We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites(Mount Pocono)
$120
$114
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel M, Mount Pocono(Mount Pocono)
$160
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casino Motel(Mount Pocono)
$80
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Travelodge Mt. Pocono(Mount Pocono)
$80
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chestnut Grove Resort(Mount Pocono)
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econostay Motel(Mount Pocono)
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,614)
Filter reviews
1,614 results
Traveler rating
527
496
286
168
137
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
527
496
286
168
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne towerdiana's oasispocono palacelakeside villaround bedgarden of eden applebubble bathforever loversmy husband and iprivate poolheart shaped poolmassage tablefire logsnewlywed gamebreakfast and dinnerget awayall you can eat
Filter
Updating list...
1,534 - 1,539 of 1,614 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We liked the room and I would give the service good ratings. But if you want an all inclusive weekend or vacation this should not be one of your top choices. My wife and I returned today after celebrating our 24th anniversary there. First note,: We like to cruise and expected cruise like service, food and amenities especially since this place costs more than twice as much per day.
The room: Garden of Eden, Apple, great room but showing some wear but was the best part of the trip, heart shaped tub, and small heated swimming pool in the room but note, there are no glasses, robes, coffee pots or microwaves. Buy your fire logs at walmart before you go ($3.75 ea at the gift shop).
Food: They must believe that quantity is more important than quality as they tend to give large amounts. We arrived on Saturday which was as they call it "Strip Night" They tout how great thier steaks are, I do not consider burnt and bloddy grissel and Fat a good steak. Sunday night dinner was better but still paled in comparison to outback. Breakfast in bed was a joke, not much to choose from, plastic utensils, and little plastic cups. If you want a glass to drink out of you need to buy one from the gift shop. We asked why no glasses in the room: They stated it was for our own safety they did not want us to break them near the pool and cut our feet, yet they offer champane with breakfast on Saturday, gee I wonder if comes in a plastic bottle? They do provide ceramic coffe cups (guess they dont sell them in the gift shop) I wonder if they were unbreakable? Lunch is an extra charge (all inclusive???)
Entertainment: The Byrd Wesley band Saturday eve was ok, I guess I would consider them a bar band worth a $10 cover, (we did not stay for the comic. Sunday night however was not good, one singer sounded like a cat in heat. I consider carnival cruise lines to have horrible entertainment but let me tell you they are all far better than the crap this place put on.
Drinks: The drinks, average $9 each and were small and watered down.
Activities: I can not rate the excursions as we did not participate, the daily activities were basketball free throws, and football tossing. Of course you could go spend more money playing video games.
I am sure this was a nice place in its time but now they need to step back and decide if they ever want a return customer then take action to correct thier short commings. As it is today they should close the kitchen, and lounge and rent the room by the hour to reflect the FLOP HOUSE it truly is. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank hdedsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

I wish I had known about this website before today. I would like to share our experience at the Paradise Stream Resort. We eagerly had anticipated our trip to Paradise Stream. It was extremely disappointing to us. I must begin by saying that Paradise Stream has a very clever marketing department. The pictures displayed on their website and in their brochures are very deceiving. The brochures failed to explain that breakfast in bed is not at all as it is shown in the pictures. We ate with plastic utensils and drank from a small 4 oz plastic cups. What we had hoped would be a much needed romantic getaway proved to be not at all what we anticipated or expected. The brochures also do not mention that the breakfast in bed food would be cold and the French toast would simply be two pieces of dry sliced bread (rather than Texas style toast).

The pictures also failed to show the entire area where you go to snowmobiling. People would not waste their money if they knew it consisted of simply riding in a circle around a small field. While the room was decorated in taste the interior of the room was very uncomfortable. This was primarily due to the fact that even though we requested a non-smoking room we could smell the smoke through the vents. I wanted to check out right then but at the urging of my husband we regrettable stayed. The room felt dirty to me in fact, we didn’t even use the fire log that was provided to us. We left the fire log in the room.

By the third night the smell of cigarettes was so pungent that we decided to leave the resort at 9:30 P.M. to go and locate a cleaner environment. We were scheduled to leave the next day but didn't even want to bother staying another night. We left the keys in the room and left.

In my experience utilizing all inclusive packages, I was offered a wide array of food options buffet and seated dining. Having the ability to visit other resorts was always a plus because so many different activities and food choices were offered at the different resorts. This was not the case with Paradise Steam. Having a key around was no different from staying at Paradise Stream the activities basically mirrored one another. In addition, having to choose from only four different dinner options is ridiculous. In addition there is only a two hour window to eat. One guest seated at our table wanted a baked potato rather than mashed potatoes at the Sunday evening dinner and was told that was not an option. I never heard of such. On our first night there the lamb dish I order was horrible. We were told the food was better at Cove Haven so decided to go there the next night. The food and atmosphere were only a mediocre improvement. Also, while visiting Cove Haven someone was smoking in the bathroom and that just further added to my disgust.

On Tuesday night of our stay I called downstairs to ask what was for dinner and yet again the choices chicken pot pie and cajun pork chops were not appealing to us. Instead we went to Ruby Tuesday in town and ate. It is too bad I did not know about trip advisor.com prior to our visiting Paradise Stream. The fact that there were not any shopping, eating or entertainment options available without driving for miles was more than we could bear. Had it not been for navigation in our car we would have never found the Ruby Tuesday. During our dinner we discuss our frustrations with “our resort experience” and became determine to pack up and leave that night. In my experiences with all inclusive resort packages I would say this by far has been the absolute worse. We could have gone to Cancun or the Bahamas and had a much more enjoyable time for about less money. The room, the food, a wide selection of entertainment and the atmosphere is 95% of what makes a trip enjoyable.

After we left Paradise Stream we choose the Courtyard by Marriott (which is 100% smoke free). The remainder of our week was wonderful and this was in part to being in a cleaner/welcoming environment. Never would I have imagined that something that is so widely known could generate such shoddy service. I would not recommend your resort to anyone.

While this type of rural retreat might be appealing to some, my husband and I are not use to substandard treatment, facilities and entertainment. When we spend our money we are more accustomed to the guest service provide at well known hotel chains such as the Marriott, Hyatt, Ritz Carlton and Westin. I recommend Poconos Caesar Resorts make some much need improvements and upgrades to the services offered and your facilities.

The best parts of our trip to the Poconos were the couples we meet during dinner, the horseback riding, the gift shop and the breakfast buffet. Which by the way, we would not have had any idea about the buffet had not another couple told us to skip the breakfast in bed and go downstairs to eat.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

Arrived on Thursday March 13, 2008 at approximately 5 pm. Check-in was very smooth, directions to our room easy to understand. Given a list of the evenings activities. Got to our room and was pleasantly surprised! We stayed in the Garden of Eden Apple Room. Room was better than it looks in the pictures, very large. The first thing I did was set up our room with candles and unpack, my boyfriend went and looked for ice and firelogs (our local walmart was out of them, I knew to buy them before we came and NOT from the resort as they overpriced). We he returned we went to dinner. I had the chicken parm and he had talapia. The fish was great, the chicken parm had way too much sauce on it for my liking, but the rest of the meal was amazing. We had 2 mixed drinks each which cost a hefty $28.00 --$7.00 a drink. We sat with 3 other couples and had a great time talking to them. They had a comedian for the evenings entertainment, but we decided to skip it and went swimming in our room instead.

Friday March 14, 2008 -- started with breakfast in bed. We both chose scrambled eggs, home fries, sausage, croissant, OJ, Milk -- it arrived on time and HOT. After reading reviews I was concerned, but each morning our breakfast was nice and warm. We brought our own coffee pot, because 1 cup of coffee is not nearly enough for us. With breakfast comes the breakdown of the days activities, but we skipped the day's activities and went to Mount Airy casino and blew a bunch of money -- Haha! We came back to the room around 4, went swimming then we went to the lounge for the complimentary hot and cold hourdourves - it was sushi, which was Okay. We then went to dinner. Friday night is Fat Pauli's an Italian night. We had soup, salad, italian dishes and HOMEMADE fettichini alfredo! The chef was making the noodles right there in front of us...how cool is that? It was the best ever. The breadsticks were about 2 feet long, and extremely tasty. They had a chocolate fountain and fresh fruit, cheesecake, and other delicious dishes for dessert. Tonights couples for dinner were more reserved than the night before, but all in all, still a great dining experience. At 8:00 pm we went to the see the comedian, then the band, BIG SHOT, a Billy Joel Tribute band (which we though, OOOh Billy Joel-- but the band was actually ----- awesome!) and another comedian followed the band. The first comedian was great, the second was so-so. We spent almost $100 dollars on drinks -- We were at the club from 8 - 1130. They had a woman doing Tarrot card readings outside the club, but she took like 45 minutes for each reading and I got sick of waiting.

Saturday, March 15, 2008 -- once again breakfast in bed. This time he had French toast and I had pancakes -- both arrived hot enough to melt the butter. Breakfast was just as good as the day before. We hung out in our room until 1:30 when they had Big Bucks Bingo and Horse racing. We won in horse racing, but in the Bingo. After bingo they had the XXX rated Newlywed/No So Newlywed game. It was raunchy, just as I had read about on here. Some of the answers were quite funny. But overall, I think I could have skipped it. We went back to the room and slept though the hordourves hour. Went to dinner at 6:30, dinner conversation was enjoyable. Tonight was STRIP NIGHT, and the steak was unbelieveable! I was truly impressed and even John agreed that his was the best steak he has had in a long time. I had crab bisque for soup, he had French onion, we had their house salad, horseradish mashed potatoes and for appetizers we had jumbo shrimp cocktail. We were too stuffed for dessert. We skipped the evening entertainment which was a top 40 band and another comedian.

Sunday, March 16, 2008 -- breakfast in bed again, scrambled eggs for both, once again very hot and yummy.

We packed up and left around 10 am.

Overall, we will recommend this resort to all of our friends. We really enjoyed everything the resort had to offer, even though we didn't do 1- 10th of the activities they offer. We had time alone and met many new people and had a great weekend without our kids! We can't wait to go back and we're pretty sure we'll be Forever Lovers soon!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank johnsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2008

My boyfriend and I wanted to go way on a romantic getaway and that it was. There were a couple of things that were not up to par but on a whole is was great .When we arrived at 3:30 P.M and we had to wait a half hour for check in , which was not so bad , because we checked the facility out . We then got to our room(Garden of Apple) which was very clean, the heart shape tub was immaculate the bathroom was very clean also . I read some of the reviews and they were horror stories , so i was expecting the worst . Our room was really good the pool was clean as well. The bed was a little hard and the fridge was in the bathroom????????? we did not understand that,and the vcr was outdated ?????????? who has vhs tapes, but again that was minor. We ordered breakfast in bed both mornings and it was good it was hot, spite what other reviews were saying. We also went to dinner both nights the first night we ate with 3 other couples it was very strange , I did not like it so the next night i requested to sit alone and dinner was much better . The food was good. We did not really do any activites because we liked our room so much we never really came out to do much. We really had a relaxed couple of days. We are definitely going back!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cinabun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

My husband and I went to Paradise Stream this past weekend to celebrate my birthday. First, it poured rain both days so many of the activities were cancelled.

We arrived at our room (Champagne Towers #429), and everything about it was very cheezy. The room is very outdated, the TV is a 19 inch VHS built-in old model that would not work properly when you rented a movie. The hot water runs out, so you will have warm water at best in your Champagne Glass. No coffee maker, no microwave, old refrigerator in bathroom. Foam mattress and very uncomfortable pillows. No real glasses, all smalll plastic supplies. Breakfast is from 8-11am and dinner from 5-8pm, but if you arrive towards the end of each shift, good luck getting served. Breakfast in bed consisted of one choice of pancakes, one of french toast, and scramble eggs, scramble eggs, and in case I forgot to mention it, scramble eggs. The hash browns, one order was burned and the other one was undercook. You also have to fill out the breakfast in bed request at the front desk. Tip: If you want coffee, ask for breakfast in bed as it includes a pot of coffee.

No bubble bath nor conditioner in room, just shampoo. The 4 "mentioned" floors, consist of a few steps in between each landing, which they call floors, and the view is the parking lot. Their cheapest room looks so much prettier on the outside and faces the lake, go figure!

The good stuff; customer service was great, food was good on strip night, but italian night was a joke, which btw, they ran out of dessert. You sit with 3 other couples which depending on your mood can be a good thing or a bad thing. Entertainment both nights was decent, but if you want to continue the night, you have to go to Caesar's Poconos, about 20 miles from Stream each way. The snowmobiling consisted of a big circle of icy snow and you go around and around this 1/2 acre circle. The pool was nice, but the "heated massage table" is a plastic bench with a heat lamp above it, and it's right next to the pool.

We visited Caesar poconos and it was much nicer. I travel a whole lot, and I don't expect miracles, but for almost $600 a night, I do expect to get spoiled a little. In Miami, the Tides Hotel, National Hotel, Ritz, etc. charge between $500 and $600 a night, but it's day and night if I was to compare it to the Poconos Stream.

I beleive it would be much better if they had a restaurant open unti 11pm, charge for the meals, and concentrate in making the rooms what you would expect for the price. Now, let's face it, things aren't always what they seem, but at the Stream it's nothing like it seems.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank Quejodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews