do, preferably romantic :) and we got exactly that! Let me start by saying that we had no idea what to expect but were a little bit skeptical because of some of the reviews on here.

We booked the lowest room, a jacuzzi suite, and got an all inclusive package. Which means that breakfast and dinner are included, as well as all gratuities. The tips being included make it much more relaxed, no worries whatsoever. You might think that the service would suffer, but it doesnt. The employees there are obviously trained in the ART of customer service.

Upon arrival we were given a free upgrade to better room that included not only a jacuzzi but our own pool as well. We arrived around 9am, were given early check in and had breakfast right away. The breakfast all 3 days was awesome. The dinner was good, but the breakfast was great.

My girlfriend described the activities they offer there as "Camp for Adults". That is a perfect description. We played Bocce Ball, Shuffleboard, Basketball, Mini golf, Archery, pool, ping pong, etc, and we did it all right there on the property. There is enough to fill up a week of your time right there on premises. A great gift shop, we also went for a bike ride! They have nice comfortable bikes for you to ride and its ALL INCLUDED! There is also some really great nighttime entertainment. Our first night there was a singer by the name of Roy Ramos. He was dynamite. The 2nd night they had a comedian, we didnt stay for him but we did get to play a great game show with Rachel. Rachel was so accommodating to my gf and I throughout our stay. She is a CXO there, im not sure what that stands for but she was awesome. They have organized activities throughout the day that she runs. Shuffleboard tournaments, free throw shooting contest, etc.
We also ventured off the property. There is a casino about a mile away which is great in the evening. There is also great shopping around. An outlet mall with over 100 stores a few miles away. We also went to the House of Candles to see candles being made. That was a very cool experience.
The rooms were also VERY CLEAN, which is a big selling point for me. Great service, great fun, and very romantic. I absolutely loved it, we will be back there VERY SOON!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dante M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Paradise Stream Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for this awesome review Dante M! We look forward to having you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I would first like to start with booking.

When i called to book the days of stay. I asked about the Food, Entertainment, Activities.
I was told that they have a Comedy show every night as well as a band and some other type of entertainment. This was a false statement. Extremly untrue. We stayed for 2 nights. We saw 1 comedy show (that was actually good) The band. A one man band that made me feal like i was at a Dive bar in Jersey that just filled the bar with Noise and noone paid attention to.

They also told us that we can enjoy the entertainment at the other 2 resorts they have at any time. But what they fail to tell you is that the other 2 resorts are almost an hour away and they do not shuttle you there.

The food. Lol. An extremely limited menue. Please, if you are going with intentions of haveing a romantic getaway with fine dining. DO NOT GO HERE. We stayed 2 nights. The first night, I ordered 1 of the 4 options on the menue. It was Stuffed Chicked. It was a 3 inch piece of chicken with stove top stuffing underneath it with some vegitables. The second Night, again, 1 of the few limeted things to order. Chicken Cordon Blue. Lol. Have you ever seen the frozen chicken cordon blue packages at the grocery store? Well, thats what it was. With watery Mashed Potatoes and some mixed vegitables that look like they were from a bag. Horrible. We also tried the vegitarian meal, Fried Eggplant. Disgusting! The Sauce tasted old from a can. Eggplant, i dont even want to know.

Breakfast. Was the best part of the food. But anything after the dinner menue is better. Eggs from a carton. Corned Beef hash from a can. Bacon was ok. Coffee was always cold. English muffin was good. Ham was good one day , the second, disgusting.

Even tho this is an all inclusive place. If you can get past the first serving. You wont want more.
And alchahol is not included in the all inclusive. So its hard to wash down and forget.

The rooms: 1 out of 10. Its a 4. We stayed in a Diana's Oasis Suite. Heart shaped whirlpool bath-for-two. Was ok. The private pool. I wouldnt realy consider it a pool. More like an oversized bath tub. A dirty one at that. The "pool" is in a seperated by glass room. This is also where the fireplace is. So when you walk into the room with the Pool, All you smell is smoke. From the fireplace that if you want to use, you have to spend 14 dollars a log to fire it up. The bed. If you have any type of back problems, sleep on the floor. The TV in the room, if you want to watch a movie on the Less than advertised size TV. Your gonna have to pay for it. Not included at this all inclusive resort. The heating and cooling. When you first walk into this poorly ventelated room. The heating and Air Conditioner is built into the wall. Yes, like a cheap hotel room. It was broken. But they had it replaced before we were done with breakfast.

The "lake" on the property. Seriously people. Its a Pond. Im not kidding. Its a Pond. And it does have paddle boats. And you can rent a fishing pole. It sits next to the Main road. As a matter of fact, if you were to purchace the Lake front Suite. Thats what you will get. A Pond front suite that you can throw a stone acrossand break a windshield of a passing by car or truck.. And an extremely dirty POND. That everyone hs access to. Nothing Private about it.

The gift shop. Lol. Well, if you like XXX Novelty stores, Even you would be upset about this place. They have a Small selection of Vibrators and Cheap halloween looking Lengeri Costumes. As well as a Bunch of shirts and towels and slippers and so on (Coffee cups, glasses) That say Paradise Stream. All over priced.

The property. Poor upkeep. Bird crap all over. Lack of atmosphere. This is an adults resort. They have a minature golf (Thing) That is horrible. Looks like its for 5 year olds. This place has more of a feel of a summer camp for Kids than a romantic getaway resort for adults.

The staff. Listen, everyone needs a job in this econemy. So, smiles were there. Treatment was OK. Nothing special. At all. This should be rated as a Motel.

If you are looking to go to a resort. With Resort Treatment. This is not the place. This is a cheap date motel.

Overpriced!

I almost forgot. We went to the Casino (Mount Airy Casino) The resort will shuttle you to the casino. In an Old caravan. The first time we went, It took 25 minutes to get there. The second time. We learned it was only 4 minutes away from the casino.

I almost forgot. The Spa. There is no Spa. You pay for Spa Treatment and they come to your room to give you a massage at an Overpriced fee.

They have pool tables in the game room. With some extremly old video games. Including PacMan.

Cleanliness. When we left our room in the morning. We put a card n our door for our room to be cleaned. We definatly wanted this done because the room was dusty as we first got there anyway. Well, when we returned, all they did was made the bed and replaced towels. Never changed the sheets. Didnt whipe the counters down or mirrors. They did not clean. And no wonder. Cause i wnt for a walk and i saw the woman who does this. And she had NO CLEANING MATERIALS at all.

Ill rate the asino. Because it was my first time. If you are used to Casinos like Vegas or Atlantic City like I am. This casino is extremly laid back. Huge Slots selection. Many Min bid $10 tables. I would not suggest this to be a Casino you Travel for. Its an if your in the Area Casino. Like Paradise Stream. Its out Dated. But hey, they have a Lake.

Poor experience. I wouldnt suggest it to anyone for any reason.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeG75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Paradise Stream Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we regret that Paradise Stream was not to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This place has new management and they are reading the reviews. My hubby and I honeymooned here back in 1979. We will be returning for our 34th wedding Anniversary during the Foreever Lovers Weekend.

We again got the Chanpagne Towers suite which I love.I enjoy the pool and the Champagne Towers whirlpool. The staff was friendly and nice. They do have a lot of activites there to keep you busy.If romance is on your menu this is the place to be! During our stay we had a comedian and a couple that sang. We enjoyed both I had gotten the drink the passion potion which comes with a glass. The drink was delious. When we left I forgot the glass I called the front desk and within an hour somebody came and dropped it off to me. I thought it was great customer service!

The food I had was good the service however was slow this night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dusti1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Paradise Stream Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Happy anniversary Dusti1960!! See you this weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

In general, we had a great time. We stayed in a Champaign tower room and think it was worth every penny for the one night that we were there. We will definitely recommend it to friends in the area. The restaurant was definitely the weakest link. I think it would be easy to create a bit more atmosphere with a little decorating. It felt more like a college cafeteria. Dinner - you could ask if guests want small, medium, or large portions, as I don't like to waste food. The breakfast buffet had sufficient, but minimal choices. Even hotel chains offer a lot more. One odd experience at dinner, I asked for a refill on my coffee and the waiter told me that I was drinking too much coffee and not eating enough of my food. I couldn't tell if he was joking, but he did take awhile to come back with my refill. I took my husband to this place and just said it would be a surprise because I didn't want to get his expectations too high, after everything that I read. But really, we will talk about this for the next 25 years.

Room Tip: The Champaign room seemed pricey, but really, it has so many features, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethelandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Paradise Stream Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for the review bethelandi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Adam never had it so good !! When I read these reviews, I wonder if management wrote it or the competition wrote it. I am neither because I will praise the resort (something the competition wouldn't do) and tell you how to save a little money (something management wouldn't do). We visited recently for a one night stay on a Sunday night into Monday (they are running the 30% off sale). The place was about a third full, so a great time to come partly because you stand a better chance of getting a remodeled room. When I tallied the reviews, I noticed about 3 really good ones for every 1 bad one -- I thought the ratio was enough for me to take a chance -- I am SO GLAD I did !!!
We stayed in the champagne tower room (room # 433) and it was a total blast (this is how you know I'm not with the opposition). The room had been remodeled (newer carpet, two flat screens, nice couch) and it was clean. The heart-shaped pool, the champagne whirlpool, the sauna, the fireplace, and the massage table all worked great ! And, I don't know what previous reviewers were talking about, but the round bed worked just great as well -- plenty of room. All I can say is, "Wow". The lights above the bed and jacuzzi - great touch and really added to the ambiance. And, it did not feel like the 70's at all. It did have a little Egyptian theme, but nothing major. So, I'm sure other rooms may be much more dated, but this room was not by any means! I have been to some very romantic places (Bermuda, Southern Carribbean, California, Hawaii - also been on 5 cruises and twice on the back of the boat) -- and if I had to pick one night anywhere for the romance ambiance, this room might just top it all. I mean, really, where can you go from the pool to the fireplace to the jacuzzi to the massage table to the sauna and back again -- can't do that on the beach or on the cruise ship !
I read about 400 of the reviews going back to 2008. So, we came prepared. Here is where I can save you some time (and money -- and how you know I'm not with management) and maybe help you with the ambiance. We brought 4 small candles for the pool (turned the lights out and it was great !), I bought two packs of strawberries about 50 total (cost about $ 10) and 2 cans of whipped creme (cost about $ 4) versus what management wants (which is about $ 40). I brought grapes, crackers and cheese, lots of chocolate. We brought our Ninja so we could make strawberry dacqueries. We brought robes (though we didn't really use them), flip flops, 3 extra towels for the massage table and other places, a floatation device for the pool. I also brought logs (Management wants like $ 8 per log) -- I bought 6 on Amazon for like $12 (the smaller size) and used 2 in the fireplace at a time -- worked like a charm. You can even see the fireplace from the pool if you move the couch -- how cool is that. We brought massage oil, bubble bath, larger plastic cups (they give you little cups), and bathing suits. I had also brought an air freshener, but we didn't need it. When we got to the room, it was a little warm...but, we just turned on the air conditioner and, in five minutes, all was good. We brought some wine and a corkscrew (but we didn't use it), plates for all the goodies, alarm clock (but the sound system had one on it). We brought a CD player and some CD's.
As to the facility, it was prettier and better kept than I thought from the reviews. Things were clean and in working order. The cabins on the lake, which is what you see first when you enter the resort, are older-looking (but, that is becuase they are older !). The rest of the facility looks more modern and nice. The game room is nice (about 13 games in all, 3 pool tables, a hotel-like indoor pool with 2 jacuzzi spots). The outdoor pool is nice. The dining hall is a little bland (could use some pictures on the walls, etc).
As to the food, it was cruise-ship quality. Breakfast was good (though my french toast from the buffet line) was hard. Dinner was pretty good (the meat was excellent!), and service was very good (Jule was great !). And, you just can not miss the dessert table -- wow is all I can say. It was fantastic selection with an amazing taste !! I don't know where other people eat, but where I go, this food was just fine. As to the tables being close together -- they are...about 18 inches apart (I measured). But, we really didn't hear the other couple that much and, on the night we were there, you could have asked to be seated away from others and they would have accommodated you.
As to the downsides (this is also how you know I'm not with management) -- not many at all. 1. My Bose stereo system didn't seem to work throughout all the rooms (though, we just turned the music up high and listened to it in the pool). I could have called the front desk, but didn't bother. We had bought a cord to connect our CD player to the Bose player, but that didn't work either. We could have also used our CD player (but there are no outlets in the pool area). 2. There is no way to hook up a DVD player to the tv (at least that I could find -- so, we couldn't watch the DVD's we brought on the flat screen), though we did watch them on the portable dvd player I brought. I didn't feel like paying the $ 9 per movie to watch on their screen. The tv, though, had like 60 channels. 3. It took me a while to get comfortable in the jacuzzi because of the way you slide back...but, I finally did find a way to keep from sliding and it worked great from that point. 4. I'm sure that some of the past negative reviews about the rooms were due to the fact that some of the rooms may not have been redone yet...so, I can't comment on what those rooms might bring as to experience -- all I can say is that our room was a great wow experience.
As to logistics...we got there on a Sunday morning for breakfast, went to the outlets shopping for about 5 hours (our room was ready by 1:30 pm, but we didn't get back till 3:30 pm), spent time in the room, went to dinner, back to the room until our late checkout the next afternoon at 1:00 pm, and then off to more shopping. Timing worked out great.
So, things worked like a charm. Just a great place. If you are looking for a great time with your spouse, this place is it !!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Paradise Stream Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Great title to your review! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I can't wait to go back we are already planning to go back in my birthday :) we loved it so much!! We stayed in the champagne tower room and it was clean and amazing. The check in was quick and they gave you a list of the activities. You have so much fun that the time flies away lol. They had this spectacular singer :) and some games. My only complain was that they don't have breakfast in bed during the week :) but besides that everything and everyone was amazing I can't wait to go back and enjoy a beautiful time with my husband my sister And husband are planning to go to after looking at all the pictures :).

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Payulita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Paradise Stream Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

So happy to hear you loved it! Looking forward to celebrating your birthday with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Pocono
3.3 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,508 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Mount Pocono
311 reviews
20.7 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,348 reviews
13.6 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
2,090 reviews
7.8 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Stream Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Stream Resort

Address: 6213 Carlton Road, off Route 940, Mount Pocono, PA 18326 (Formerly Caesars)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Mount Pocono
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mount Pocono
Price Range: $203 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Stream Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Stream Resort is romantic couples-only destination located in the scenic Pocono Mountains. Famous for being the birthplace of the heart-shaped whirlpool, it's also known for having invented the world-famous 7' tall Champagne Tower whirlpool. More than just romantic suites, Paradise Stream also features all-inclusive dining, numerous activities to enjoy at your leisure or with a social director,nightly entertainment with comedians, DJs, live bands, and specialty acts like hypnotists and magicians, plus other amenities with indoor and outdoor pools, seasonal activities, and headline entertainment featuring famous names from around the globe. Paradise Stream is located minutes from the highway and other regional entertainment, including the casino and outlet shopping mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise Stream Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Stream Hotel Mount Pocono
Caesars Paradise Stream Hotel
Hotel Caesars Paradise Stream

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing