We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts, Cool place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Olde Square Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Mount Joy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Spent a weekend in Lancaster, and decided to stay in a B& B for the first time. Choose the little town of Mt. Joy for something different. It was a very neat, quiet town, close to everything and with a must see Brewery/restaurant near by. The Olde Square was great. Clean, warm, inviting, and Georgie is a great host. She made us feel very welcome and went out of her way to accommodate. The place is more than you expect with several un B & B like amenities. Look here for your next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topflightmkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 370 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2010

If you were looking for a place just outside of Lancaster, but in the middle of Amish country, and you wanted an Inn that was very clean and beautiful, with a friendly host, a great breadfast, then you probably have found the Olde Square Inn. There is also a pool, but not in October in PA. Georgie, the new Inn Keeper a a great host, and nice to chat with. The rooms are all redone and very appealing. We hope to go back very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Fran and Dave are the best! Our stay at The Olde Square Inn was beyond our expectations. The breakfast was delightful, the pool inviting, and the beds quite comfortable.
This is THE place to stay in Lancaster County, PA.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyncone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

During last year's trip to Hershey park we found that the lodging prices had increased at hotels close to the park, so we decided to look around a bit for a more economical place to stay.  We found the Olde Square Inn bed and breakfast about 25 minutes from the park and decided to give it a try.

It turned out to be a perfect fit for us. The inn is located in Mount Joy, is small, but friendly.  We had a comfortable room overlooking the garden and pool area.  The Garden Room was immaculate and the adjoining bathroom had some of the original fixtures, but still had a small whirlpool tub.

The location in Lancaster County allowed us to explore more of the area. It's only a few minutes from a major highway that got us quickly up to Hershey and Harrisburg or down to the Lancaster outlets and Amish country.

Each morning we enjoyed the substantial breakfast the inn provides.  It was delicious and hearty enough that we were able to skip lunch. After a busy day out and about, we would come back to the inn and take a dip in the pool and then decide where we wanted to go for drinks and dinner.  We found we could walk to several different restaurants close by, have our dinner and come back and relax on the porch with the other guests.  All in all, it makes for a great little vacation, and the Olde Square Inn is a wonderful addition to our annual trip.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the Olde Square Inn. The room was lovely, the original bathroom (except for the newer bathtube) was clean, and the bed comfy. The breakfast was outstanding and the owner sitting to chat was a nice change from the usual B&B owner running around, she made us feel relaxed. The inn keepers were very nice and had alot of knowledge of the area, unfortunately the inn is up for sale as they want to retire. The location is great as it is away from the bussle of Lancaster but close enough to drive. We visited Bube's Brewery where they always have something going on, on our week end there was a Victorian Murder Mystery, 70's disco night, an art show, as well as the catacombs for fine dining, and dinner in the brewery either in or outdoors.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank respbill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

On a recent trip to Hershey to see the new museum, we found it convenient to stay at The Olde Square Inn in Mount Joy, which is right in the heart of the Hershey Lancaster tourist area, without being caught in the high traffic areas. While we chose this bed & breakfast for its central location, we were pleasantly surprised to find that this is the BEST place we've ever stayed! The bed was so comfortable, the room was gorgeous, the breakfast was tremendous and the hosts as friendly as can be. If you're going to Hershey or Lancaster, don't feel like you have to stay right there. Mount Joy is a lovely town, and easily accessible via major routes or you can enjoy a short ride to tourist attractions. You will love it!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NumberOneFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

I was a bit hesitant to book a B & B because my husband likes all the amenities of a hotel. But let me say that we would stay here again! We felt welcomed from the moment we arrived. We enjoyed our stay in part to the organization of the owners. They had a binder in the "lobby" which had menus and maps of where to find just about everything. Our room was perfect (we stayed in the Ivy room), it was quiet, clean and had a beautiful gas fireplace. Off street parking was available.We also had a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. It is a short easy drive to and from many attractions. The owners recommendation of a nearby winery (Nissley Vineyard) was greatly appreciated. Next time, I'd take a picnic lunch there and buy a bottle of wine for a relaxing time.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathleenVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Joy
21.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
24 mi away
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Artist's Inn and Gallery
#1 of 1 in Terre Hill
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cameron Estate Inn & Restaurant
10.2 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
23.6 mi away
Brownstone Colonial Inn
Brownstone Colonial Inn
#1 of 3 in Reinholds
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Square Inn

Address: 127 E Main St, Mount Joy, PA 17552-1513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Mount Joy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Joy
Price Range: $163 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Olde Square Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olde Square Inn, our Lancaster County bed and breakfast, is a beautifully restored architectural gem of the Colonial Revival era. Setting our accommodations apart from other area B&Bs, we offer a hot, three-course breakfast, coffee and treats available 24 hours, an in-ground pool during the summer months, and handicap accessibility in the child-friendly Carriage House. The Inn is also a beautiful venue for hosting retreats, small weddings, and special celebrations. A pleasant departure from hotels, Olde Square Inn is conveniently located on the historic square of this quaint, but expanding, town. We are just minutes from Highway 283/30 that leads to Hershey, Lancaster, Spooky Nook Sports, York, and Gettysburg. Amtrak, slotted for a $27.5 million update, is located only two blocks away. Our lovely suites and rooms include private baths, mini refrigerators, TV, wireless internet, queen or king beds, air conditioning, and fireplaces or stoves. If you are planning a special occasion, anniversary, or birthday, be sure to check out the Carriage House as the ultimate in privacy and luxury for your Lancaster County getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Olde Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing