We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still one of my favourite's”
Review of Il Pizzaiolo

Il Pizzaiolo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Still one of my favourite's”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been many times to the Mt Lebo location and always enjoyed the excellent pizza made in the true italian way. The main dining room can be a little noisy but its got atmosphere so if you don't want that choose the outside terrace and wine bar as more relaxed alternatives. We have been going to the recently opened Mkt Sq location and enjoyed it, but I honestly believe the original Mt Lebo location is still the best.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GJHWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    35
    10
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Venetia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worst atmosphere ever!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I have been here before several times and this WAS a great little restaurant with quality food. This experience was absolutely the worst. The sound level was deafening. The waitress literally screamed the specials and I still couldn't hear her, and I was seated right next to her. The owner needs to do something about the sound level. Acoustical tilting, rugs on the floor. You had to scream at each other while dining. As for the food, the muscles used to be the best in pittsburgh but these were pathetic.
Will not be going back here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnandjoanne1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Crazy Noisy!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

When it come to Pizza, there are many excellent choices in the South Hills of Pittsburgh. This, unfortunately, should not be one of yours. First, I have NEVER eaten in a restaurant, so noisy and loud. We had a table of seven and you could actually not hear the person sitting next to you. (There are only 10 tables in the seating area, so not that it is large). Just incredibly loud. The food was average but a Caprese Salad costing $16 for Five Thin slice of Tomato and a small ball of mozzarella, time to eat at home. The Plain Pizza itself was bland and overpriced ($16 for a medium pie). The antipasti salad was the best meal at the table. They do have a small seating area outside out back, that was nice and a wine bar also behind the main restaurant (for an older crowd. Pizza Dinner with a few adders came to $225.00. Thats a lot of Pizza Dough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
450 reviews
333 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“one of my favs”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I have been dining here since they opened around 2000. The best wood fired pizza. Great salads and pastas.I always stop in for a meal when visiting in Pittsburgh.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gone downhill fast”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Maybe they're focused on the new, downtown location. Maybe they're dealing with new ownership. Maybe they've simply stopped treating their employees well enough to stay. Not sure of the reason but it's really gone downhill. We've been eating here for years and, recently, it's really just not very good. The wait staff used to be long tenured and reliable. Not anymore. They're new and don't get the place. The food used to be great, but now it's marginal at best. The pizzas are smaller but still as expensive. We used to love this place but there's no reason to go here now with so many other choices in Mt. Lebanon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PittTravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Pizzaiolo also viewed

Mount Lebanon, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
 
Mount Lebanon, PA
Mount Lebanon, PA
 
Pittsburgh, PA
Castle Shannon, PA
 

Been to Il Pizzaiolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing